Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 65 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    For its first stingingly funny half hour, The Invention of Lying had me thinking that Ricky Gervais had finally found a way to bring his indisputable brilliance at TV comedy (The Office, Extras) to the big screen. Then the air went out of the balloon. What a shame. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Ricky Gervais, instead of resting on formula and on a familiar persona, uses his first opportunity as a big-screen actor-director to make an original comedy that expresses some real thinking and feeling. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    By adhering to the romantic-comedy formula, The Invention of Lying stops short of being truly inventive. But enough sequences are fresh and inspired to make this a comedy honestly worth catching. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    In the spirit of that world, I cannot tell a lie: The Invention of Lying, which the English comedian both directed and wrote with Matthew Robinson, soon loses altitude and eventually falls flat. show more

  • 63
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    Invention - a mash-up of two Jim Carrey comedies, "Liar Liar" and "Bruce Almighty" - flirts with being a one-gag pony. Shocking sincerity loses its comic impact after a while. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Once it's high-concept plot kicks in, Gervais' hilariously self-deprecating persona is really all that keeps it grounded. show more

  • 80
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Gervais and Robinson take what might have been a cute concept comedy and elevate it to delicious heights. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    In its amiable, quiet, PG-13 way, The Invention of Lying is a remarkably radical comedy. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Gervais' wickedly sly concept lingers quite awhile after the final chuckle. And that's the truth. show more

  • 75
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    The cascade of ideas proves to be both pleasurable and frustrating. As the movie retreats into a happy-ever-after ending, even its outrageous lies seem more like little white ones. show more

  • June 09, 2011 CHUREI
    Report This User

    Hurrah for all involved in this quirky, delicious quasi-satircal film. Gervais has done a fantastic job in the entire enterprise, and his acting is on a par with the rest of his accomplishments. Jennifer Garner, in a very difficult role, is superb. Yes, there are wonderful jabs at religion and idol worship, but they are handled adeptly and with generous bolts of tongue-in-cheek, but always funny, outlooks. There are a few slow moments, true, but the entire film is a fine \'What If...\' work. \'What if...\' it were not possible to tell a lie... and, then, someone discovers how to do it.... Wonderful.

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    horrible. wanted to stop watching halfway through but I didnt in hopes of it getting better...it never did.

  • July 12, 2010 Bob Cavicchioni
    Report This User

    All Christians boycott is evil "LIE" of a movie and these actors and actresses. . If "put aside falsehood" could have more of a clear meaning it would is this!

  • June 06, 2010 MadelynBell15
    Report This User

    People, relax. Yes, there were several jokes about the Bible and Christianity, but like I said before, relax. It's just for fun. Obviously the makers intended it that way. It's not a big deal anyways. I'm a Christian and I still found it funny. By the way, don't murder a movie's ratings just because you don't agree with it. The writing was very smart and the comedy was well timed. The editing was good and all in all they did a great job with the film. I love Ricky Gervais and he has such a great eye and ear for humor. So just sit back and enjoy the movie, or just don't ever watch it again. Seriously, it's not that big a deal. :)

  • April 23, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Starts off good but deteriorates in the second half.

  • March 31, 2010 tjgoshea
    Report This User

    Ricky Gervais should direct himself to the nearest trash dumpster if he even subconsciously thinks about directing himself in another movie. Maybe he could collaborate with Harold Ramis (Year One director) and produce a blockbuster film on Biblical sarcasm. Hmmm, Jack Black and Ricky Gervais on the same screen. Would they even fit? This movie was such a complete mind numbing bore even before the biblical puns started rolling out faster than the distribution of stimulus money. I finally came to a crossroads. I had to make a decision to either start drinking whiskey or open every window in the house (28 degrees outside) and brew a pot of coffee just to stay awake. I only maintained focused till the end as I wanted to see how many washed up actors would be making some kind of rare cameo appearance. The Good Lord only knows how many pizza boxes Ricky might need to use as props if he decides to do the sequel “How the Pagans took over Fantasy Island” There is a reason he is referred to as Ricky instead of

  • March 12, 2010 kingbtd
    Report This User

    Wow, reading some of the comments appearing here I am led to believe that most Americans share common values with radical, fundamental Islam. Dang Atheists destroying god! I had to laugh watching the Jon Stewart segment where the show was in Iran and everyone they interviewed had watched Jon Stewart's show and were familiar with the characters. I must assume that even Iran is less radical/fundamental/crazy than America. Those crazy/wild/Islam Iranians have a sense of humor -and their God doesn't get angry or disappear. Yikes!

  • February 28, 2010 Luke Meade
    Report This User

    Sad commentary that this talented writer has to fall into the Hollywood trap of Trashing the christian religion to sell a few tickets. Sad commentary extremely disappointing!

  • February 05, 2010 sparelaxing
    Report This User

    Probably one of the worse films ever.

  • February 04, 2010 minitaur1
    Report This User

    Hmm. So, anyone with religious beliefs is not "allowed" to be offended by the idea that the one lie that society must not tolerate is that of a Supreme Being or their opinion is null and void. Now who's small minded? How about exploring some of the questions brought up by the premise of the film such as does the inability to process an untruth also make it impossible to have original thought, or consider possibilities? How does society progress without new ideas? Also, the idea that their entertainment was the dry reading of historical accounts. Hmmm. Last I heard, history is the tale told by the victor. And what about the whole idea that people never used courtesy or discretion, but just told the unvarnished truth and everyone just accepted it with Vulcan-like stoicism. Since we are sliding toward a Jerry Springer culture, I think that we can see that people react quite strongly to unvarnished truth. So, let's review. Lying is a necessary part of everyday life. Religion is a really big, intolerable, destructive lie. That is some really uplifting stuff that offers a lot of amusement and excuses you from contemplating personal integrity. Just one more little bite of poison for your mind. If this movie didn't make you long for an intelligent discussion with someone with an attention span longer than your average text message, you have entered the state of mindlessness that is engulfing our nation.

`

similar movies

  • Bedazzled (2000)

  • Just Like Heaven (2005)

  • The Other Woman (2014)

  • Groundhog Day (1993)

  • Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X