Skip to main content

reviews

47
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The main problem with this treatise on racial politics undercover as an exercise in suspense is that the director, Neil LaBute, didn't write the script. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A conventional suspense thriller, but the details kick it up a notch. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Anyone who has ever had an annoying neighbor will see their worst nightmares fulfilled in the overheated but entertaining Lakeview Terrace. show more

  • 10
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Joyless and airless suspense thriller. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Lakeview Terrace's pretense at exploring racial intolerance has been exposed for what it really is: a B-movie copout. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The same boring routine gets played out again. show more

  • 40
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The film, absent a sense of place and populated by repellent or weak characters, soon devolves into an increasingly foul litany of events. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I find movies like this alive and provoking, and I'm exhilarated to have my thinking challenged at every step of the way. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Lakeview Terrace holds your interest, though the bad faith on all sides makes it something of an endurance test. show more

  • 63
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Here's a vote of gratitude for Samuel L. Jackson, who has become a specialist in making mediocre movies far more entertaining than they should be. show more

  • August 28, 2012 rlbuc
    Report This User

    Samuel Jackson plays the predictable buffoon. He\'s a much better actor than the character he portrays in this movie. I don\'t recommend wasting money renting this movie.

  • March 24, 2010 richcantwell109
    Report This User

    Attn: Moviefone You list this movie in Will Smith filmography. Wrong!

  • May 19, 2009 Bert
    Report This User

    Awful, awful, awful. Terrible plot. Sam Jackson's character made absolutely no sense whatsoever. I will never get that time back. Please save your time not to mention your money. Skip this movie!!!

  • October 24, 2008 pjcurl6291
    Report This User

    This movie was horrible.

  • October 23, 2008 Tunicetoya
    Report This User

    very good movie. sameul jackson fan. i love him. He really plays his part. Keep it coming Sam

  • October 22, 2008 Hocolee1960
    Report This User

    Thos

  • October 04, 2008 sdsc101
    Report This User

    It was a great movie. it had a special kind of humor. i am glad i saw it. they did a nice job.

  • September 29, 2008 ccfit1
    Report This User

    Didn't really like it. A bit of an odd couple, (not talking skin color here). No chemistry from them. I didn't feel it. Jackson was just plain annoying. I was ready for it to be over.

  • September 29, 2008 NPD72
    Report This User

    I think the movie gave good cops a bad name. With that being said, I give it a solid B or 4 stars. Tragic ending. One of the most under reported events is cops who turn their guns on themselves...very common.

  • September 27, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    Lakeview Terrace is a film directed by Neil LaBute that takes a mirror image look at racial prejudice. It is a more that a typical drama of a couple under siege. It also lets us view a lot of sensitive racial issues from a unique perspective by reversing the typical roles of white and black. LaBute and Jackson have shown great originality and courage in taking on these issues. See my full review at johnhuntspace.com/lakeviewterrace.html

`

similar movies

  • Disturbia (2007)

  • The Caller (2008)

  • Paranoia (2013)

  • The Uninvited (2009)

  • Unknown (2011)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X