Skip to main content

reviews

9
Based on 11 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 70 )
  • 20
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Writer-directors Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer basically reprise the tired formula from their earlier efforts, which is to throw in as many pop culture references as possible to cover up the lack of any real wit. show more

  • 38
    Boston Globe

    The best thing in Meet the Spartans is the swift kick in the bombast it delivers to the oh-no-not-us homoeroticism of "300." show more

  • 25
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The musical number that runs during the closing credits funnier than anything that precedes it, which isn't saying much. show more

  • NA
    Film Threat

    It’s rare that a movie makes me ill these days, and it’s rare that I can see a movie and hate the people behind it with such abhorrence, but Meet the Spartans rises to the challenge. show more

  • NA
    Kimberley Jones Austin Chronicle

    Hey, guys, when you repurpose a disco hit to poke fun at gay men, not only do you look like assholes, you look like assholes who rip their jokes off of YouTube. show more

  • 58
    Entertainment Weekly

    Less classic Mel Brooks than middling "Best Week Ever." show more

  • 20
    L.A. Weekly

    Meet the Spartans is a mild improvement over their "Epic Movie," which is like saying that a debilitating fever is more fun than appendicitis, but what’s shocking is how lazy it is, which is a shame for former UK child star/pop singer Sean Maguire, whose Gerard Butler impersonation is spot-on. show more

  • 20
    Jeannette Catsoulis The New York Times

    Overkill is what Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer do best: as the uncontested titans of the parody genre (with fingers in everything from the “Scary Movie” franchise to the more recent “Epic Movie”) they continue to prove that ridiculing other movies is much easier than making your own. show more

  • 10
    Joe Leydon Variety

    Lazy, lame and painfully unfunny, Meet the Spartans is yet another scrambled-genre parody. show more

  • NA
    Village Voice

    Witless, tasteless, formless spoof. show more

  • July 22, 2008 Goldie32050
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE "R"...WHEN I THINK OF ALL THE Rs THAT SHOULD BE PG OR PG 13, SUCH AS "GLORY" & "THE PATRIOT", ONE SHOULD THINK THAT THE PRODUCERS PAID OFF THE RATING PEOPLE ON THIS ONE!!!

  • July 10, 2008 obigguy456702146
    Report This User

    so so stupid

  • June 05, 2008 cFjGrInD
    Report This User

    I saw 300 like 2 weeks ago, This movie was terrible, not even worth watching, There was a time when I loved spoof movies but it seems the spoofs are going downhill and simply made for the sake of making a movie. It was really bad. It wouldn't be so bad if it was a clip here or there, but I just thought altogether it was a waste of time and money.

  • May 22, 2008 jjlsoccerdude
    Report This User

    Whoever made this movie should be fined by the Department of Consumer Protection, because it was a sham designed to steal our money. Screw these Hollywood millionaires who are just "jacking" us up for our $9.00, and putting out such bullcrap.

  • May 22, 2008 lilal801
    Report This User

    this movie waz da best movie i have ever seen on a scale from 1 to 10 i would give it a 50000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

  • May 22, 2008 wsmartin664
    Report This User

    no this movie wasnt the greatest, but it was comical. to all the people who trash spoof's should find better use of their time. No, they don't make sense. Yes, they're a bit over the top and mabey to mature for minors but it's the day and age we live in. I've seen worse things on cartoon-network. All in all i give this movie a 6 outta 10. Catch it in the theatre's once, mabey twice.. DVD purchace not recommended.

  • May 22, 2008 Wesley
    Report This User

    I thought it would be funny becaues I love Epic Movie . On a scale from 1 to 10 it is negative 100000. For any one who dose not like rated R movies dont watch ( it should be rated R ) . This is worse than the Care Bears movie that used to be my least favorite.

  • May 22, 2008 gene81
    Report This User

    very much ef

  • May 22, 2008 dishart c
    Report This User

    Yesterday on the 17th, me and three other friends decided wat the heck lets go and see this movie,so we get there and it was us 4 and two others in fornt of us,movie starts as soon as everyone was threwn into the pit of death it turned gay REALLY GAY and also two we stayed til the credits,(BIG MISTAKE) and there wasn't the rambo spoof and spiderman one with donald trump WHY the hell are they going to keep coming out with movies like this hell epic movie was better then this i like dumb movies but i walked out all mad DON'T GO SEE THIS MOVIE UNLESS U ARE REALLY REALLY BORED

  • May 22, 2008 lenise17
    Report This User

    I am a huge fan of spoof's. My sister and I really enjoyed the movie and went back to see it again. For me spoof's aren't supposed to make sense. The only thing there supposed to do is make you laugh at ridiculous situations. Spoof's are in an entirely different genre than movies like Superbad so, to compare the two is not accurate. If you want to watch a comedy that has a plot don't see these types of movies you'd be better of watching "Knocked Up". If you like to laugh at people making fun of other movies or celebrities then Spoof's are your types of movies.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X