Skip to main content

reviews

66
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 32 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Dahan's impressionistic heartbreaker of a movie gets it all in. And Marion Cotillard, lip-syncing Piaf's songs and digging into her soul with gale-force urgency, gives a performance for the ages. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A feverish, unremitting and grimly joyless film. show more

  • 63
    USA Today

    There's a riveting tale within this awkward litany of pivotal moments. Still, despite the film's uneven nature, Cotillard's extraordinary performance is worth experiencing. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The film is long and sometimes harrowing, but also enthralling. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    For Piaf fans, La Vie en Rose is a must-see. For fans yet-to-be, Dahan and Cotillard's film is an opportunity rich with discovery. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    The song for which Piaf is best-known - "Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien" ("No Regrets") - leads to a killer finale with Cotillard perfectly lip-synching Piaf's recording of it. Trust me; you'll want to own it. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film is messy the way Piaf's life was messy: It's unafraid of extravagant gestures even when they fail to come off. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Olivier Dahan's La Vie en Rose, one of the best biopics I've seen, tells Piaf's life story through the extraordinary performance of Marion Cotillard, who looks like the singer. show more

  • 88
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    It's sometimes wrenching to watch, but it's too gripping to turn away from. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Thanks to the extraordinary performance of Cotillard, who expertly lip- syncs to Piaf recordings and disappears into the part, few will regret seeing La Vie En Rose, named after a famous Piaf tune. Just brace yourself for a film of unvarying intensity that seems longer than its 140-minute running time. show more

  • August 20, 2011 qe3jo
    Report This User

    I didn\'t see it when it first came out because I thought it would be too depressing. In reality, it was totally inspirational and haunting. I have downloaded the music and read several versions of her biography since watching it. Edith was one of those desperate and driven talents. Marion Cotillard who has become one ofmy favorite actresses for both her beauty & her talent, certainly deserved the Oscar.

  • May 22, 2008 sweettxtee
    Report This User

    I was stunned by this movie and felt as though I was living it. The acting was fantastic..got lost on some of it..such as who was Theo? This film was so intense and moving I immediately watched it again and now will read all I can about the life of "The Little Sparrow".

  • May 22, 2008 Connie
    Report This User

    I was utterly stunned and in awe of Marion Cotillard's portrayal of Edith Piaf -- one of the best acting performances that I have ever seen. While the movie was sometimes difficult to follow with the timeframes, it was so haunting that I will now consider it one of my 10 favorite movies of all times. I have ordered the DVD as well as the remastered soundtrack. If Cotillard does not get the Oscar for this role, then it will be proof that the voters were looking for a favorite, rather than the absolute best. This should also include the makeup artists who transformed Cotillard from a young woman to an elderly invalid. Incredible. But even with the makeup, Cotillard still had to convince the audience with her speech and body movement. And that she did. This movie will stay with me for a very, very long time.

  • May 22, 2008 jenjen4462
    Report This User

    A powerful performance by the young lady playing Edith Piaf.The locations, the music, the acting make the story come to life in a compelling yet entertaining fashion. A true slice of life made available for anyone in the least interested in the fascinating times and story of Edith Piaf. Didn't really know who she was. Had heard a few songs years ago. Now I know her, her times and her songs. GREAT!

  • May 22, 2008 tea218
    Report This User

    A truly captivating performance from the actress that played Edith Piaf. I thought the actors and movie made it a piece of moving and wonderful art work.

  • May 22, 2008 alboka
    Report This User

    As a long-time fan of Piaf it is with great anticipation that I awaited the opportunity to see this film. That opportunity presented itself yesterday and I have not been the same since. I plan to see the film, which is not being given wide showing in this area, several more times before it is gone ... as is Piaf herself. I will anxiously await the DVD version so that I may view and hear it again and again. Marion Cotillard's performance (and appearance) had it "right on" down to the exaggerated upper lip of Piaf. If her efforts do not result in an Oscar I will know, for sure, that there is surely inadequate judging given by the Academy. I give my highest rating to this masterpiece and recommend everyone who has ever been to Paris to see it and, once again, recapture the flavor of "Panam".

  • May 22, 2008 reecar7752
    Report This User

    As a lover of Piaf and her music, I found the movie to be a moving and tragic recreation of her life. It is worth the price of admission just for the music alone but Cotillard's performance is outstanding. Thge editing and direction left a lot to be desired by me and I had trouble keeping up with the time frames. Also - characters were just introduced with no background and then left as swiftly as they came. Was surprised that her association with Charles Aznevour - which was lengthy and considerable in real life - was hardly mentioned.Be that as it may, it was a great night at the movies for me.

  • May 22, 2008 chicaperu187
    Report This User

    One of the most beautiful movies i have ever seen. It was done in a very creative way. A must see film.

  • May 22, 2008 jbeie44579
    Report This User

    The acting was so amazing that there was never a time when I did not think that I was watching Edith Piaf, if I could give an Oscar she would be my selection

  • May 22, 2008 jq616
    Report This User

    The scenery was spectacular! The rest of it wasn't. I will go buy the book and see what it was supposed to be like. I can't imagine anything this dull would have managed to be made into a movie unless the book had been phenomenal. I was very, very disappointed but not surprised. Meryl Streep has had some odd choices over the years - anyone remember Out of Africa? Oh, lord - another monumental waste of film. But, back to this one... Claire Danes was uninspiring, Toni Collette played her usual self-involved, self-pity-party character that she always plays, and poor Ms. Redgrave had to drag herself through this mess giving the only decent performance. She didn't have a lot to work with. The story line was jumbled, confusing, tiring and irritating. If you MUST see it, wait until NetFlix has it on DVD and rent it. Don't waste the gas, time or energy on going to the theatre. It's like waiting to open a box of Godiva Chocolates only to discover someone has replaced them with a Whitman's Sampler. The cast looks phenomenal from the outside, the movie itself was hollow and bitterly disapointing.

`

similar movies

  • Life With Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows (2001)

  • Ray (2004)

  • Piaf -- The Early Years (1974)

  • Walk the Line (2005)

  • Ida (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X