Skip to main content

reviews

52
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Has a lighter spirit than its predecessor, but it arrives at the same warm and touching place. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The end result, while entertaining, is the kind of unruly mess you can't imagine the indomitable Nanny McPhee tolerating. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This children's entertainment-grownups beware!-is preoccupied by squishy stuff that includes mud and poop, as well as by syrup that oozes from cabinet drawers. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    At its best, Nanny McPhee Returns has the playful surrealism of "Babe," if "Babe" had been directed by Terry Gilliam. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This dour, hyperactive family film is joyless, overly busy and starchy. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    James Newton Howard's music picks up its comic cues perhaps a bit too swiftly and loudly, but little of this detracts from the movie's many pleasures. show more

  • 50
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    Nanny McPhee, the homely yet exemplary governess, is back. Why? Hard to say, but one thing is certain: Writer-star Emma Thompson didn't do it for the kids. show more

  • 75
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Ultimately, the performances carry the film. show more

  • 75
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Sweet, sentimental, silly and star-studded, Nanny McPhee Returns is one of the best children's movies of the year. show more

  • 75
    St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Weighty issues such as war and divorce are mentioned, but the serious themes pass quickly. The lighthearted story always takes precedent over the special effects, but a scene involving swimming piglets will have kids flashing a sea of smiles. show more

  • September 17, 2010 wprimrose
    Report This User

    An excellent, entertainting, uplifting movie for the whole family.

  • September 16, 2010 Suchhero121
    Report This User

    This Such a Great Movie 1 of 2010's Best Movies.

  • September 05, 2010 DoggyGoPotty
    Report This User

    Are you kidding me? What was with the warts?? I could barely stand looking at Ol' Nanny McPhee. My kids were frightened. I think I may have missed the point . . . BTW, is McPhee a terrorist???

  • September 02, 2010 Lisa Z Morgan
    Report This User

    This was one of the most purely enjoyable family movies I have seen in a long time. It reminded me of the best of the Disney movies of my childhood, like Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and The Love Bug. The silliness and slapstick were enough to make me laugh out loud, something I rarely do even when I find something funny. It could have been too much, but it never quite was, because of the superb comic performances of the entire cast. The children were as good as the adults when it came to acting and comic delivery, and it was a sheer delight. I laughed, I cried, I applauded, I bought into it entirely. My 11 year-old daughter and 15-year old son also had a great time. This is one I would see again just for the pleasure of sharing it, and I will certainly buy it when it comes out on DVD or Blu-ray. Emma Thompson is a genius.

  • September 02, 2010 Jonseyam
    Report This User

    I MUST SAY..IT WAS A GOOD MOVIE..SAW PEOPLE CRYING IN THE END.

  • August 31, 2010 agatstone
    Report This User

    I'm going to go see this because I READ THE USER REVIEWS. HALF OF THE PEOPLE WHO WROTE THEM COULDN'T BE BOTHERED TO CHECK 5 STARS IT NEEDS TO GET A GREAT RATING OVERALL, so how about let's start paying attention to that, folks!

  • August 28, 2010 Caralyn192
    Report This User

    Excellent!! As good if not better then the 1st movie!!

  • August 28, 2010 Vcorsale
    Report This User

    Great Movie!. Lite and Fun................Not just for kids. If you enjoyed the first you would really enjoy this one as well...............Emma Thompson was brillant............The Person you need is truly Nanny McPhee. Small c Big P.................. : )

  • August 25, 2010 hello judith
    Report This User

    EMMA tHOMPSON OUT DID HERSELF IN THIS MOVIE. iT IS BETTER THAN THE FIRST. hOPE THERE IS ANOTHER

  • August 24, 2010 Serkan Colak
    Report This User

    emma thompson did an amazing job again on this movie. I definitely recommend this movie to people from every age.

`

similar movies

  • Nanny McPhee (2005)

  • Mrs. Doubtfire (1993)

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

  • Home Alone (1990)

  • Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X