Skip to main content

reviews

81
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 102 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    What's fresh about Midnight in Paris is the way he (Allen) identifies with Gil's idealization of the past, of the Paris that represented art and life at their fullest. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A movie that's loving and wistful and often hysterically funny. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The familiar dialogue here makes one long for something closer to the edginess of "Manhattan" or the offbeat humor of "Vicky Cristina Barcelona." show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    In Woody Allen's beguiling and then bedazzling new comedy, nostalgia isn't at all what it used to be - it's smarter, sweeter, fizzier and ever so much funnier. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Midnight in Paris is not a perfect movie - as in "Julie & Julia" one senses its creator's impatience to leave the bleached-out present for the colorful past. But it is warm and effortless, qualities that make it embraceable. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    As in "Purple Rose," the film works best when tweaking the disparate worlds thrown together, though "Midnight" is frothier, and so Wilson shines. show more

  • 90
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Darius Khondji's cinematography evokes to the hilt the gorgeously inviting Paris of so many people's imaginations (while conveniently ignoring the rest), and the film has the concision and snappy pace of Allen's best work. show more

  • 75
    Ella Taylor NPR

    But lo! Isn't that Owen Wilson, blond and goyische to the gills, yet faithfully replicating the put-upon slump of the Allen shoulders, the quavering stammers about art vs. success, literature vs. Hollywood? show more

  • 90
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    The best Allen movie in 10 years, or maybe even close to 20 - is all about that idea: Reckoning with the past as a real place, but also worrying about the limits of nostalgia. show more

  • 100
    Rex Reed New York Observer

    In a film so ripe with temptations for posturing, exaggeration and satirical overacting, nobody is anything less than natural, unpretentious and funny as hell. show more

  • August 15, 2012 falconercnatthi
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was exceptional and unique. Also very clever and fun to watch!!!! Five stars.

  • May 29, 2012 chase5300
    Report This User

    Woody\'s latest film is one of his best! Don\'t miss it. And keep in mind, Woody wrote every actors\' lines. Astounding!

  • April 08, 2012 CTSSY
    Report This User

    One of the best films I\'ve seen in years! Just love it and watched 3 times. Not only the concept, the acting, the cinema-photography are all excellent, but you suddenly get the idea that Wilson IS Woody! Wilson imitates Woody\'s tone and expression, stammering a little and talks slower than average people. It is so entertaining, especially to those who know 19th and 20th century literature and art to see those masters coming alive!

  • March 16, 2012 tw00000000117337
    Report This User

    awesome ! **********

  • February 15, 2012 Carla Beckman
    Report This User

    I love Midnight in Paris. It was Woody Allen at his best. I love the concept, the scenery, the wonderful understated Gil, and the fiance\'s obnoxious Republican parents. I will see it again.

  • February 05, 2012 HollyJaboo
    Report This User

    I brought the DVD home expecting little more than some nice scenery of a beautiful city. Woody Allen and Owen Wilson are not 2 of my favorite pepole but it was only an hour and half long and I had control of the FF button. I LOVE THIS MOVIE. It is one of the nicest, cleanest, prettiest, most imaginative movies I have seen in a very long time. I have been recommending it to everyone all day today. I am sure I will end up buying a copy for myself. And I really want to go to Paris now! Beautifully photographed (can anything top that openeing montage?) and wonderfully acted by a stunning ensemble.

  • January 29, 2012 pz00000000110246
    Report This User

    The concept was good... but executed poorly. The main character was way too quick to believe in the impossible, and by the end of the movie I really came to dislike him. Also, I personally thought that the cinematography made Paris look a bit drab.

  • December 13, 2011 Zarathustra
    Report This User

    I loved this movie.............

  • December 03, 2011 michmwou
    Report This User

    its a cool movie

  • October 12, 2011 gu00000000103800
    Report This User

    A terrific visually stimulating romance beatuifully set in Paris. The scenes are so gorgeous my girlfriend had tears in her eyes remember the city, and remembering how easy it was to get lost in it as well. Interesting, tasty, filled with interesting goings on, and hot women. Great fun, we will see it again, and buy the DVD when it comes out. Truly a winner, a keeper. JT

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X