Skip to main content

reviews

82
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 57 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Deliberate, demanding and character-driven, Michael Clayton flies in the face of what sells at the multiplex. I couldn't have liked it more. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Has a slow build and a strong payoff, but George Clooney is the element that holds it together. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's a rare film that can challenge our minds and rattle our nerves so profoundly. This is unequivocally a thriller for adults. A deftly written, tautly suspenseful and intellectually demanding morality tale. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    George Clooney's film noir sensibility in the title role feels authentic, and admirably solid. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    After Clooney, who gives a sterling performance as a tarnished figure, the standout performance belongs to Wilkinson, a geyser of manic eloquence. Also quite fine are Swinton and Sydney Pollack. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Tony Gilroy, co-author of the superb Jason Bourne film trilogy, makes a stunning directorial debut with Michael Clayton, an out-of-courtroom drama that helps solidify George Clooney's acting bona fides. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    As with the Bourne films, Gilroy has a knack for creating strong characters and situations that resonate with tension. It may be formula, but the guy is a solid chemist as he crafts excellent set-ups and payoffs. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I don't know what vast significance Michael Clayton has (it involves deadly pollution but isn't a message movie). But I know it is just about perfect as an exercise in the genre. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Michael Clayton is a here’s-how-it-happened drama, cleverly but not over-elaborately structured. show more

  • 88
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    An excellent legal thriller elevated to superb drama by the actor's (Clooney) central performance. show more

  • February 26, 2011 timespent12
    Report This User

    Michael Clayton is a film that truly touches a multitude of realistic senarios-personal and business. The dialogue was carefully thought out. The placement of each word and action of the characters' personalities were employed without dramatics, but with honesty and truth. An intelligent story that explores the right and wrong of ethical questionable acts that triggers greed, sacrifice to expose the truth, and freedom of guilt. Every scene was like a piece to a puzzle, holding together the flow of the storyline without the special effects and blood and guts an an action movie. A powerful, humanistic film you have to experience. You'll find yourself relating to the feelings and reactions of Clayton's character. A must see movie for an audience/viewer that feels and thinks, unlike an audience/viewer who can only relate to fantasy and the unrealistic view of the dilemmas of life.

  • July 11, 2008 obigguy456702146
    Report This User

    Boring.

  • June 17, 2008 walkerbjs22
    Report This User

    Michael Clayton is one of the most sharply scripted films of 2007, with an engrossing premise and faultless acting. Director Tony Gilroy succeeds not only in capturing the audience's attention, but holding it until the credits roll.

  • May 22, 2008 God's child
    Report This User

    I watched this at home and found it horrible. So boring and chopped up. The first 30 minutes I had to figure out what the heck was going on!!! I hated this film and wish I had saved my $3.99.

  • May 22, 2008 ferniedog2u
    Report This User

    one of the few and provacative that holds your attention and doesn't let up! i am very impressed with the storyline and the powerful acting roles made by Wilkinson, Clooney, and Swinton. Michael Clayton also does well in establishing a theme that few movies even attempt to work out in corruption of "law firms" but mostly "corruption of the mind"Not something most younger teens nor children may enjoy due to the nature and somewhat complex narrative of the film. but to everyone else i highly recommend this!

  • May 22, 2008 jancfleming
    Report This User

    Michael Clayton is great; it is very much worth seeing. This movie held my interest from jump.George Clooney was simply fantastic. I was not expecting to enjoy this film but was pleasantly entertained through the whole film. This is well worth any wait you have to go through.

  • May 22, 2008 ksharlan
    Report This User

    For some reason George Clooney is favored by Hollywood

  • May 22, 2008 jojackie3
    Report This User

    to pastapuddin annd cjleersr:I’m glad I read your questions before seeing the film, because it made me pay very close attention; remember the scene with Daniel and Arthur in the alley, where Arthur is holding the bag of bread? Michael says Arthur needs help and should be hospitalized, and Arthur goes into attorney mode and rattles off the three criteria to be able to hospitalize him against his will...I forget those three things, but the key phrase is, Arthur asks, “Do you have those horses?”And later, when Daniel is in Arthur’s loft, looking through the book Daniel’s son had told him to read, they show an illustration of a horse on a hill. So later when Daniel is grieving his friend’s death and contemplating his possible role in it, he sees these three horses on the hill, and has to stop. Got it? To those who panned the film...you’re just not very intelligent...that’s ok, there’s lots more movies made for you than for us.

  • May 22, 2008 gmjjacob
    Report This User

    I have eaten at Tiny Tai quite a few times being I live and work in the area. I had dinner at Tiny Tai in August and our food was undercooked (shrimp.) Then, the past two times I attempted to order out from them the woman on the phone was nasty, the food was not ready in the time she gave me and I was basically told to go somewhere else if I did not like her service. Guess what, from this point forward I will go somewhere else. Thai USA in Huntington Village and Green Leaf in Massapequa are excellent.

  • May 22, 2008 nfields10
    Report This User

    Could not have been more disappointed in a film. Poor script, unnecessary scenes and characters... the whole story could have been told in 20 minutes. Nothing about it grapped you emotionally. Not the characters, their problems, absolutely nothing. I do not know what movie the critics were watching...it was a major bomb.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X