Skip to main content

reviews

25
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 36 )
  • NA
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    There's bad, there's awful and there's horrible, and then somewhere beyond that, in its own Kingdom of Lousy -- where all the milk curdles and the jokes aren't funny -- is License to Wed, the latest ghastly exercise starring Robin Williams. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The characters and plot lack even a shred of credibility. show more

  • 30
    Wall Street Journal

    The inert License to Wed shambles along one lame scene after another. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Rev. Robin Williams goes from mildly comic to downright creepy. show more

  • 20
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Working from a flawed premise with characters lacking credibility and plot turns more moronic than funny, the movie flatlines in about five minutes. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Director Ken Kwapis uses those monster infants perfectly, down to a funny final outtake. show more

  • 50
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    The fact that License to Wed isn't as unbearable as its trailers make it look doesn't mean it's good. It's not. It's just another mediocre addition -- worse than the best sitcoms, better than the worst. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Williams' grimace is starting to look desperate. Then again, no one comes off well in director Ken Kwapis' handling of this greasy screenplay. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The outtakes that accompany the end credits suggest that making the movie was a blast; it's a shame the same can't be said for watching it. show more

  • 38
    Premiere

    Krasinski and Moore are an adorable couple, but marriage material they aren't, especially since they're given a mere ten minutes to form a full-fledged relationship before Williams breathlessly barges into the picture. show more

  • May 22, 2008 chrissykittyresq
    Report This User

    Yet again he is excellent. I really enjoyed the movie, and it was really funny. Robin williams is one of my favorite comedians and he did not let me down. From the past few movies he did(Rv--bought it immediately and the others) and now this is a little different but very good. It was a good comedy to remind everyone what it takes for you to know if your ready to get married. Have some humor people! robin rules!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 mos7jam
    Report This User

    I really didn't like this movie it wasn't what I thought it would be it was a major let down. Could of bee much better.

  • May 22, 2008 sailing111
    Report This User

    Sometimes I really wonder what is wrong with movie critics. I've learned that you can't really listen to reviews from movie critics. You just have to go and see the movies for yourself. License to Wed wasn't a 4 star movie but I would have no problem giving it 3 stars. It was a funny and light comedy. My wife and I laughed more watching this movie than we did at 'Knocked Up' which the critics raved about. I almost listened to the critics, like most people do, and didn't want to take a chance on this movie. I'm glad that I didn't listen to them and saw a great movie that I will be happy to add to my dvd collection when its released. This was probably Robin Williams best comedic work in a while.

  • May 22, 2008 v4pcm
    Report This User

    .

  • May 22, 2008 Bill
    Report This User

    This movie had me on the edge of my seat laughing from start to finish. I suggest that you take people you know because this movie rocks!

  • May 22, 2008 thomasfrank001
    Report This User

    Robin willaims is such a great talent and has wasted it on a boring, b rated, sit com movie at best. Wait and see it this one as your free movie at the rental store..

  • May 22, 2008 tizighteliyy
    Report This User

    okay, sure it wasn't a steven spielberg movie, but it was cute. i mean, its not a movie that deserves the best rating, but it derserves way better than 28! these critics are confusing it with 1408! god, if you want a stupid movie, theres the movie to see. but this one was cute, funny, and sweet. but instead of paying 7 bucks to go see it in a movie theater, rent it. but reent it soon!

  • May 22, 2008 FeastyJim
    Report This User

    Great food and a terrific people serving

  • May 22, 2008 waddledee7
    Report This User

    I thought license to wed was hilarious. It was funny at a lot of parts, especially the robot babies. It has a lot of adult humor though, so kids won't like it that much.

  • May 22, 2008 AliSuset
    Report This User

    I found the movie boring. I could not stop yawning. I regret not having gotten up and left! It is insulting to say that a sicko priest who goes around with a little kid at all hours of the day and night, and bugs people's houses to invade privacy; is a "diehard" priest. Please!!! It is an insult to Catholics. I was dissappointed that such a wonderful actor such as Robin Williams would have such a crummy role in this movie. I actually give it a minus zero...

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X