Skip to main content

reviews

29
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 17 )
  • NA
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    No more than a minute into this, and it becomes obvious that the next 98 are going to be trouble. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    All cinematic creativity seems to have focused on devising the most repellent ways to maim and murder. show more

  • 50
    Robert Dominguez New York Daily News

    After the first 1,000 or so beheadings, impalements and severed limbs, Pathfinder's slash may just induce sleep. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Nicely balances action and adventure with American Indian wisdom and a modest romance to provide a graphic-comic-book movie experience for males in urban markets. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Urban and Bloodgood make the most of their parts, locking eyes and arms, and occasionally using American English as if the snowy 10th century were another way of saying, "Where the après ski?" show more

  • 50
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    A bizarre, bloody adventure movie. show more

  • 50
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's undone by a murky palette, silly horror-movie cliches, dumb dialogue and a confusing climactic sequence. show more

  • 50
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Pathfinder is aimed more at the action-figure crowd than the history buffs. show more

  • 25
    Miami Herald

    Too small to be a spectacle, too humorless to take seriously and too stupid to pass muster at a middle school writing workshop. show more

  • 25
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The movie takes us on a journey to an ugly, contentious period in our misty, ancient past - all the way back to four months ago, when "Apocalypto" came out. show more

  • September 15, 2012 gls1152
    Report This User

    this movie is absurd . no where close to reality and insulting to all .

  • November 23, 2008 BrandyFauntleroy
    Report This User

    I think this movie was great. I came across this movie one night desperatley searching Comcast's guide for a movie; I need to escape my husband's game. I started watching this with it being half thru it still had me glued to the seat. I gave it 5 stars. I have orderied the movie from Amazon.

  • May 22, 2008 cool6286board
    Report This User

    The Figths were realy good but the story was lacking would not suggest this movie to my friends or anyone else

  • May 22, 2008 marisola21
    Report This User

    I thought it was a great movie it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 followtheson85
    Report This User

    This was one of the worst movies I've seen in a while. The previews were rather deceiving.

  • May 22, 2008 Joe
    Report This User

    I read the reviews before I saw this flick. I strongly agree with the comment that the film is shot in the dark. I guess that is the effect the artist wanted. Hard for me to see what was going on in some cases.The plot was very good... and it kept my wife and I interested throughout the movie. Worthwhile seeing for sure.

  • May 22, 2008 justiceleaguesm
    Report This User

    The resounding thought I have regarding this film, is my curiosity to know who the target audience is. It's a movie about Viking barbarians and natives, with plenty of gore and retread hero-coming-of-age moments, yet I just couldn't get into it. It wasn't tangible. Seemingly based purely on fiction, there were no characters I could get inspired about from history books past. Maybe it was based on a novel, dunno, but not a novel that has ever come across my radar screen. WIth the prevalence of fantasy novels coming to life in the theater, this movie had no chance. The acting was fine, the fight scenes were par, the gore was unique and worthy of an A, yet I think I just wasted my time; couldn't connect or identify with the main character.

  • May 22, 2008 marshallshari
    Report This User

    The movie was terribly disjointed, and barely any story line. It was if children wrote the screenplay,...[he's running away, now he's fighting, now he's in a cave and they are surrounding him....] If anybody suggests this film, they are on the payroll to promote it.

  • May 22, 2008 l30bkid
    Report This User

    Movie was great adventure. It was short on words, but that made it great. Almost like you were on a long fun ride the whole time.

  • May 22, 2008 musicbyhkarl
    Report This User

    This reviewer named Stephen Hunter, from the Washington Post just doesn't get it folks! He gave the movie a 20 out of 100??!! Come on people....don't listen to him or the other critics on this one! Believe me...this is a very thoughtful movie with great cinematography, beautiful visuals and fine performances across the board. This critic put the film down for being low on dialogue....since when is that such a bad thing I might ask? Movies are a visual medium, first and foremost....so what if the dialogue is less! The dialogue there was worked fine, and the actors gave strong physical and facial acting across the board. I HIGHLY suggest this film....it is an A in my book.

`

similar movies

  • 300 (2007)

  • The 13th Warrior (1999)

  • Troy (2004)

  • Kingdom of Heaven (2005)

  • The Warlords (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X