Skip to main content

reviews

34
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 26 )
  • 25
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A cliché movie about love, orneriness and several maddening tourists. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Cloying and dated movie. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Summery and scenic, Ruins is this season's "Mamma Mia!," a diversion that dispenses the wisdom: Let go, let live, and let love. Not bad advice, and not a bad movie, exactly. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Director Donald Petrie doesn’t have much to brag about here, but at least he gives us some nice scenery to look at. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Ruins is sometimes as sunny as its locations but as familiar and predictable as a Greek diner. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    A pleasant if unremarkable romantic comedy that plays out like a sitcom with great scenery. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    My Life in Ruins will neither ruin nor change nor significantly impact your life. show more

  • 50
    TV Guide

    A benign, mushy gruel that tries desperately to maintain the sticky sweet consistency of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" but ultimately ends up coasting on the "kefi" of that previous success. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The problem with the new movie is the same as with the previous one. Vardalos has this idea that she's a marm. And while it's true that she personifies her movies, I don't quite buy her librarian mode. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Words cannot express how weary I am of watching lifeless, hollow movies like My Life in Ruins - generic romantic comedies that have no clue when it comes to either "romance" or "comedy." show more

  • April 05, 2011 ba8alou
    Report This User

    sweet little movie

  • March 07, 2011 sherylbear48
    Report This User

    I just finished a delightful evening watching my life in ruins. a mind candy kind of movie, it was fun to see the evolution of the bored apathetic tour group turn into a more relaxed tongue in cheek kind of crowd. i didn't have to be embarrassed with nudity or foul language. It had a happy ending, more or less (I think Richard Dreyfuss dies), and the scenery whetted my own appetite to try the package tour trip. Thanks for a fun ride, I'll be back for more

  • January 12, 2011 Lkcgf
    Report This User

    I loved this movie! Even with the predictable cast of tour participants, I thought the dialogue was cleverly written, the scenery was really beautiful (I have been to all these places and I they were portrayed just as they are), the chemistry between the lovers was believable, and it had a wonderful "feel good" ending. I have seen it more than once, and have enjoyed it every time! Anyone who doesn't like this movie must be hyper-critical, have no sense of humor, and has never been on a bus tour in Europe!

  • August 02, 2009 BLUEEYESPT123
    Report This User

    What a stupid boring movie. I'm glad I only had to pay $1.00 to get in. There was really no plot. Ladies don't take your man to this movie. He will hate you and never let you make a decision on what to see.

  • June 29, 2009 Forlafz
    Report This User

    Hilarious fun movie. This is not Oscar material folks - just a fun, funny movie. Some things far-fetched and some good actors mixed with not so good but I am forgiving because if was the right length and funny!

  • June 23, 2009 SharRalsto
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. It was very uplifting and funny. Richard Dreyfuss is an excellent actor, and he would never do a bad movie. Nia Vardalos is adorable as the tour guide. I visited Greece in 1982 and it was wonderful to see all of those ancient ruins again.

  • June 18, 2009 laurcyn
    Report This User

    This was a really really bad movie and I really wanted it to be good...but it is just bad bad acting...it's just embarrassing....the only good part of the movie was the hot Greek guy and their was no chemistry between Nia and this guy whatsoever! Very cheesy not even worth the matinee price I paid! Please don't even rent it later....big mistake!

  • June 16, 2009 lily
    Report This User

    I cannot understand how anyone could not like this movie and to *********** badly??? I thought it was cute as can be. Nia looked great. The actors were funny, the jokes were not in poor taste. The ruins were amazing. This is the first film to be allowed to film in the Ruins. The movie was really good. We plan to see it agian. In a time of transformers, bombings, blowing things up, and killing lots of poeople it's a joy to have such a change out there available for family viewing.

  • June 15, 2009 ChrisN1218
    Report This User

    When I saw the previews, it looked like a decent enough flick....WRONG! Awful script and as another veiwer noted, uneven acting. One take that was correct however was its portrayal of the "Ugly American" ************* unfortunate because this film could have had nice potential. Save your $$ and wait till it hits DVD (which in this case should be soon enough...)

  • June 14, 2009 Frankiep111
    Report This User

    I wasted 2 hours of my life on this movie and now my life is in ruins.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X