Skip to main content

reviews

49
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 20 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Mixing Rock with ooh-la-la turns out to be as appetizing as chalk and cheese. show more

  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    As uneven as I Think I Love My Wife often is, it still has an emotional resonance lacking in most films about relationships. By dealing with temptation in even a quasi-realistic way, it affirms that, like comedy, monogamy is hard. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The movie, full of wan gags and tedious situations, is directed blandly by Rock. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A movie that provokes as many rueful sighs as it does bruising laughs. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    For each joke that is fresh, there are at least three that fall thuddingly flat. Rock suffers a problem common to comedians moving from sketches to features; he hasn't quite been able to get his performance level above caricature. To his credit, he's made more of this than you'd expect from the lame premise. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    In I Think I Love My Wife, Chris Rock does something entirely unexpected. He isn't funny. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    What is missing in depth and philosophical intent is compensated for with humor and humanization. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The results fall short of the grown-up comedy about seven-year itches it could've been, asking the Hamlet-like question: to scratch or not to scratch? show more

  • 63
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    Chris Rock's I Think I Love My Wife is less interesting, and less successful, as a remake of a much-bruited '70s art film than it is as a compendium of Rockian observations on the current state of the African-American bourgeoisie. show more

  • 50
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    It's unimaginative, crude and so derivative it hurts. show more

  • May 22, 2008 billieh426
    Report This User

    Watch your money, first the owner did not give change until asked-$7.00, then over charged $4.00 more than his marked price. Did not give refund-stated they had marked it wrong. Very poor customer service. I would not go back

  • May 22, 2008 Phyllis Kane
    Report This User

    Couldn't wait for it to end......although it had it's moments, I would not recommend it or watch it again.

  • May 22, 2008 bhunsicker182
    Report This User

    i really liked this movie. i went to go see it not noing what it was about but it was really good. chris rock was the perfect astor for this movie. he played the part amazingly. the movie wass kinda a serious movie but with a bit of comedie. there was a bunch of funny parts and sayings. all in all i think it was a good movie.

  • May 22, 2008 fartinglama22
    Report This User

    i havent seen it

  • May 22, 2008 mamabdrive
    Report This User

    Iwatched this movie with 10 adults and 3 teens(19-20 yr.olds)..By the time it got 15 min. into the movie ....everyone had already left to do anything else..Chris sure did not rock ..This movie was a -10...and that is being too nice!!!

  • May 22, 2008 Kelley
    Report This User

    This movie just oozes with racial/sexual humor that is not remotely close to being funny or entertaining....There was not much laughter in the theatre so I could not have been the only person bored beyond ....Tisk! Tisk! Steve Buscemi were you just pulling in a paycheck?..How many Thumbs Down can a movie receive?

  • May 22, 2008 djxs03
    Report This User

    Sorry folks. Chris Rock is not funny...ever. He and Adam Sandler carpool a lot to the "Can't Act Pavillion".

  • May 22, 2008 aajb222
    Report This User

    MY ADULT DAUGHTER AND I SAW CRIST'S MOVIE TOGETHER I LIKED IT A LOT. IF YOU ARE A CRIS ROCK FAN YOU WILL PROBERBLY LIKE IT, BUT IF YOU ARE NOT YOU MIGHT BE LOOKING FOR A DIFFERENT TYPE OF HUMOR. A.J.

  • May 22, 2008 leov43
    Report This User

    MOVIE WAS JUST "OK" DON'T KNOW IF IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE A COMEDY, OR A ROMANTIC COMEDY. COULDNT HELP BUT NOTICE TOO MUCH "PRODUCT PLACEMENT/ADVERTISING" THROUGHOUT THE MOVIE, HOPE YOU DONT MIND THE "F" BOMB THROUGHOUT THE MOVIE FOR THAT IS WHAT WAS RELIED ON TO BE FUNNY. I EXPECTED A HELL OF ALOT MORE FOR A CHRIS ROCK MOVIE. I GIVE IT 2 STARS. TITLE SHOULD HAVE BEEN: I THINK I LOVE YOUR WALLET.

  • May 22, 2008 wheatonvue
    Report This User

    What did you all expect when seeing a Chris Rock movie? Did you expect him to open up an umbrella and fly in the air like Mary Poppins? Jeesh, F---n, babies. get some back bone!

`

similar movies

  • Deliver Us From Eva (2003)

  • The Best Man (1999)

  • Why Did I Get Married? (2007)

  • The 40-Year-Old Virgin (2005)

  • This Is 40 (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X