Skip to main content

reviews

34
Based on 20 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's a gorefest, a borefest and a snorefest. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Just not feeling the holiday spirit? Maybe a brainless, extra-bloody B-movie will provide the boost you're looking for. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Ninja isn't a great movie, but if you're in the right frame of mind, it is a bloody good time. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Despite the pace, though -- pedal, have you met my friend metal? -- Ninja Assassin still has some of its best stuff left at the end, when the master returns to demonstrate his extra-special, super-most-deadliest technique. show more

  • 50
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    A convincing, reasonably co-ordinated action movie. Nothing special, but lovers of the genre will enjoy the workouts, especially if they bring night-vision glasses. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Numbingly gory when it isn’t just plain numbing. show more

  • 38
    Washington Post

    Ten minutes after you leave the movie, all the battles will have blended in your memory into a ceaseless muddle of sliced-off appendages, jets of blood splashing artfully on walls, gurgling screams and flashing swords. show more

  • 38
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    It’s like Bob Fosse night at the martial-arts studio. Most of the killing here is done with bladed throwing stars that, like the ninjas themselves, arrive from nowhere. They appear to have been used to edit the film as well. show more

  • 38
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    This amateurish action flick is so lacking in personality or punch, it ought to be titled "V for Video Store Discount Bin." show more

  • 25
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    You don't go into a movie called Ninja Assassin expecting a hell of a lot, but this shockingly disjointed and relentlessly dull picture can't even deliver the martial-arts kick its title so plainly promises. show more

  • May 04, 2013 zr00000000083554
    Report This User

    I love this movie! I always wanted to watch it. Even though this website kept on acting up with me, it was awsome

  • April 13, 2011 dd00000000088582
    Report This User

    awsome breast movie of the year

  • January 31, 2011 EVELYN
    Report This User

    I LOVED this movie. I didnt get to see it in the theaters but have now seen it on DVD & cable several times and I just can not get enough of it. Rain is HOT. I didnt think it was gory or too bloody. ALL of the fight scenes were awesome. Rain did all his own stunts and trained for 8 mos, 8 hrs a day to get his body as cut as it was and he learned how to use all the weapons in this movie. The only thing he used was a safety harness. I do agree that the story line could have been a little better but I liked the story line of when he was young. I would love to see Rain again in another Wachowski movie or in Ninja Assassin 2 - maybe going after all the other clans. I'm an action movie freak and I thought it was an exciting movie. Loved seeing Rain kick butt!!!! Oh and the girl was Calypso from the Pirate movies...

  • December 14, 2009 DCConsigner
    Report This User

    Loved the movie! A++++++++++

  • December 13, 2009 makie97
    Report This User

    Watched this movie last night with my wife, and couldn't keep from laughing. Terms like "Ninja Piercing Bullets" and "Emo Ninja" kept us rolling in our seats. The Onion (AV Club) had it right, there was almost no forward momentum in this film, and the middle fight scene just went on and on forever. At a point I stopped paying attention to the fight scene and started to wonder if it would ever end. Really if you're going to make a hero that can heal himself...you might as well go the bad-ass direction with it so you feel good about him winning. His lack of emotion and engagement with the rest of the cast really was lacking and did not give you any real connection to his character. All in all this movie is good for you to go see if you want to spend the entire time riffing it. I look forward to the Rifftrax for this flim more than the actual release on DVD or your 7-year old game device du jour.

  • December 11, 2009 Tiamot CPB
    Report This User

    May go see this tonight. However, I doubt it will be as good as the cult classic Chinese Super Ninjas.

  • December 07, 2009 migsat
    Report This User

    great movie.....great story...... too much blood....and main character was too impersonal...should have showed more emotion and leadership ...but i loved the entertainment aspect of the entire film from beginning to end...would recommend it

  • December 06, 2009 tsmma8919
    Report This User

    the krate in this movie was good.but it was so deitail and voiled.like when he cut something the blood shot out at. if you saw saving pratie rayn it was just like those deatil stuff

  • December 05, 2009 lckyby465dusty
    Report This User

    lets be honest this looks like one of the worst movies this year i give 1 star even know i havn't seen it

  • December 03, 2009 NC Reb
    Report This User

    Extreme cartoon-like violence, impossible, ridiculous physics, buckets of blood pouring out in every scene, massive CGI, and no observable storyline make this movie a dreadful waste of time and money as well as boring after 2 hours of meaningless gore. Actual martial arts films that use real martial artists, employ real physics, and showcase real martial arts skills though far less gory or fast paced and action packed, are REAL and thus much more interesting than yet another mindless and insane CGI slaughterfest.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X