Skip to main content

reviews

51
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 260 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Meryl Streep can do anything: sing, dance, do splits, act her heart out. She (almost) saves this clumsy, overwrought film version of the Abba musical that's been running on stages from Broadway to Barcelona since 1999. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Mamma Mia! is fun, the music's terrific and the cast is appealing. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The good-natured silliness is contagious. When Streep runs singing through a Greek village, it's like a spirited homage to "The Sound of Music." show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Yes, of course this is fairly old-fashioned entertainment, but it's really, really entertaining. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    By turns entertaining and excruciating. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    On the scale of modern musical adaptations, it's not a disaster of "The Producers" proportions. But it is missing the razzle-dazzle of a success like "Chicago." show more

  • 100
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    It's a delightful piece of filmmaking with a marvelous cast topped by Meryl Streep in one of her smartest and most entertaining performances ever. show more

  • 50
    Bob Mondello NPR

    This plot is not being taken terribly seriously. It's mostly a pretext for songs that are mostly a pretext for acting silly. show more

  • 88
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The movie takes the ABBA jukebox musical that ate London, and is still eating Broadway, and turns it into a surprisingly sensuous experience. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    The chorus backs the soloists powerfully, and they are as fresh as the rest of the film: fat and fit, homely and handsome, young gods and old codgers – in short, people you might really see in Greece. Reality in a musical? That alone makes it worth your open-eared attention. show more

  • February 10, 2014 olympicglass
    Report This User

    Solid entertainment for all. My whole family loved it the teens and the oldsters alike.

  • March 25, 2012 marnibnc
    Report This User

    Meryl streep is a very good singer and good actress,.

  • March 17, 2012 xs00000000117663
    Report This User

    I luuuuuuuuuuve it i luv it where rosie dances on the tables for bill

  • February 21, 2012 emgoldsmith
    Report This User

    great movie

  • December 14, 2009 Helen
    Report This User

    I was wondering do the actors really do their own singing in this move?? If not they sure make it look like they are, and if they are wow, they did a great job. Im not a big Meryl Streep fan, but I really enjoyed this move every time I see it.

  • April 15, 2009 Quen4evr
    Report This User

    A GREAT movie! Mamma Mia is a fun movie...leaves you feeling great! Meryl Streep is terrific...she leads of cast that is perfect. If I didn't know she was 59 I would never believe it! She is The Greatest! A must see!

  • March 03, 2009 ITZaBrat4U
    Report This User

    I loved this movie! I'm 24 years old and I grew up with my mom's "disco" CDs! The movie is catchy and fun for anyone!! If you're an ABBA fan, it's a must see! I thought everyone could sing great in this movie - Even James Bond himself! lol I love to watch it whever and I got the soundtrack the other day for my car!! I LOVE IT!! :]

  • February 21, 2009 Sprtlnd8jipson
    Report This User

    Loved it. Wonderful. Loved all of the actors. A sequel maybe?? I'm sure I would love it just as much as this one. Thanks for a fun movie.

  • February 02, 2009 Carolyn Ruth
    Report This User

    I bought it after getting from Library. It is a female movie. Play made by females and directed by females. Music made by two men back in 70's and disco. Most women who love it are in their older years. 60's generation. Actually my husband likes ABBA and we have 33 songs from them on our computers. But he did not like the movie until our spinning teacher used it in a two hour spinning class and we all sang along. When ever you are down in this lousy winter good to listen to and sing along. I love Meryl. I did not know she could sing. Do not think she did the high and long notes at end of "Winner takes it all". I think they said she had some help in those really long notes. They can electronically add voices to her own singing now adays with digital computers and the like. And I think they let Pierce Brosnan do it all on his own and let his acting do the rest. I think it makes a good curiousity promotion for selling the movie--to see how bad he can sing. And guess what it worked. There is no one that can sing as bad as he does. And I thought my voice was the worse. Well evidently there is another which is worse. Good scenery, Good dancing. Great for my generation. Only one mistake--actually big if you think about it. The daughter should be a granddaughter. She is 20. The mother was around 20 or so or younger. Her mother was going to through her out. So we know these women suppose to be in the late 50's. Boomer generation. At least in the movie you know they are past menapause. The guys may be slightly younger in real life. Meryl would be in her 40's and still look relatively young if the time line was correct. In real life she is 59 and in this movie she looks it. How did they make her look so flawless and young in Devil wears prada, made only two years before. Did they stick her face with silicon injection or heavy makeup or prothetics or camera lense tricks? I am glad she looks her age. Nice to see an older actress without plastic surgery

  • January 23, 2009 Bellehare9
    Report This User

    Can't they find some actors who can sing? Who cares how well they act if we have to listen to their pitiful singing performances!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X