Skip to main content

reviews

40
Based on 18 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 50
    Walter Addiego San Francisco Chronicle

    Never gets the mixture right, lurching between bullet-happy shootouts and overwrought domestic content. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    What kind of movie is misdirected, poorly acted, preposterously written--and still wholly entertaining? A B-movie, of course. While Illegal Tender has misguided pretensions towards Serious Filmmaking, it's surprisingly likeable if you see it instead as a cheesy thriller good for a lazy Friday night. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Quite an entertaining genre piece boasting a terrifically sinewy lead performance from Wanda De Jesus. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    As it is, Illegal Tender works as a melodrama, and it benefits enormously from the performance of Wanda DeJesus. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The movie's a genuine oddity: a Latino action drama with one foot in bullet-spitting genre flicks -- '70s blaxploitation and '80s coke-kingpin films are the primary reference points -- and the other in raggedly personal family melodrama. show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    This tale of crime and punishment is wrapped in a veneer of flashy attitude but founders on mundane details. show more

  • 38
    Chicago Tribune

    Illegal Tender echoes "A History of Violence," another gritty film that explores escaping a criminal past. But the vast vapidity behind Illegal Tender's ill-conceived story line is far harder to overcome. show more

  • 25
    Peter Debruge Miami Herald

    Illegal Tender is the sort of crime movie in which nothing, not one detail, has been observed from real life; it's composed entirely of fantasies and falsehoods lifted from bad movies and hip-hop videos. show more

  • NA
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The real mystery here is why this slapdash semi-effort didn't go straight to video. show more

  • 40
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    Never transcends its clichés. show more

  • June 12, 2011 Rochelle
    Report This User

    Not a bad movie - certainly action-packed, it holds your interest. And I especially like the mom - what a tough broad this is!

  • February 07, 2011 TWEETYORTIZ
    Report This User

    i love this movie, it's my mom, lil sis and mine favorite..... i can't get enough of rick gonzalez.. my future husband...

  • February 06, 2009 Fredrick&Regenia
    Report This User

    I absolutely loved this movie. I loved how 'Millie' took charge of her and the lives of her sons. She showed her strength from the very beginning of the movie. She did what she had to do to protect them and made sure that they were financially stable enough to make it on their own. I see so much of myself in her character only I don't have the money. I congratulate John Singleton and the rest of the cast and crew for a film well worth the time, money and effort it took to produce and direct.

  • November 08, 2008 AMEOTM1
    Report This User

    I did not like this movie one bit. The mother places her son in a positin where he has to protect the family for her sins. And I have no clue as to why they vindicated the patriach's murder. Very disappointed in this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 keishla9
    Report This User

    Forgot to say which movie.Flight of the Navigator that is.Leonzealot

  • May 22, 2008 martinis241
    Report This User

    does any one from moviephone or aol police these comments? Most of the have nothing to do with a critique of the movie. I am tired of reading restaurant reviews, people ******** abour car dealerships, etc. What a bunch of dumb idiots we have in this world.

  • May 22, 2008 ninic25
    Report This User

    Just got back from seeing this movie. WE LOVED IT. Half these people don't know what their talking about. It was funny...emotional and had good action. Great job Mr Singleton.

  • May 22, 2008 lmin3
    Report This User

    I absolutly LOVE this album! Michael Gettel is a genius and this is one of his best works.I highly recommend this CD to anyone who has an appreciation for great music!Ari Ross

  • May 22, 2008 leenybaby07
    Report This User

    I think Chris Rock has ability to produce good humor; it's just too bad everything has to be laced with the F-bomb in order to appeal to who? I didn't count, but my guess is the "F" word was inserted over 100 times. I wonder if he actually has the talent to make a funny movie without relying on cheap and vulgar sight gags and profanity. Sad really. I would rate this movie a C minus.

  • May 22, 2008 divalily64
    Report This User

    Is a small movie with great acting. Specially from Wanda de Jesus. She is an amazing actress. The movie reminds me Gloria. This movie is a cross between Tarantino

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X