Skip to main content

reviews

54
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 55 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Funny as hell. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Funnier than the silliest comedy because it's surprisingly real. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Where "Mall Cop" is broad, safe and sticks to a formula, Observe and Report is unabashedly crude, cynical, off-kilter and funnier. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    Bobs and weaves between gross-out comedy and violent psychosexual drama, ultimately sliding into parody. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    As funny as it is sick (and it's plenty of both). show more

  • 70
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    While it stops before sliding too far into the darkness,Observe and Report hits a lot of bull's-eyes by aiming for the gut, not easy belly laugh. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Barring a Terry Zwigoff return to "Bad Santa" territory, it's hard to imagine a filmmaker embracing this dubious hero to the extent writer-director Jody Hill does. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    You can't root for Ronnie. You can't identify with him. You can't hope he gets the girl – any girl. But you may want to look on with stunned fascination as he ticks away, ready to explode. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Admirable for venturing into very dark places rarely glimpsed in big-studio comedies. show more

  • 75
    TV Guide

    Some movies strive to give you that warm, fuzzy feeling, and some strive to make you bawl your eyes out, but Observe and Report strives to make you feel ambivalent, confused, and a little bit dirty, and whether or not you find that enjoyable, it's not something you likely feel very often. show more

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    did not like seth rogen in this movie, the humar was extremely dark and parts of this movie were almost depressing.

  • September 17, 2010 justinitalianmb
    Report This User

    Observe and Report is a love it or hate it comedy that i very much enjoyed, despite it's dark humor.

  • July 12, 2010 Tomjr93
    Report This User

    this movie was not funny at all. did not laugh once. seth rogen, you can do better than this

  • March 18, 2010 eaglenone
    Report This User

    freaking hilarious,,,, the comment about chic filet made me fall off the couch.... might be sophmoric humor but I am in my fifties and laughed my ass off

  • January 16, 2010 cutthroatxpariah
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was great. It definitely isn't for the overly analytical, or the kinds of uppity prudes that would rather see a small dog kicked in the ribs than hear them drop an f-bomb a few times. Keep in mind most of the people that sit around reviewing movies on the internet all day probably aren't going to be a trustworthy source on what normal people find hilarious. Full of blunt shock humor. If the naked fat man wasn't funny as all hell, then I don't know what is.

  • October 19, 2009 robertasdollhous
    Report This User

    NOT FUNNY - JUST ALFUL - DON'T EVEN RENT IT

  • October 03, 2009 keats50
    Report This User

    This is one of the worse movie I have ever seen. There was no need for all the F**k words. It's worth the time or money to rent it on DVD.

  • April 26, 2009 DeeDeeW3
    Report This User

    I thougth this movie lacked any creativity at all... the language had no point.. the plot was ..well.. what plot. and the people saying this is more like real life..well I am glad I don't live where ever you live! save your money unless you just like pointless vulgar movies

  • April 25, 2009 RAGIN62CAJUN
    Report This User

    The only good thing about this movie was Anna Farris and wasn't her best role. The movie does provide a few chuckles at times. Your best bet is to wait for it to come out on video & rent it via Redbox

  • April 22, 2009 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    1/2 Stars - this movie fails in so many ways- the plot is stupid, the language is gratutiously vulgar with no point whatsoever ( two characters engage in a 2 minute exchange of the"F" word- seemingly unending).Why anybody thinks Roggen has talent is beyond me. I had kids in my neighborhood whengrowing up who were much funnier.Hence the movies'biggest problem- it just isn't funny.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X