Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 58 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The effects are cheese-whizzy fun, but it's the unexpected spark between Smith and Brolin that makes MiB3 primo summer fun. Way cool. show more

  • 75
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    If you're looking for cinema verite, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a fun, fizzy sequel in a franchise left for dead 10 years ago, have at it. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    While this third go-round may not seem necessary amid summer's blockbusters, it's an entertaining jaunt back in time with the likably mismatched duo. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The younger man's personality is all the more startling for the skill and generosity with which Mr. Brolin creates a persuasively vital K while foreshadowing the grump to come. The script explains the change in elaborate detail, but the performance defies explanation; it's mysteriously marvelous. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    A solidly entertaining summer movie is always welcome, even if it can't quite claim to be out of this world. show more

  • 80
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    Finding smart ways to bring novelty to the franchise without forsaking what made the original so much fun (and in fact doubling down on some of those qualities), Barry Sonnenfeld's Men in Black 3 easily erases the second installment's vague but unpleasant memory and -- though we might hope producers will quit while they're ahead -- paves the way for future installments. show more

  • 60
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Most wonderful of all is Josh Brolin as the young Agent K. It's so easy to believe that Brolin could turn into Jones, given a couple of decades. show more

  • 70
    Scott Tobias NPR

    Sonnenfeld's best movies function like elaborate Rube Goldberg contraptions, with visual gags popping out on a precise calibration of gears and springs, and Cohen's script, however derivative, is a stable apparatus. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Although I liked the first "MiB" movie, I wasn't particularly looking forward to this belated sequel. But I had fun. It has an ingenious plot, bizarre monsters, audacious cliff-hanging, and you know what? A closing scene that adds a new and sort of touching dimension to the characters of J and K. show more

  • 75
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Delight, a modest yet palpable measure of the stuff, is restored. show more

  • May 09, 2013 co00000000148623
    Report This User

    I really liked this movie most of the time when it gets to the third movie in a trilogy it gets old but this still works I hope they make a men in black 4

  • March 24, 2013 jeffer620
    Report This User

    Great Movie **** (yada yada yada) THE ELVIS SALUTE WAS PURE GENIUS - whoever thought of it should get an award.

  • August 08, 2012 Terry
    Report This User

    It was a fantastic movie and this coming from a 50 year old man. I don\'t get why anyone would say it wasn\'t good, it\'s for kids, or the 3D wasn\'t very good. I watch pretty much any half way decent movie that comes out either at the show or I rent them from the Redbox. I haven\'t seen a whole lot of 3D movies yet but out of the 1\'s I have seen I thought this 1 was the best. It had a good storyline and some nice laughs throughout. The CGI was great also. It\'s probably only at the cheap shows now so go see it in 3D on the big screen instead of waiting for it to be released on DVD. 5 stars, loved it!

  • August 02, 2012 pe00000000127826
    Report This User

    Again this movie has everything to make it great, action adventure comedy etc... This movie is great because its not based off some stoopid comic book character an actual imagination made this film, only nerds would like movies like batman,spiderman, hulk, planet of the apes, nerdsville wake up people lets take back our movies and watch what we love, I hate comic book movies no imagination just a remake of well the funny papers seriously!

  • July 08, 2012 sd00000000126434
    Report This User

    If you are a Men In Black fan then you wont be disappointed!!! I loved the storyline twist and Brolin was awesone!!

  • June 30, 2012 kenart41
    Report This User

    I was totally disappointed. I didn\'t hardly laugh at all and that was what I was going to see the movie to do. The opening sequence was exciting and Mr. Brolin was incredible but the rest of the movie just fell short for me. Maybe next time.

  • June 25, 2012 qt00000000125894
    Report This User

    Very FUNNY, Great Movie all around just loved it. Great affects & Creative Mind, Keeps you Laughing in your seat while wondering what will happen next.

  • June 25, 2012 fr00000000125496
    Report This User

    funny,decent cgi and lots of action.

  • June 18, 2012 wlamm1904
    Report This User

    I thought it was very good. Josh Brolin was spot on. Very interesting story with the time travel concept. It explains some things from the first two flicks and wrapped things up very well. I liked it.

  • June 18, 2012 vhcandcec
    Report This User

    This movie was just awful. Boris the animal was one of the grossest piece of garbage in any movie.

`

similar movies

  • Men in Black (1997)

  • Men in Black II (2002)

  • Ghostbusters II (1989)

  • Critters (1986)

  • The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X