Skip to main content

reviews

31
Based on 7 Reviews
critic reviews (7)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 38
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Good looking (it was filmed in Winter Garden) but slow and bland, this faith-based tear-jerker is a depressingly unemotional affair, with writing and some of the acting so flat that even its emotionally loaded situations can’t inspire waterworks. show more

  • 30
    Pete Hammond Boxoffice Magazine

    Letters to God is far too simplistic and pandering to find success outside of the targeted church-going family moviegoers it’s hoping to reach. show more

  • NA
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    I’ve seen sick kids exploited for all sorts of reasons – usually as easy ploys to manipulate emotions but sometimes to sell things or encourage philanthropic outpourings – but Letters to God takes the cake (make that the holy wafer). show more

  • 58
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    A bland, pious yet touching faith-based tearjerker. show more

  • 50
    L.A. Weekly

    With little in the way of story or spectacle to offer nonbelievers, the film itself just preaches to the choir. show more

  • 50
    Neil Genzlinger The New York Times

    Mr. Johnson and Ms. Lively are both pretty good, and with a more nuanced approach could have made this a powerful film. show more

  • 40
    Justin Chang Variety

    While only the converted will likely see the redemption behind the manipulation, picture delivers a strong enough dose of spiritual saccharine to yield solid if not heavenly returns from its trusty target audience. show more

  • July 08, 2012 krvarns
    Report This User

    ************ on GMC and it was a GREAT movie , very moving and worth watching again. Kay from Surprise AZ

  • April 07, 2011 Kim
    Report This User

    I am reading the book now, and can\'t wait to see the movie.. I will go and buy it at the store this weekend... :)

  • February 09, 2011 hisgloryinme01
    Report This User

    Don't listen to a single review from the "critics" regarding the content, the acting, or anything else for that matter. Nowdays, if a film isn't filled with horror, action, blood, or sex; then it's called "flat" and a smattering of other unflattering words to describe why they think you souldn't even bother to see it. Forget everything they say. This movie is warm, wonderful, filled with heart touching - and yes, at times heart-wrenching - scenes; but isn't that what's called life and therefore constitutes realistic content? I just can't say enough good things about this film, and I'm proud of all the actors that thought it worth their while to make such an awesome movie that stirs the heart. Uplifting and poignant, this film inspires us to be better ourselves and invest in the lives of those around us. A must-see and a good one to own.

  • October 06, 2010 jouwhoo1
    Report This User

    I watched the movie and it saddened me that so many people are dieing from cancer when there IS a CURE for cancer. My mom is living proof. She had cancer on her lip for a year, then she researched natural cures for cancer and found out that cancer cannot live in an alkaline environment. The food we eat is either alkaline, acidic, or neutral and depending on how much of each that we eat, is what our bodies' ph will be. She started eating alkaline foods and within a few weeks the cancer disappeared. There are thousands of cases like these. I feel like since I know the cure for cancer, I'm obligated to spread the word as much as I can. Please help me to spread the word. There are many resources out there for natural cures.

  • August 29, 2010 Dio amori voi
    Report This User

    I have not seen the movie yet, but the book is SUPER! I started reading it and just did not want to stop. Hoping the movie is just as great as the book

  • June 11, 2010 Rroe1111
    Report This User

    dallasfish, if you're soo against christianity then why did you see a movie called LETTERS TO GOD?

  • April 30, 2010 Karen Cicio
    Report This User

    To Dallafish, I haven't seen the movie yet. We are planning to see the movie this afternoon. I wanted to see the reviews first. Your comment that this movie portrays Christianity solves all you problems seems contridictory just by the nature of the film. The young man has a terminal illness. A Christian is never exempt from problems we are like anyone else. Man is born to sorrow as the book of Job states. God wants to be our refuge and grow us into His image. Our response to Him is the most important issue. You have a false idea that all Christians believe that God solves all our problems or living the Christian live solves all our problems. klc59

  • April 29, 2010 marcellamieses
    Report This User

    I promised myself that I would go see it with my husband so we can both learn something from it but then I also had a little hunch to take another couple with us and we made it a "Couples Movie Night". The other couple is having marital problems so I pray that this brought them a little bit closer instead of watching another type of movie that would have probably stirred more bitter emotions in them. "For the LORD your God is the one who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies to give you victory." Deuteronomy 20:4

  • April 27, 2010 Serena
    Report This User

    Heart touching movie, from beginning to end, know all will be blessed in one way or another, If God brings us to stuff, He will get us thru stuff. We are not alone, we may not be able to handle all challenges, trials, in this life But God Can, Lean on Him for all needs, He is Listening & waiting, what are we waiting for? Share, invite families and friends, my brothers and sisters in Lord, we all went to see and there was not a dry eye in that movie theater, touched all hearts and know it will touch all hearts, prayers always, Power Of Prayer, God Bless, Peace of Jesus, much love :)

  • April 26, 2010 berrykin1977
    Report This User

    What a remarkable movie! The movie showed us that by having faith and hope that we can stand strong against anything that God puts in our paths. Letters to God demonstrated that with having a supportive family and friends to help with the emotions of being ill surely does help overcome the fears and obstacles that one must endure during their treatment. The movie showed us a beautiful story of prayer of a little boy suffering with a brain tumor by merely writing Letters to God will bring someone into a relationship with Him. Opening ones eyes to a new life. The movie presented the messages of hope, faith and love. I cannot express my gratitude enough for a movie like this! Many people are struggling out there today with situations like this and I pray that they will see this movie and that they will also learn of the Gift.

`

similar movies

  • The Secrets of Jonathan Sperry (2008)

  • Black Nativity (2013)

  • Grace Unplugged (2013)

  • Different Drummers (2013)

  • The Christmas Candle (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X