Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 31 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    If you're looking for wicked fun this Halloween, Paranormal Activity 2 is the best goosebump game in town. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Rarely is the second film in a horror franchise more frightening than the original, but Paranormal Activity 2 has more innocent victims and more scares than its predecessor. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Without giving anything away, much of the excruciatingly teased-out tension here echoes the first movie without upping the ante. show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Anyone who has seen the original knows exactly where things are heading, with the result that the proceedings seem far more manipulative than unnerving. show more

  • 20
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Paranormal Activity 2 sinks much lower than it needs to in order to get a rush out of us - and in the end, the rush isn't even that great. The movie puts us through the paces with minimal payoff. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Demons of mediocrity, be gone! Here we have a shrewd sequel a touch better than the original. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    And again things go bump and eventually yarrrragghhh in the night. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The clumsy and obvious byproduct of the financial success of its predecessor last Halloween, this movie has no reason for existing except to provide Paramount Pictures with a few extra shekels. show more

  • 50
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The principle suspense is wondering when the suspense is going to start, as you scan the darkly-lit screen looking for any hint of imminent horror. show more

  • 50
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    A confident, cocky and often comic promenade down the same primrose path. show more

  • November 30, 2011 ronald1216
    Report This User

    in an intresting movie ******* just that non fiction horror film like the shining and so on.

  • October 19, 2011 frankoliveny
    Report This User

    totally underrated, just the silentness creeps the **** out of you...excellent follow up.

  • February 19, 2011 Simarusan
    Report This User

    Even though I liked the fact that it was "raw" (no cgi and stuff) it bored me to tears. All the time I spent looking for things in the background, got disinterested then something happens. I love horror movies and have been watching them for a long time, I notice the subtle stuff... There was to little subtle stuff . The suspense was too long and it only had two high points the cupboards and the end ( I call it the revenge if Katie lol) other wise this movie was a bust. The first was probably better and I was hoping that they would learn from the first to make the second more interesting which the obviously did not. It was too dragged out, just people complaining and arguing.

  • February 11, 2011 Hayes, Purple
    Report This User

    complete garbage - i couldnt fast forward thru it fast enough

  • February 06, 2011 TrinityNycGurl
    Report This User

    One of the scariest movies I've ever seen. Very original. Can't wait to buy it on dvd along with the 1st one. And just like the first one makes it hard to go to sleep the night you watch it because your paying attention to every little creek and sound in your house. Even my husband was scared but he didn't want to admit it. We actually fought over which side of the bed to sleep on that night. I was like "if your not scared then why does it matter", lol.

  • February 01, 2011 meansplace50
    Report This User

    Those of you that indicate this was a good movie . Well you must have been paid to say ot. It totally sucked. It was made in someones back yard. It was literally shit.

  • November 09, 2010 dts41490
    Report This User

    is it good?

  • November 09, 2010 MargaretMmcGann
    Report This User

    Great flick. Super scary. Just as thrilling as the first film. Good luck sleeping after watching it!

  • November 07, 2010 timmerman3d63
    Report This User

    This was the worst movie I have ever seen. It was so slow with the script and then it seemed everything happened in the last few minutes of the movie. They could have just cut this one in half and not wasted my time.

  • November 07, 2010 EvilHalloween38
    Report This User

    I thought is was wild how it gose Quit and then something happens I jumped so many time and screamed a few times too Lol I Liked it very much I have not seen the frist one but I will wait for it to come on video and see it I would say it keeps you going though the hole movie and made me think about after the movie about what happen in it I would get it on Dvd for sure !!!

`

similar movies

  • Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones (2014)

  • Paranormal Activity (2007)

  • The Shining (1980)

  • The Others (2001)

  • Paranormal Activity 3 (2011)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X