Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Witless banter might have won Ginger Rogers for Fred Astaire, but Thompson is too smart for that. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Last Chance Harvey is the "Before Sunrise" for the over-45 set. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A good chance to see two superb actors having their way with wafer-thin material. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Sappy, sentimental and redeemed only by the quiet radiance and fidgety intelligence of its leads, Last Chance Harvey is a fantasy about mopey middle-agers getting a second chance at love. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    This mundane romantic comedy is notable for one reason only: its leading couple. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Imagine Paddy Chayefsky's "Marty" saddled with more sentimentality and sprinkled with a few more laughs and you pretty much have Last Chance Harvey. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Last Chance Harvey is a tremendously appealing love story surrounded by a movie not worthy of it. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Slight but utterly charming. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Harvey is so thin it barely registers as a movie, yet these two actors - British apples and American oranges in their respective approaches to character - almost miraculously weave something memorable out of nothing much. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Dustin Hoffman and Emma Thompson bring credibility to Last Chance Harvey merely by their presence. The result is a holiday parfait. show more

  • October 10, 2009 mr rbi4u
    Report This User

    AND---nice scenes from London, although the couple was a bit selfish to fly all the way there for their wedding. It caused a lot of people much trouble.

  • May 24, 2009 crstsklt
    Report This User

    Have loved Dustin Hoffman since I was younger so had to see it. Enjoyed it from start to finish. Could so relate to his character with the family! Great movie!

  • March 30, 2009 welcome salasrms
    Report This User

    A super love story that directs its message to middle lonely adults. We enjoyed this movie, but believe if seniors do not support this touching type of movie, the present bad movies with no story will continue, The media has done well with kid movies, but ignore good ones.

  • March 28, 2009 smjmc
    Report This User

    EXCELLENT FEEL GOOD MOVIE....DECENT MOVIE

  • March 24, 2009 WlSHlWASDEAD
    Report This User

    good movie ... very real ...

  • March 14, 2009 colormebeccax4
    Report This User

    i'm only seein this movie because james brolins in it.

  • February 19, 2009 sylvia
    Report This User

    I enjoyed this movie very much.. I would recommend it! It was a sad story in the begining, but it has a happy ending... good movie with no trashy stuff....a feel good movie for a change!

  • February 15, 2009 Jeannie
    Report This User

    Disappointing. I expected a lot more from this film considering it starred Emma Thompson and Dustin Hoffman who are wonderful actors. I had hoped to see much more of London. BLAH.

  • February 01, 2009 ABux881580
    Report This User

    I saw this movie the other day with my boyfriend and we both enjoyed it very much. I rate it 5 stars. A feel good movie.

  • January 27, 2009 pj323jp
    Report This User

    I'm a white male, 65 yrs old, and a long time fan of Dustin Hoffman's work. Therefore, I'm almost the perfect audience for this film ane its story. The only people who are probably better able to appreciate it are women. Anyhow, I'm very happy to have seen these masterful performances and the great story telling done by the writer, director, editor and others. This is an exceptionally artful film, with all its emotional content being carefully revealed in a manner which defies concepts about exposition, plot and character development. So amazing is this film that I'm sure it will become a classic, once its subtle construction and flow are fully appreciated. I offer my gratitude and respect to Dustin Hoffman, Emma Thompson and everyone behind the cameras. Five Stars

`

similar movies

  • Something's Gotta Give (2003)

  • Sleepless in Seattle (1993)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Spanglish (2004)

  • Serendipity (2001)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X