Skip to main content

reviews

32
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 82 )
  • 38
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Will Ferrell and Danny McBride can find the dumb fun in anything. Too bad that Land of the Lost is so much less than anything. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    The result is eight times as strange and exponentially more potty-mouthed than the original series. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's hard to know just who the intended audience is: The movie is too surreal and bawdy for young kids and too silly for anyone older than 25. show more

  • NA
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This dramatically, thematically and artistically bankrupt comic fantasy cost something in the neighborhood of $100 million to make and isn't worth the celluloid it's printed on. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Not exactly a hundred million dollars' worth of classic comedy. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This lumbering, ha-ha-look-what-we-remade action-comedy is a high-concept disaster. show more

  • 30
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Lame sketch comedy, an uninspired performance from Will Ferrell and an overall failure of the imagination turn Brad Silberling's Land of the Lost into a lethargic meander through a wilderness of misfiring gags. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I guess you have to be in the mood for a goofball picture like this. I guess I was. show more

  • 63
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Scrambled space-time comedy that's as light and silly as it is erratic. show more

  • 50
    TV Guide

    If director Brad Silberling had taken this cast to their natural extremes, he might have delivered a raucously funny sci-fi comedy -- think "Anchorman" meets "Jurassic Park." Instead, Land of the Lost is an utter misfire -- not bad enough to hate, not good enough to remember. show more

  • November 23, 2010 AlexCarr45
    Report This User

    Will Ferrell at his best to be a doctor in this movie I loved the parts when he went on Matt Lauer

  • May 28, 2010 JJAmberHills
    Report This User

    I bought this movie because it was so funny and if you have not seen it you have not lived!!!

  • January 16, 2010 Anna Liza
    Report This User

    this movie is a funny but an okay movie

  • December 28, 2009 Ethan McCarley
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was funny. But I wouldn't go out of my way to say it's the worst movie. I don't know why you hated it. Maybe it's just me and maybe some other people liked because we love Will Ferrel. But not in a gay way. I give it a 3 and a half out of 5.

  • October 19, 2009 frdlyjohnson
    Report This User

    I did not see this movie because it looked stupid and should not have been just a comedy. It should have been a drama with some comedic elements in it. I really wished that they would have made this a real sequel to the Saturday morning show that I watched in the 70s. I was bummed that Will and Holly never made it out of the Land of the Lost and I was hoping that this movie would have finally provided me some resolution to know that they made it out alive. Those sleestacks were so frightening back then! I just think this movie probably did not do justice to the actual series and that is why I would not go see it. Please remake this movie into more of a continuation to the tv series.

  • October 15, 2009 grammapeggy59
    Report This User

    This is possibly the worst movie I have ever watch. I couldn't stomach the last 10 minutes. And to Newsong, do you really think this is clean? How many cuss words or references to Jesus Christ, how many gay themes ( laying as a 3some gay men), how much groping does it take to make it unclean? It was unsuitable for children even in the pg13 status, and too stupid for adults. It was a total waste of my time to watch! If I could give this a minus score, I would.

  • July 14, 2009 Thom
    Report This User

    SImply, this is not a good movie because it isn't very funny, and it's supposed to be a comedy. It is thinly written and directed and comes off like celluloid a couple of adolescents would piece together. I can't recommend seeing this flick to anyone, but at least it is clean.

  • July 03, 2009 HAHAHAHA
    Report This User

    The stupidity made it halairious i loved the humor and laughed so hard the guy behind me left

  • July 02, 2009 rebeccarocks3
    Report This User

    It was funny and stupid at the same time.

  • June 30, 2009 xLittleSquirtox
    Report This User

    this was hilarious!! Love it. I actually used to not like will ferell but now i do!! go see it

`

similar movies

  • Year One (2009)

  • Night at the Museum (2006)

  • Avatar (2009)

  • Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

  • Marvel's the Avengers (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X