Skip to main content

reviews

68
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 438 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    With a $15,000 budget too puny to empty a petty-cash drawer, the no-frills Paranormal Activity comes packed with thrills. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Succeeds in its modest goals of building tension slowly and generating a handful of legitimate scares. A few people in the audience were laughing during the first half of the film. No one was laughing during the long walk out of the theater. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    No-frills chills are what Paranormal Activity offers in unrelenting supply. show more

  • 75
    Philadelphia Inquirer

    An impressive, not entirely successful exercise in minimalist filmmaking. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A "Blair Witch"-y creepshow that owes a lot to Japanese horror. show more

  • 60
    The Hollywood Reporter

    "Paranormal" ultimately does deliver in a way that "Blair Witch" never did, but its achingly slow buildup is a test not just of an audience's patience but the power of hype surrounding the latest alternative scary movie. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    An ingenious little horror film, so well made it's truly scary. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Like legendary producer Val Lewton in the '40s, director Oren Peli, who shot "Paranormal" in seven days in his own home, understands that what's most frightening is what you don't see but merely suggested. show more

  • 63
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The movie's faults aside, this is the kind of show where half the fun is watching it in the company of a large group of people. show more

  • 50
    Boston Globe

    Even at 85 minutes, the movie contains maybe 50 minutes that scare. show more

  • October 31, 2011 pickgolf26
    Report This User

    I hate it when I get duped into watching the latest generation of cutting edge horror. This and insidious are two of the lamest excuses for horror I\'ve ever had the misfortune of watching. I only wish this rating system had allowed for zero.

  • October 19, 2011 frankoliveny
    Report This User

    BRILLITANT HORROR FILM!!

  • October 09, 2011 anthonypays
    Report This User

    I was a victem of a true hanted house and it\'s not funny at all. scary but true there are true evil entities and know how to hurt the livingas I\'m surprised they don\'t burn down a house while your in it. these movies are not a clever fake.

  • November 21, 2010 mirandaEidson
    Report This User

    it was okay i guess it wasn't really that scary at the beggining and when it did get scary it wasn't like SUPPER scary

  • October 23, 2010 ATumultuousBrat
    Report This User

    I can not believe they would allow such a movie been seen in theaters. This movie should have went to DVD, buy1 and we'll give you five free!!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • August 26, 2010 anthony13oneal97
    Report This User

    THE MOVIE SUCKS DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!!!!!!!SURE ITS BASED ON A TRUE STORY BUT NOTHING SCARY HAPPENES!!!!!!I ONLY JUMPED ONCE BECAUSE THE DOOR SLAMED AND I DIDNT SEE THAT COMMING!!!!!!!BIG FAT ZERO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • March 12, 2010 joemaspeth2008
    Report This User

    this movie like others say sucked really really bad iam selling it for 1.00 anyone want it lmao

  • March 12, 2010 Coatney Ent,Inc.
    Report This User

    I waited quite awhile to see this I didn't have anyone to go with, and I was busy. I watched it alone in my basement theatre while my wife and daughter were out of town. My daughter's boyfriend had told me that "it wasn't worth the sleepless nights". I thought the acting was good. Very realistic. Not so realistic to have the camera going every second, but it kept my interest throughout after a bit of a slow beginning. It didn't freak me out, but did get under my skin a bit. A few natural basement noises added to the effect. I will sleep ************** worth seeing. Having done some amateur theater, I marveled at what they accomplished on a low budget. Worth the rent.

  • February 22, 2010 Poolbear47
    Report This User

    shame shame shame to paramount and also all the critics that said this was a good, (5 star rating) movie. looks like the critics must be getting kickbacks from paramount. i cant imagine how anybody with a mind would give this movie any positive feedback at all. it was a complete waste of 86 mins. i kept waiting for it to get interesting or scary or anything even remotely entertaining, and then all of a sudden it just ended without any kind of a buildup or climax. i actually said out loud, WTF!!!! I went straight back to the video store and asked for my money back on this one, and i havent done that before. seems like there was a conspiracy to pawn a real dog off on the public as a movie. is there any rating lower than one star, because if i could I would give it a negative 5 stars. absolutely ********** your money or your time on this piece of crap trying to pass itself off as entertainment.

  • February 09, 2010 Jon L
    Report This User

    One of the worst "thriller" movies I have ever seen. It's right up there with 'The Happening'. Save your precious time and skip watching this movie.

`

similar movies

  • Paranormal Activity 3 (2011)

  • Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones (2014)

  • The Changeling (1980)

  • Paranormal Activity 4 (2012)

  • Ghost Story (1981)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X