Skip to main content

reviews

48
Based on 26 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's off in many directions - false in its details, false in its relationships, false in its emotions - but probably the first and worst thing that needs to be said about it is that it's also overlong and dull. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    An occasionally schmaltzy but likable story of healing and redemption. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The entire cast is fully committed to this squishily sentimental tale, which is especially impressive given that it's the kind of generic dramedy you'll swear you've seen a thousand times before. show more

  • 70
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Those who stick with Martian Child won't entirely avoid mush, but they will find terrific performances. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Cusack, of course, is the perfect Anti-Schmaltz. His rapid-fire delivery makes everything he says sound like it's just pouring from his brain to his mouth, so that even the sappiest dialogue is rendered sincere. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    And in the end, maybe the question of Dennis' origin is irrelevant. He tells David he's come to Earth to try to understand human beings, and that quest is worth a lifetime's effort -- whatever planet you call home. show more

  • 63
    Chicago Tribune

    The film plot about the needy kid who redeems a male loner has been done to death, and on the surface, Martian Child just looks like another entry in the genre, a close follower to “About A Boy.” show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Cusack shows that he can still play the sensitive-but-fun guy until the ladies sigh and the men take notes. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    One soggy slab of sentimental uplift, but it doesn't pretend to be anything else, and there's some honor in that. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie leaves no heartstring untugged. It even has a beloved old dog, and you know what happens to beloved old dogs in movies like this. Or if you don't, I don't have the heart to tell you. show more

  • September 20, 2008 salesa1
    Report This User

    Adapted from a true story, Martian Child deals with the loss of family, love and finding ourselves in this universe. Who are we? Where do we belong. Excellent movie showing the struggles of adjustment for an abandoned child who finds comfort in being a person from another plant.

  • September 14, 2008 Wedding Makeup
    Report This User

    As usual John is a great actor especially when acting with a child.

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    this was a good movie with well-found performances.This film was worth-entertaining. I enjoyed it, i was good convinced that this movie was a caring film. I would see it again.

  • May 22, 2008 ashjackmist
    Report This User

    I would like to give you another point of view. My husband and I are in the process of adopting, more specifically the age range of the little boy in the movie. We have recently completed our classes and to be honest the movie was dead on in the events that happened. These kids and there are thousands across the US, have been abandoned, mistreated, etc and each and every one of them feels it's their fault they are without a family. So, while the little boy thinking he was a Martin might be a little extreme, it was the little boy's coping mechanism. Why should he be secure in knowing that this was his new home? See the main trick in adopting/fostering IS to stay cool with the kids. These kids will test every limit to see if you will give up on them like there natural parents did; you have to earn their trust. I think all potential parents going through the adoption/foster program should see this movie.For more information on the adoption/foster program, please check out AdoptUsKids.orgSincerely,Ashley M.

  • May 22, 2008 lil smooth music
    Report This User

    this movie is heart warming

  • May 22, 2008 carlycrampit
    Report This User

    When I heard the name of the movie, it did not sound like a movie I wanted to watch or a movie I thought my 4-year old would enjoy. My teenager and husband could put Harry potter and Star Wars aside to give this one a try. But when I started reading reviews, I thought it needed a chance and sounded like something we could enjoy. Was so glad we took the chance! What a nice story we all enjoyed. Even my teenager enjoyed watching it. He has watched all the extras and we have all watched the movie several times. Do not let the title discourage you!!! It is a sweet movie with a great story. Do give it a chance! Give some credit to the movies that doesn't have bad language and killing in it. This is worth a watch!

  • May 22, 2008 flagrits
    Report This User

    It started off sort of cute, boy in a box but failed in the end. I would save my money.

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    Both Cusack and the kid actor failed to convince me that they cared for each other in any real way. That's the art in acting, making emotional connections within yourself and bringing them to life in a performance with an actor for whom you feel very little. A loooooong smaltzy story which never really paid off, not as it should have.

  • May 22, 2008 livlafluv
    Report This User

    But I guess everyone is entitled to an opinion and we can't all like the same things. If I had read some of the "professional" reviews before going to see this movie, I may have chosen to see something else. It's too bad so few see the great messages and acting in this film ~ at least of those in the "professional reviewing" realm. That said, we (myself and my children) thoroughly enjoyed the movie, as did everyone else in the theater. There were many laughs from everyone, and yes, there were muffled sniffles during the sad parts. It's the kind of movie that when you leave, you see everyone smiling, with a sense of satisfaction. Very rare anymore. Plus, it's great for the whole family. I've seen countless cartoons and kids movies at the movie theater, because that's basically all you can see when you have young children. And while I "somewhat" enjoy the kids movies... they have sweet characters and good messages... it's refreshing to finally see something, with my children, that I enjoy just as much as they do (if not more). The fact that is was based on a true story gives the movie even more weight, and there are some great one-liners that I plan to write down so I never forget them!If you aren't into heartwarming, lesson learning, family bonding, funny type movies, this isn't for you. If you are, you will certainly enjoy "Martin Child."

  • May 22, 2008 invdam
    Report This User

    this movie was honestly really good. i dont know why it got such bad reviews. its a movie for all ages. and i dont know what people expected based on the fact that its PG rated, but i enjoyed it. It had cute and sarcastic humor. And was a good holiday movie.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X