Skip to main content

reviews

91
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 291 )
  • 100
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Feels positively Greek in its magnitude, a lament about fate, age, time and life. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The Coen brothers have fashioned a wry and riveting hybrid of a drama, Western, crime thriller and action film that is as powerful and thought-provoking as it is genre-bending. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    If watching movie violence is cathartic, then this film amounts to heavy therapy. It's much more than that, however. This is the best film the Coen brothers have done since their glory days of "Fargo" and "The Big Lebowski," maybe the best they've done, period. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    An eerily quiet, bracingly bloody, and expertly laid-out adaptation of the Cormac McCarthy novel. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    If the structure is a tad out of whack, "No Country" does not lack for action or suspense. Some of the scenes of Chigurh's stalking of Moss are nearly unbearably tense. Bring your worry beads. show more

  • 80
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    The Coens' typically superior filmmaking sustains the electrifying mood for most of the picture, but they are undone by being too faithful to the source novel by Cormac McCarthy. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Many of the scenes in No Country for Old Men are so flawlessly constructed that you want them to simply continue, and yet they create an emotional suction drawing you to the next scene. Another movie that made me feel that way was "Fargo." To make one such film is a miracle. Here is another. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    A model of pitch and modulation and craft. For two hours, the Coens hold you in their grip so tightly that for long stretches it feels a little hard to breathe. show more

  • 100
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The first movie I've seen in a very long while that deserves to be called a masterpiece. It's such a stunning achievement in storytelling. show more

  • March 15, 2014 Richard
    Report This User

    Movies this good come once a decade, keeps you guessing thru out

  • December 31, 2011 yo00000000109726
    Report This User

    Excellent movie. True to the book and well acted.

  • February 26, 2011 Melissa Barnett
    Report This User

    Javier Bardem was the most evil movie villan in recent memory. Scary because the character could be real.

  • February 26, 2011 elenaadima
    Report This User

    The movie starts with the best actors and this actors Starring:Tommy Lee Jones, Javier Bardem, Josh Brolin, Woody Harrelson, Kelly MacDonald keep the movie in attention movie was excellent because of its compelling story, and its overall idea, comment www.sexshop-romantic.ro online

  • July 18, 2010 tristanmovieman
    Report This User

    Another success from the Coen brothers! One of the best movies from the Coen bro's. This movie was excellent because of its compelling story, and its overall idea. The story of a man who stumbles apon a drug deal gone wrong. He takes the bag of cash, thinking about doing anything for his wife, but ends up suffering the consequences. I Wasn't a huge fan of the ending, ************ worked. Leaving the ending a mistery wasn't necessarly a problem, but still left some audiences upset.

  • December 30, 2009 .kowalski440mag
    Report This User

    I enjoyed the catch-me-if-you-can action between Brolin and Bardem. But the last 30 minutes insulted my (and your) intelligence. How in the world did the two bad guys find Brolin in a Mexican hospital? How did Harrelson just happen to stop at the right place on the border and look through the fence to spot the bag? Why didn't Brolin tell his wife and mother about the danger they were in? Why did an old woman (probably prejudice) tell some slick looking mexican thugs her plans? With a mass murderer on the loose where were the police, FBI and Texas Rangers? (no roadblocks). Why didn't local police provide protection for brolin's wife? And finally, with this movie copying 'The Getaway' I feel Brolin and his wife should have made it to Mexico with the money...or...lost it to the bounty hunter who later dies....but they live on. The Coen brothers simply got lazy and lost their attention to detail late.

  • December 01, 2009 KingSizedMatress
    Report This User

    bad ending? dont blame it on the cohen brothers they didn't write this book. you have the be either into harry potter or chronicles of narnia in order not to like this movie. sorry fellers and to all of you who say the cinematographer was horrible, you're BLIND. Do you even know what a cinematographer does without looking at wiki? yeah, BLIND. To make myself feel better... you are BLIND.

  • November 28, 2009 hmd83
    Report This User

    I HEARD that there will be a Part 2, for the Tommy Lee Jone's movie "no country for old men? It has been over teo (2) years and I have bot heard another word about the "Part 2", to this movie? Is it still going to be a "Part 2" to this great Tommy Lee Jones Movie, or has the idea of making a Part 2 been canceled? Thank you, Charles Rushi2@aol.com

  • June 27, 2009 firebee34
    Report This User

    wow. after reading some of the reviews on here...i was compelled to write one of my own. first of all, it seems like most of you are cookie cutter movie reviewers and most of you seem to be of less than average intelligence. while i agree that some parts of the movie could have been done better, including the ending, overall this was a brilliantly made movie. the acting was first rate and the characters were intriguing. javier bardem, as anton, is the creepiest villian to come along since hannibal lecter. josh brolin was quite good as well. tommy lee jones, i thought, was not as essential to this movie as the others. however he did add to the charm. i am truly baffled though, as to how this movie could be called a 'waste of time', 'trash',or 'stupid' by anyone who bothered to sit all the way through it. It was very well made with a fascinating script. i was enthralled from beginning to end. my advice is, if you like action movies, creepy characters and compelling dialogue, this is a must see movie. but if you like everything tied up in a neat little package, and you don't want to be saddened, outraged, or shocked. well, rent a will ferrell movie because you obviously don't have any taste.

  • May 04, 2009 grantnw
    Report This User

    Best Picture, huh? This movie is a perfect example of just how far off base the Hollywood elite continue to be. What a pile of manure. Don't waste your time. Spend some quality time doing something worthwhile. This was a waste of two hours.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X