Skip to main content

reviews

74
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 33 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Eastwood's modest approach to these momentous events shames the usual Hollywood showboating. In a rare achievement, he's made a film that truly is good for the soul. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's never less than worthy and entertaining, but the importance of Invictus doesn't broaden as it goes along. It narrows. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Invictus, which is Latin for "unconquered," gives the poem several meanings in the context of the film. It also applies to Eastwood, who, as one of America's greatest storytellers, finds enthralling tales and fashions them with finesse and an indomitable spirit. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A win-win situation in which a mainstream feature works equally well as stirring entertainment and a history lesson about a remarkable convergence of sports and statesmanship. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    As always, Freeman is a one-man charm offensive. show more

  • 70
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Freeman is so in-tune with the former South African president's persona you can't take your eyes off him. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A temperate, evenhanded perhaps overly timid film about an intemperate time in South Africa. show more

  • 75
    Bob Mondello NPR

    Freeman's Mandela, however, is pretty marvelous -- so persuasive in gesture, in bearing, in that signature mix of gravitas and twinkle, even in accent -- that when a shot of the real Mandela appears over the final credits, it's momentarily jarring to realize you've been watching an impersonation. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Clint Eastwood, a master director, orchestrates all of these notes and has us loving Mandela, proud of Francois and cheering for the plucky Springboks. A great entertainment. Not, as I said, the Mandela biopic I would have expected. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    This movie depicts an unlikely intersection of sports and leadership in ways that manage to be inspiring and insightful without ever becoming schmaltzy or preachy. show more

  • July 28, 2011 yn00000000097471
    Report This User

    epic

  • November 28, 2010 StATeLoVeScItY..
    Report This User

    awesome movie you have to see it.

  • June 27, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Another excellent film from Clint Eastwood. Nelson Mandela is the newly elected president of a deeply divided South Africa and recognizes his main task is to try to unify separate races into one nation capable of solving its serious problems. Seeking a means to inspire the country to unite, he focus on the Rugby team's attempt to win the world cup, a near impossible task. He exerts his skilled leadership to inspire the Rugby team. Even winning a couple of games in the world cup competition would be quite an accomplishment. An inspiring movie about inspiration.

  • May 31, 2010 Taiho ryu
    Report This User

    Hard to understand with the accient and I kept having problems with the sound. It was either to low or came blaring out in the next scene.

  • May 24, 2010 Antoine Andrey
    Report This User

    Great movie!

  • May 21, 2010 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Great movie! I hope the movie accurately portrayed Nelson Mandela. Morgan Freeman turned in another excellent performance, but the role of Pienaar could have been played by any number of actors. Frankly, I would have prefered a South African to have been cast in the role. Damon did an admirable job with it, though. Well worth the viewing!

  • February 16, 2010 phpoling
    Report This User

    Hope that Morgan Freeman and Matt Damon will wins Oscars!! Morgan Freeman really deserves Oscar! Excellent and most respect Actor ever. Morgan Freeman was great in The Bucket List.

  • February 08, 2010 contactlinnea
    Report This User

    Enjoyed the story very much and very inspiring ********* a true story. I think it was a little long, however and would consider it a rental.

  • January 09, 2010 sdudek1490
    Report This User

    This movie was much better than I had anticipated. My husband and I saw it at ten at night. We both expected to sleep through it. In fact, it was quite inspirational. It was much better than both of us expected. Neither of us know anything about rugby so that was very interesting. The music sound track was good and the scenery of South Africia was great. This is a true story of how two different peoples became one. It's a great movie for this day and age.

  • January 09, 2010 SnowboardAJ23
    Report This User

    Movie displays how bad of a sport rugby is for a movie. Watching brutes tackle each other over and over again really isn't that entertaining. At one point 10 people laughed in the theater when a guy on the south African screams noooooo shaking his head in slow motion. I don't know how eastwood didn't realize how bizarre that was. If you have a deep personal connection to the events taking place in the movie or just love rugby then you might enjoy it. Overall, freeman was good, damon mediocre, and the overall motion of the movie was extremely slow. My friend slept during it, so I don't know how you can say this movie was BRILLIANT, when it really was just an average film that displayed extraordinary events in history

`

similar movies

  • Invincible (2006)

  • The Power of One (1992)

  • We Are Marshall (2006)

  • Friday Night Lights (2004)

  • 42 (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X