Skip to main content

reviews

69
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 196 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    For anyone professing true movie love, there's no resisting it. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's not enough to say that Inglourious Basterds is Quentin Tarantino's best movie. It's the first movie of his artistic maturity, the film his talent has been promising for more than 15 years. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Tarantino exercises both his obsession with vengeance and his fascination with the movies. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    Nothing about the emotionally unmoored Inglourious Basterds adds up. Whether it's parody, farce or a fever dream is anyone's guess. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Less a Holocaust retribution fantasy than a messy homage to war movies, and to movies, period. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    A fairy tale about the infinite power of film, it boasts all his swaggering trademarks: rapid-fire dialogue, gleeful violence, endless cultural references. But it's the sharp-eyed deliberation that makes the greatest impact. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing. show more

  • 67
    NPR

    The film on the whole feels unusually labored and conventional by Tarantino standards. Reducing World War II to juvenilia isn't the problem; the problem is that juvenilia needs to pop. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A big, bold, audacious war movie that will annoy some, startle others and demonstrate once again that he’s (Tarantino) the real thing, a director of quixotic delights. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Basterds isn't so revolutionary or so finely crafted as "Pulp Fiction" was, but it crackles with the same energy and imagination and chutzpah. show more

  • February 28, 2013 dm00000000134039
    Report This User

    I heard so many great things about this movie, but honestly I really couldn\'t get into it...even the villain, who apparently has won several awards, spent all of his potential within the first 20 minutes. The movie overall seemed too long...very strange for a Tarantino movie.

  • January 13, 2013 CTSSY
    Report This User

    Everything is amazing about this movie, the imagination, acting, intensity and story telling. Christoph Waltz is such a great actor that his acting captures every second of your attention. Brad Pitt has expanded his acting to another level.

  • June 16, 2011 gerald schwartz
    Report This User

    ONE OF THE GRFEATEST MOTION PICTURES EVER FINALLY NAZIS GET THEIR COMEUPPANCE ACTGING SUPERB CINEMATOGRAPHY OUTSTANDING EDITING CRISP FILM FAST MOVING AND WELL PACED A MUST SEE

  • April 17, 2011 Moosie
    Report This User

    One of the worst pictures I have ever seen. The way it was ******** flow from scene to scene and the poor lighting made the movie hard to watch. I believe the whole industry should be ashamed to award this movie any awards except for Christpher\'s outstanding acting performance.

  • August 14, 2010 Diego45469
    Report This User

    Amazing! Brad Pitt's best

  • August 09, 2010 Judsonray10
    Report This User

    first of all if you're going to see a tarentino film you need to expect to STAY AWAKE through is enough to see that every movie he has made he has poured his work and heart in to entertain you ppl that take in for granted. and the stupidest thing i've heard from people that have gone to see this is that "it wasn't funny" or "there was too much reading." if you're going to see a tarentino film you better not come at me with it wasn't funny because NEWS FLASH but he's not there to make you laugh, he's there to show you what's really going on behind your pampered action films that always seem to have the good guy winning. Quentin you keep them coming!

  • July 08, 2010 EricGee1018
    Report This User

    BLAME IN ON THE PREVIEWS, OVERALL I ENJOYED QUENTINS INGLORIOUS BASTERDS ALTHOUGH IT WAS NOT AS ASTOUNDING AS ITS PREDECESSOR, THE BLACK BOOK, THIS FILM WAS SUBTITLED FROM FRENCH AND GERMAN LANGUAGES, TO AUTHENTICATE THE TIME OF THE HOLOCAUST, AS WELL AS HAVING A STRICT STORY LINE OF ONE WOMAN WHOM ESCAPED DEATH BY GERMAN FORCES. INGLORIOUS BOUNCED BACK AND FORTH, TYPICAL OF QUENTIN TARANTINO, FOR THAT REASON, I SEEMED TO DECLINE IN MY JUDGEMENT OF I. B. AS I WAS EXPECTING AN ACTION/COMEDY, RATHER THAN A DRAMATIC APPROACH TO A REAL LIFE HISTORICAL EVENT, WHICH WE WILL NEVER RECOVER FROM IN THIS LIFETIME.

  • March 09, 2010 skidder0414
    Report This User

    Hmmmm..........I can't even think of words to describe this movie besides waste of time and money.

  • March 09, 2010 DScharff24
    Report This User

    I think this was the best-made movie of the year, or at least tied with District 9, and deserves its high acclaim. It's simply glorious. To those who criticize it's lack of constant action...were you expecting GI Joe or Transformers? Because your mediocre action romp is in another castle.

  • March 08, 2010 Gumball ZSig
    Report This User

    Can someone tell me how this film was nominated for "Best Original Screenplay" when it's a remake?? This movie was BORING too. Honestly, if you were born yesterday and haven'********* a WWII espianage film this movie might be a dece fast-food-highlights reel of scenes from good movies. 5 scenes, 3 hours, and nothing happened but a series of monologues that followed one another and loosely are called "dialogue". Those monologues were the self-fluffing-Tarantino-one-sided-pissing-contests of this worst kind.

`

similar movies

  • Full Metal Jacket (1987)

  • Saving Private Ryan (1998)

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

  • The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (1967)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X