Skip to main content

reviews

79
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    There's not a timid, sympathy-begging minute in it. Even better, you leave Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work with the exhilarating feeling that the lady is just hitting her stride. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's one of the best documentaries ever made about show business, about what it really consists of and what it demands. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    What she thinks of herself, though, seems perfectly, if improbably, reasonable--a queen of comedy who won't and shouldn't abdicate. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Stern and Sundberg, best known for their Darfur documentary "The Devil Came on Horseback," did not shrink from the atrocities in Sudan; nor do they shrink from the fame-hungry excesses here. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    If you're looking for an incisive portrait of self-generated stardom, you won't do better than this. show more

  • 80
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    A highly entertaining documentary revealing a serious talent behind the one-note present-day reputation. show more

  • 80
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Rivers appears to have more energy than most 30-year-olds; she gets more done in a day that some of us could accomplish in a week. show more

  • 85
    Bob Mondello NPR

    As the film demonstrates over the course of a full year with her, and not a great year by any stretch -- there is more to this particular hard-charging, egomaniacal, joke machine than gets revealed onstage. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Fascinating and has a lot of laughs in it. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    A gripping documentary. show more

  • July 19, 2010 sordid559
    Report This User

    I've always been a fan of Joan Rivers, for her humor, her wit, her brass! But this film shows a side of Ms Rivers that I never expected. A softer side that is more vulnerable than a child. The laughs are great, and plentiful, but this film will bring you to tears. A must see in my book!

  • July 11, 2010 Kathy
    Report This User

    Great film!!!!! LOVE Joan Rivers, couldn't imagine the world without her!!! Totally loved her response to the guy with the "deaf son". She is the most spontaneous, funny gal on the planet. Women that behave rarely make history, and this one will always be remembered!!!!!

  • July 06, 2010 asarnel
    Report This User

    This movie hits home with being successful and very wealthy but yet depression, loneliness, and a sense of failure strike the rich and famous as well as the not so rich and famous. She comes off as one beautiful person and a down to earth person at that. She admitted her failure as well as her successes. I have a respect for her I never had before. No one will be disappointed seeing this movie. I do believe it could get and academy award for best documentary. This is a lady who has ALWAYS counted her blessings and will till the day she dies. GO SEE THIS MOVIE IT IS FIVE STARS FOR ME!

  • July 02, 2010 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    DON'T CRITICIZE JOAN RIVERS: American icon, entrepreneur, elder, and according to this movie the hardest working woman in show-biz; she has the schedule of a 20year old and I don't know where such a 20year old can be found to match her. But Joan kept going. She's a champion. Bravo Joan! --MO Joan talks about what has hurt her in life and most of tht serious pain came from the loss of two men she love: her second husband and her producer, I think his name is Billy. She never says he on drugs but his ways are like it. This documentary movie gets in close with Rivers and she does not apologize for anything--not her profane mouth, nor her oppulant living and no one minds anything she does because the woman works so hard even though her job does not appear laborous, you know it is bcecause she has played some holes in the wall. Rivers was blackballed by th big tv network and they have not forgiven her yet. I got something to say about that. I guess I am an activists. I GOT HOT UNER THE COLLAR with th sense of networks owning so much of our airways that they pick and choose who goes on it. I mean, we, as Americans need to pay attention. THAT'S UN-AMERICAN. OUR COUNTRY MUST REALLY WATCH THAT. THAT PUTS A BIG OBSTACLE ON OUR YOUTH. IT'S LIKE THERE ARE KINGS HOLDING OUR MEDIA HOSTAG. I DON'T LIKE THAT.

  • June 15, 2010 cager97
    Report This User

    I saw this movie last night. A very raw, in-your-face film documenting Joan's life and her career. Fascinating!! It shows what it takes to really excell in the show business world....tenacity beyond belief!! Very humorous, not for the faint of heart, by any stretch!! At 75, Joan is just getting started!!

  • June 14, 2010 lhm7977
    Report This User

    Truly Amazing!!! So talented and such a great person!!! I could watch over and over again!!!

  • June 13, 2010 laronens
    Report This User

    Joan Rivers depiction of what it takes to maintain a show business career, is brutally raw. She takes us behind the facade and candidly exposes all of her struggles, scars, success and failure. Her biting and outrageous humor is exhillirating. The script is at once hillarious and upsetting. This movie is a must see. It is a study of an industry replete with politics, brutality, excitement, dreams and glorious acheivements. P.S. NBC treatment of Ms. Rivers, is scandalous, disgusting, un acceptable and infantile.

  • June 12, 2010 deepdene20
    Report This User

    I thought it was fascinating and very very funny. She is an amazing commediene.

similar movies

  • Casino Jack and the United States of Money (2010)

  • Cutie and the Boxer (2013)

  • Gonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (2008)

  • Bukowski: Born Into This (2003)

  • Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X