Skip to main content

reviews

74
Based on 42 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 260 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    In this wildly ingenious chess game, grandmaster Nolan plants ideas in our heads that disturb and dazzle. The result is a knockout. But be warned: Inception dreams big. How cool is that? show more

  • 100
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    This is spellbinding, transporting, damn near indescribable and the latest indication that Christopher Nolan might be the slyest narrative tactician making movies today. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The film is easier to admire than to fully grasp or be moved by it. Still, it's worth surrendering to the dream. show more

  • 50
    John Anderson Wall Street Journal

    By convoluting the various planes of experience, by overlapping and obscuring ostensible realities and ostensible dreams, Mr. Nolan deprives us the opportunity of investing emotionally in any of it. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Stymied by a clunking script, crammed with expository exchanges and urgent blather. show more

  • 100
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    When was the last time you had your mind blown by a movie? Because when Inception ends and the lights come up, you'll be sitting in your seat, staring at the screen, wondering what the hell just happened. show more

  • 90
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages. show more

  • 30
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Everything he (Nolan) does is forced and overthought, and Inception, far from being his ticket into hall-of-fame greatness, is a very expensive-looking, elephantine film whose myriad so-called complexities -- of both the emotional and intellectual sort -- add up to a kind of ADD tedium. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Inception does a difficult thing. It is wholly original, cut from new cloth, and yet structured with action movie basics so it feels like it makes more sense than (quite possibly) it does. show more

  • 100
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Nolan blurs the distinction between dreams and reality so artfully that Inception may well be a masterpiece masquerading as a summer blockbuster. show more

  • October 23, 2011 Jane
    Report This User

    Srupid and confusing, I want to watch a movie a second time because I enjoyed not because I am trying to comprehend an inane story line. Lots of random explosions though.

  • July 15, 2011 mm00000000052500
    Report This User

    An amazing movie, very thought provoking and extremely intense absolutely loved it

  • May 28, 2011 artdin
    Report This User

    You have got to be kiddiindg! An action film that makes more sense would be a better use of film and our time. Too Much!Dina and Artie

  • June 04, 2011 hjt43434
    Report This User

    3rd best film I've ever seen! You have too see this movie!

  • April 01, 2011 vprudhviraj
    Report This User

    Awesome Movie !! The Most complex movie I Have Ever Seen In My Life ...Christopher Nolan Is A True Visionary of his Own Kind..http://goo.gl/WviHs

  • March 21, 2011 ivenerskullpr
    Report This User

    Inception was a complete creation of brilliance. Kudos to Edward Nolan on creating such work of intellectual magnificence, I mean just thinking of the idea that someone has the ability to go into your dreams', dreams', dream, and either extract or plant any idea into your conscious is absolutely awe-inspiring. To think that your deepest darkest secret can be stolen through your dreams is inconceivable. This is by far the greatest film i have seen throughout 2010 and the beginning of 2011. I don't think it can possibly be topped at this point due to its pure sagacity.

  • March 19, 2011 shellylima700
    Report This User

    Inception......What the heck.......Are you kidding me.......I thought it would be so much more......I am totally shocked at all the hype this movie had and I watched and NOTHING.......this movie is to boring & to slow...not enough drama/action for the actors involved and especially not the HYPE the movie set out to be a year before it's release....

  • March 19, 2011 Phillipblaze
    Report This User

    Inception began as a simple dream within a dream, slowly transitioning into a paradox within layers conveying that twine of reality and dream can be easily become invisible with the simplest shift or twist everything can and life as you knew it becomes an alter of its alter. Christopher Nolan's choice in actors was by far one of the most intelligent choices, making a film that nicely ended the year of 2010. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Leonardo DiCaprio, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy and crew all possessed a genuine knack and face for their played characters living the life of completely different people all with unique perceptual abilities that all went to one cause. Inception, although, which did not win an Oscar, still proved to be an amazement that indescribably made its mark in this era.

  • March 19, 2011 drizzyjoe07
    Report This User

    Christopher Nolan brings us a terrific summer blockbuster action/thriller for ages. Inception is mind-blowing, stunning, and perfect.

  • March 01, 2011 IamLegendalex
    Report This User

    woooow

`

similar movies

  • Total Recall (2012)

  • Gravity (2013)

  • Avatar (2009)

  • Pacific Rim (2013)

  • The Hunger Games (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X