Skip to main content

reviews

39
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 64 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    The action sequences are just as ridiculous as the romance parts, but at least James seems comfortable with the pratfalls and gross-out scenarios. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The last name Blart may be the funniest thing in the movie, so that's a hint as to just how bad this shopping-center saga can be. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The film is completely forgettable, frequently funny and weirdly satisfying in a Jersey Loser Gets Respect kind of way. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Perfectly inoffensive and almost entirely unfunny, Paul Blart: Mall Cop is more of a numbing experience than a painful one. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Great comics from Jerry Lewis to Peter Sellers have turned pathetic into comedic. But James never seems to able to get beyond pathetic. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It's as slam-bang preposterous as any R-rated comedy you can name. It's just that Paul Blart and the film's other characters don't feel the need to use the f-word as the building block of every sentence. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    It's fine for kids, though, and it doesn't try too hard. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Although Paul Blart is by no means great cinema, there is amusement to be uncovered as we watch Kevin James bumble his way through actions oh-so-similar to those navigated with more blood, sweat, profanity, and dead bodies than Willis. Too bad there's no "Yippekayay...." show more

  • 50
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Thanks to a tight script and brisk pacing from director Steve Carr (Daddy Day Care, Dr. Doolittle 2), there's little fat in Mall Cop, save the a yawn-inducing parade of fat-guy jokes. show more

  • 50
    Chris Kaltenbach Baltimore Sun

    The bad guys just seem like a bunch of X-Games rejects, and Blart's ingenuity proves way more effective than it has any right to be. show more

  • December 29, 2010 Weston
    Report This User

    ok

  • November 28, 2010 StATeLoVeScItY..
    Report This User

    kevin not that funny in this movie.he should just stick to king of queen.

  • August 31, 2010 WilliamSicklick
    Report This User

    this movie was funyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  • August 30, 2009 OneWayOnlyJesus
    Report This User

    Did I see the same movie? Corny but good? I like Kevin, but come one... this movie is really, really awful. Really awful. I mean, very, very awful. I don't think any of us laughed once. We put it on a level even lower than Epic Movie, which we also didn't like. So you know we do like to laugh, we liked movies like Zoolander, Scary movie, etc. This just wasn't funny. Period.

  • July 17, 2009 haleyhales97
    Report This User

    lmfao! this movie was funnyyyyyyyy!!!! oh shizz imma give it a 5!!!

  • May 05, 2009 phyllista
    Report This User

    We were pleasantly surprised! No message, no foul language just good clean fun! Recommend it. Family entertainment without being really super corny and stupid.

  • May 01, 2009 ShesSuchaRiot16
    Report This User

    Movies like this make me realize just how low the IQs are of people in this country. This movie was retarded. I wanted to walk out, but ************* in hopes it wouldnt let me down. I absolutly adore kevin and the production company who funded this movie, but this was just awful. I laughed maybe twice the whole time. All i got out of this was acceptence of disgusting fatness and how writers dont even have to write because seriously they know people who watch this are slow (and im not talking about individuals with an actual disability). I went to film school and when I took ethics courses we discussed how production companies make movies geared to dumb people, well sorry to offend anyone but this movie was defiently made for those people. I want my money back.

  • April 04, 2009 Jordananita5
    Report This User

    I saw this movie a couple days ago and I thought it was the funniest movie I've ever seen in my entire life.

  • March 27, 2009 Smileiamon
    Report This User

    this move was hilarious it cracks me up! everyone should see it

  • March 21, 2009 Bobonit21061
    Report This User

    Kevin always gives a good laugh - this movie was funny... a little cheesy but entertaining. There were suttle jokes that are just hiliarious.... you really have to have a sense of humor to catch those.... that's why the critics don't agree ;)

`

similar movies

  • The Spy Next Door (2010)

  • The Pink Panther (2006)

  • Fed Up (2014)

  • Million Dollar Arm (2014)

  • Belle (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X