Skip to main content

reviews

49
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Rob Marshall's flawed but frequently dazzling Nine is a hot-blooded musical fantasia full of song, dance, raging emotion and simmering sexuality. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    John Lennon once said, "There's a great woman behind every idiot." This time, I'm counting seven of them. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    We'd all like to live in an Italian movie. So says a character in Nine, and it's probably the best line in this musical misfire. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The carnival is loud, brash, brassy, sexy and sometimes tacky or silly, but always entertaining. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A spectacle where A-list talent strives mightily to elevate a C-plus effort. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The magic simply isn't there. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The disappointments here are many, from a starry cast the film ill-uses to flat musical numbers that never fully integrate into the dramatic story. The only easy prediction is that Nine is not going to revive the slumbering musical-film genre. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Despite following its stage inspiration and bringing structure to Fellini's "8 1/2" (the ultimate source material), Nine still suffers at times from a lack of narrative drive and it doesn't have the surreal, dreamlike quality of "8 1/2" to fall back upon. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The movie is shot and edited like a two-hour trailer for itself. As such, it's not hard to take, but you do tend to wonder when the film itself is going to start. show more

  • 63
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    It seems perverse to say a musical is at its best when nobody is singing, but Nine is a perverse kind of musical. show more

  • May 08, 2011 wh00000000090504
    Report This User

    I loved the movie. The main character, Guido lives through his internal mirage of sensations and visions, he allows his inner experience to create a wall around him, shielding him from the pain and from the emotional experience of the people that surrounds him in the outer world. He can\'t resist surrendering to the creations of his mental and emotional inner experience, leaving everyone that loves him or needs him behind. The question here is, is he wrong or is he right? If he is so lucky as to have a rich soul that demands all of his consciousness, should we blame him for that ? isn\'t that the very thing that makes him so irresistible? should we just pity the unsuspecting women that fall under his spell unaware that he will never see them as they see them? He does appreciate their beauty and their souls, but his loyalty remains with the call of his own soul. A much more powerful and alluring mistress that tolerates no competition. The visuals are stunning and the music is great, I would love to see a classic myth brought about in this style by the director of Nine.

  • September 14, 2010 phpoling
    Report This User

    NINE, it's celebration of being woman that's for every women like us so celebrate ourselves!

  • August 21, 2010 airbanas211@hotmail.com
    Report This User

    You really have to pay attention on how the movie is interpreted by the songs the women sing, and then you're in. Kate Hudson, in partincular, did an extraordinary performance. Who knew? Especially, if you rent it, then you can see the actual recordings and see the extraordinary work and peerformances, and the meaning behind the songs. This is not just a movie for ******************* a story that's told really well through song and dance. I rented it and watched it over and over again. The more I watched it, the more I was enthralled. This isn't AVATAR (basically popular bacause of special effects). This is a really good story told really well through music. I think it's right up there with "Fiddler on the Roof."

  • July 04, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    The movie Nine is based on Frederico Fellini's life, as it is a remake of 8/12 (9 follows 8 1/2). This remake is a musical version and departs from 8 1/2 in many ways, but is essentially the same. I think it is better than 8 1/2. Fellini made one great film - La Strada. Most of his more celebrated films attracted and exploited viewer interest by using bizarre characters or situations, like rock stars who dress in strange ways (KISS). Cheap theatrics. I believe Nine is better than 8 1/2 was. Fellini was a passionate, self-centered film maker who experienced early success, married Giulietta Masina, who starred in his early films, and made her life miserable with his selfish pleasure pursuits and time spent away from her in film making. This inability to balance his priorities led to disorganization and a lack of focus in his life from which he never fully recovered in elevating his work. 8 1/2 tells this story, but Nine tells it better. Unless you like musicals this film is not for you, in spite of a great cast, excellent performances, songs, and dances, and highly skilled direction.

  • February 14, 2010 Leone4791
    Report This User

    This movie could have been better. I felt like I paid to watch a made for T.V. movie.

  • February 10, 2010 sdudek1490
    Report This User

    The people who wrote that this movie was great must be on crack. This movie is beyond awful. Now tell me, who thought that Judi Dench could do a song and dance number? Who thought Daniel Day Lewis could sing? The musical numbers, outside of Fergie's were less than memorable. I saw this on bootleg and still wanted my money back!

  • January 30, 2010 Grantr6707
    Report This User

    When watching the interview and endorsement by Oprah I thought this was another "Chicago" or Moulin Rouge", but this was by far the WORST show ever. I scrap enough money together to go to this movie and am totally let down. I feel ripped off by all the actors who basically sucked my money from me. Too bad it could not have been more upbeat throughout. I endured it until the end, but lost all that time from my life. Everyone I have talked to has hated this too. But, if all the actors/directors/etc got a nice ski trip out of the revenue from our tickets, then I'm glad I made someone happy. I'm rating a one-star, but it deserves a zero.

  • January 26, 2010 superstinkypants
    Report This User

    horrible, horrible, horrible. Ishtar, move over, there's a new load of crap in town! Ugh, I've not felt such hate for a movie. If you're a scorpio, consider hari kari first. Oh, and that horrible, inane music. Even with earplugs, just worthless. PG-13? Why, WTF? As if some 13yo is going to sit through this dreck. the lame flashes of fishnetted asses is nothing compared to what can be found simply googling that phrase. Sexy? Trashy is more like it. Nothing sexy about this movie. Oh, and go smoke everyone, its cool again. FuQue Marshall and Weinstein.

  • January 16, 2010 Karbobpat89
    Report This User

    It was not what I expected, but it was masterfully done, excetionally well acted and suprisingly gripping. I walked away from the movie deeply moved by the music.

  • January 15, 2010 DMPrete
    Report This User

    A do not miss movie. Sexy and mesmerizing. Just go and seat back and let it entertain you. I found myself totally engrossed in the music and the dancing. Story is basic 8 1/2 story.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X