Skip to main content

reviews

40
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 50
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    The film is better than it has any right to be, considering the prosaic source. show more

  • 38
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    By the end of the film's two-hour stream of Be-Here-Now-isms, anyone left in the audience will be wanting to yell, "Put a sock in it!" to old Soc. show more

  • 70
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Strong performances by Scott Mechlowicz as Millman and Nick Nolte as the mysterious mechanic who changes his life ground the film in effective drama. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Sometimes in an imperfect movie there is consolation simply in regarding the actors. show more

  • 63
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The result is something close to a textbook example of how NOT to visualize spiritual principles of the "be here now" variety. show more

  • 38
    Chicago Tribune

    The cast is quite good. But Peaceful Warrior, which is basically "The Karate Kid" with a bigger kid and a bigger mentor, represents a journey of predictability, rather than a destination worth the trouble. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The film's biggest miracle is the straight face Nick Nolte maintains in his role as Socrates. show more

  • 38
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The intriguing thing about The Peaceful Warrior is that nothing else in the movie feels haphazard. show more

  • 25
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    One of those blessedly rare films based on a self-help book, is remarkable in one sense: It prevents "The Lake House" and its magical mailbox from being the most ridiculous concept on screen this summer. show more

  • 25
    New York Post

    Tries to be "The Karate Kid" of gymnastics. It looks more like "The Karate Kid" as imagined by Details magazine. show more

  • May 22, 2008 Heidi
    Report This User

    This is a movie to be seen again and again. I don't understand the critics' views. Perhaps they are just not at a level to understand the philosophy of this movie. When I saw Peaceful Warrior the theatre was packed and the audience stood and clapped at the end. Many had tears in their eyes. How often does that happen at a movie? See it, and be your own critic!

  • May 22, 2008 spmusic4u
    Report This User

    This movie is another great example of why one cannot rely on critics reviews. I was completely inspired by this movie and will turn all of my friends on to it as well. I read the book years ago and was happy that it translated so well onto film.

  • May 22, 2008 msgrowle
    Report This User

    So was socrates real or what??? I got the "messages" in all the "bumper sticker" sayings...but I felt so unsure of what was real and WHO was socrates? Was he an old athlete?? how did the girl know him then??I never understood why the kid kept comming back...and why this man was always awake and doing buisness always in the middle of the night? I never felt like Socrates imparted anything more than confusion and uncertainty.Did he do the big flip at the end?? I just saw him twirling. Did he win a gold at some point?I saw the ending text...but I still felt totally confused.I don't like movies that take you in and out of dream sequences and never tie it up in the end. I walked away from this story never understanding what or who was actually real. I got the gist...the formula was fullfilled....but i would rather pay $4 to rent the karate kid again. That movie at least made me cheer.I wasn't inspired- just confused.I would not recommend to rent this movie, i would say to watch it on lifetime when it comes on TV there.

  • May 22, 2008 clarinettia1
    Report This User

    My initial reaction after seeing the preview for this was obviously that it would be great.After reading all these inspiring reviews I felt better.It wasn't until I actually saw this amazing movie that I realized it made everyone think so much that we could write sonnets or adventure stories even if we had no artistic talent.This movie gave it's audience emotion never felt before.It made us feel that we had something to give to this world and for that I thank all you who write these reviews.

  • May 22, 2008 mfr65
    Report This User

    I give a strong performances by Scott Mechlowicz and Nick Nolte who changes his life ground the film in effective drama. But the film is better than it has any right to be, considering the prosaic source.

  • May 22, 2008 platonio
    Report This User

    I'd read the Millman book years ago as a young man and the film far surpassed my low expectations. Nick Nolte was perfect and the young actor playing Dan was superb. The director focussed aptly on the reactions his journey had on others. This could have been a cheesy Brian's Song, Icecastles trip into maudlin sentimentality -- instead it was a refreshing insightful look at the choices we make and the passions we serve. Go see it before it goes away -- it's possibly the rave sleeper hit of 2006!

  • May 22, 2008 Rocio
    Report This User

    It is even more "real" than the book. I really enjoyed it. I'm always looking for inspirationl films. We can always learn something new or in a different way and we can tranfer the philosophy to our current situation. I'm glad they are making films that raise our consciousness to improve ourselves to listen to our "inner voice" to do what is productive in our lives and others.

  • May 22, 2008 wwhardy
    Report This User

    I felt ignited after seeing Peaceful Warrior. I'm a big fan of the classic book: Way of the Peaceful Warrior by Dan Millman. This film captures the book's life-changing force, while the movie is exciting, entertaining and full of suspense. I could relate to the main character who strives as a gymnast to balance his desire for world recognition with his inner calling for purpose and aliveness. He finds a great sense of power in himself - by choosing the more difficult path and with the help of a mentor. I think many will relate. It really is a magical story, a story that touches at the heart of who we are.

similar movies

  • Resurrecting the Champ (2007)

  • Rocky (1976)

  • The Legend of Bagger Vance (2000)

  • Rocky Balboa (2006)

  • 42 (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X