Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 23 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Frenetically paced but mostly pointless computer-animated film that will satisfy children but may give parents a headache. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A visual treat with an engaging story that has an uplifting, but not maudlin, message. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A 3-D fantasy that's lovely to look at but less than delightful to know. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Simply put, it's terrific. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    It takes nearly an hour before Stephen J. Anderson's 3-D, animated comedy Meet the Robinsons begins to make sense, and when it does, the film literally takes off. But unless you're familiar with the children's book by William Joyce from which it's adapted, that first hour is a cluttered, noisy, nearly unendurable mess. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The most un-Disneylike cartoon yet from Disney animation. The thing is a hellzapoppin' of eccentric characters, zany situations and wacky gizmos, but little effort has gone into making any of this connect with an audience. show more

  • 75
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    When it enters the future, it's a new-fangled, old-fashioned jim-dandy of a show. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    It's hard not to like a PG-rated 'toon that works in references to "Pulp Fiction" and "Fargo," even if Meet the Robinsons, a delightful, quirk-filled riff on "Back to the Future," proceeds in fits and starts. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Almost as funny as it is hyperactive, the new computer-animated family comedy is luscious to look at and as fizzy as a can of soda popped open in your face. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Meet the Robinsons is a fast paced, high energy offering; it passes by in a breeze and is enjoyable enough that I'm willing to forgive the two awful songs (one near the beginning, one near the end) and recommend it. show more

  • May 22, 2008 gablovetosmile
    Report This User

    Meet the Robinsons and the movie soundtrack is the story of my life.

  • May 22, 2008 usafpowell
    Report This User

    This movie was disappointing, boring and just bad. My 6 year old actually asked to go home during the movie, he hated it so much. The 3D effects were disappointing. Would have expected more from Disney.

  • May 22, 2008 dijaba951859
    Report This User

    I took my daughter who just turned 5 years old the opening day, she LOVED IT!!! So much that we have been 4 times in the first two months after it came out, well I live in phoenix, AZ and 5 months later she is still asking me to go to see this movie, fortunately they are playing it again at a saver cinema and yes...we are going to see it again today.\nI this is an instant classic, it shows to kids that not everything is perfect (like fairy tales) but if you are positive and work hard ...good things happen. My 5 year old understood the movie perfectly from the first time we went to the theater, is a very good movie...it makes me cry at the end every time.

  • May 22, 2008 mom3rugrats
    Report This User

    Its amazing sushi, just make sure to get a combo meal or you will end up paying $35 for just one person, the soups are great, and the salads with ginger dressing are delicious. The staff are extremely friendly and will help you pick out something if you are lost, its has a cool interior flow, and its nice outside, but you have to park on surrounding streets and walk since it lacks a parking lot. Their Tempura Ice Cream for desert is a must!

  • May 22, 2008 soleowner
    Report This User

    I took my 9

  • May 22, 2008 marlea14514
    Report This User

    Don't make me watch it again.

  • May 22, 2008 Daniela
    Report This User

    I must admit that I was a bit hesitant about spending an afternoon off at yet another animated movie, but I had been promising the kids for days. Well, it turned out to be well worth every minute of it. I think that Meet the Robinsons has got to be one of the best animated films in a long time. My kids, 3 & 7, both enjoyed it as much as I did. I thought that the story line was very cute and it was refreshing to see something a little different. I definitely would suggest seeing it in 3D, it just makes it that much more interesting.

  • May 22, 2008 phoenixshihtzu
    Report This User

    Hey,...I wasn't expecting much from this movie,..but I loved it!... and my kid loved it,...and for the lady who thought it was too scary for Disney,..have you seen The Lion King?... there is always something a little scarey or too sad in movies,..but that is what makes them worth watching!!.The music is great too!..

  • May 22, 2008 Maria Rani
    Report This User

    I enjoyed watching Meet the Robinsons. I could relate to the story. I loved Rob Thomas song "Little Wonders" Our children liked the movie too! It was a funny, honest and a touching story. Keep moving forward...!!!

  • May 22, 2008 shrakemk
    Report This User

    My 4.5 year old was terrified of the bowler hat guy and the War of the Worlds type scenes. He kept asking to go home, and I had to reassure him that the title character would be okay. Not to mention the dinosaur beating up the supporting cast. Also, I had to explain the plot for probably about an hour afterwards because it did not make sense to him. I wouldn't take your child unless they are at least 8. All in all the movie was an animated version of Back to the Future III.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X