Skip to main content

reviews

43
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Eventually arrives at a lovely place, but it arrives limping. Small but nagging problems drag it down, such as weird acting choices, bizarre casting and strange aging makeup. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Newell's rendering of the iconic novel is dull and creatively off-kilter, lacking the surreal magic and robust passion of Márquez's signature magical realism style and never fully engaging the viewer. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    As one unfamiliar with the novel, I found it hard to tease out its meaning from this handsomely mounted, well-acted, aggressively elliptical adaptation. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    "Love" would be intolerably boring were it not for the frequent injections of humor, thanks largely to Hector Elizondo as Florentino's uncle, and for Bardem's ultimately winning performance. show more

  • 60
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Shot on location in vibrant Cartagena, the film's strong suit is aesthetic. Cinematographer Alfonso Beato, designer Wolf Kroeger and costume designer Marit Allen evoke aged exotic locales, rugged rural settings and dimly lit period interiors. A closing, aerial image has a breathtaking, spiritual beauty. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Sometimes less truly is more, and Love in the Time of Cholera is proof. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Newell has done some fine work in all sorts of genres, from “Four Weddings and a Funeral” to “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire,” but in “Cholera” he seems to be chronicling a half-century of events, passions and desires as a tourist, not a native. show more

  • 50
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    If you've seen "Gone With the Wind," you've seen what Love in the Time of Cholera isn't. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Little of the fragile wisdom with which García Márquez imbued that idea has survived this timid Hollywood treatment. show more

  • 50
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Today, the 1985 novel is the No. 1-selling paperback in North America. Sadly, the movie is a bonfire where the novel was a blaze of fireworks. show more

  • February 09, 2009 robbie61987
    Report This User

    I think all the Daytime soaps had better acting and production values then this slob.

  • February 08, 2009 anarledge
    Report This User

    I was captured by the great cinematography, good acting, the architecture, the scenery and the nostalgic life style of the times were beautifully portrayed. I enjoyed the movie.

  • May 22, 2008 tinacardenas
    Report This User

    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I did not agree with the choice of actors, I didn't know if this movie was to be a drama or a comedy. The characters were not developed. The best part of the movie was the last 10 minutes and the scenery. Overall it was a very disappointing movie.

  • May 22, 2008 Juliard
    Report This User

    Much better than I expected..Lot of humor and an unusual story line. Javier Bardem is a real find. Can't wait to see "No Country for Old Men" Movie was a change from all the junk we've been seeing.

  • May 22, 2008 danguibar
    Report This User

    Not as bad as critics lead me to believe. I think critic was very harsh and exaggerated. In general the movie director and script writer did a good job. They were able to compress down to such a short time a book that is so vast and detailed and still were able to transmit what the author really meant. Book is about a mix of tragedy and self reward. Remember that the main character at some point say to his mother "Mother I think the pain is gone". He learned how to ease the pain, and what a great medicine he found. The movie also captures the humor that Garcia Marquez puts in all his stories. Florentino as a loser is not that pathetic as some losers could be. He actually found a fun way of channeling all that sadness and releasing it into something fun. Spectator also finds a sort of release when he finds that Florentino encounters a way of getting over it. He still couldn't ever forget Fermina because she was actually the prettiest of all women he ever met.This is a kind of loser that many would envy somehow. In the other end I don't think Garcia Marquez ever meant for this book to be an epic love story. He wanted to tell a story of a man that was so "patient" (******* all the way) that he was able to wait for her love more than 50 years. Just see the movie and enjoy the excellent recreation of a world from 100 years ago in the times when cholera was a disease easy to catch.

  • May 22, 2008 seasidearm
    Report This User

    The cenamotagraphy is amazing, which is really what saves the movie. The characters are not developed enough for us to care enough. We hear he is in love, but we do not feel it. I went in expecting a great love story, but left disappointed. It is almost like you do not know why he loves her so much. I have not read the book, but I bet it must be a lot better than the movie. The father disappears and we never know why or what happens to him. When the daughter is taken away and then return we are never let in to how she is magically no longer in love. It just feels rushed and emotionally disconnected. I was very disappointed.

  • May 22, 2008 ewgjr44
    Report This User

    People who felt like they were being preached to or that the movie was un-american are probably just in shock from hearing an equal-footed presentation of the facts about our current sitiation in the middle east. The right was represented by an eloquent Tom Cruise, the left by Robert Redford and the undecided or the future by the kid in his office. Each presented his opinion equaly so if you are in shock from hearing the best bs the conservative has while two soldiers carry out its dirty work shocked you, il help you out: if you felt like the movie was slanted left then you either didnt get the movie at all or are one of the 5 guys who accounts for bush's approval rating.

  • May 22, 2008 Pilar
    Report This User

    Well acted and magnificent scenary add to the background of a great novel by a great author. The story is forever evolving and a cultural experience with colombian flavor. The sound track with Shakira matched well with the storyline. You should see this in the theatre to experience the full effect of the wardrobe, countryside views and the 19th century lifestyle.

  • May 22, 2008 marvinht
    Report This User

    I saw the movie before reading the reviews. I did not read the novel. All of the technical junk aside, I saw it as a beautiful story of a man who is consummed by his first love for over 50 years and trys but fails to extinguiosh the flame. A number of philosphocail twists were tucked in around that theme but if the author was trying to tell me or anyone more, I do not know what that would be. In that regard, it succeeded admirably and generally as an admirerer of critic reviews I was frankly diappointed by most of them here.

  • May 22, 2008 abbyf1030
    Report This User

    forget the unbelievably awful make up

`

similar movies

  • Before Sunrise (1995)

  • Girl With a Pearl Earring (2003)

  • Anna Karenina (2012)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Atonement (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X