Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 11 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    A low-rent monster movie that could well have been released by American International in the early 1970s, Primeval boasts a level of cheesiness that should well merit it a regular rotation on late-night cable. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    One of the few monster-crocodile movies that simultaneously tries to rip off "Jaws" and "Meet the Press." show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Primeval is a hoot if you're in the mood, though, and it gets points for trying to stuff a little globo-think into the minds of Friday night mayhem fans (who will probably rebel, since only one skull pops like a grape). show more

  • 38
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Though a few scenes drum up some intensity -- that green ham Gustave makes one last great appearance -- it's mostly grim, dull and ugly, three qualities that nobody wants in a piece of multiplex filler about a surly reptile. show more

  • 25
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    By the end of the film, I was hoping everyone on two legs would die, preferably suffering as much on screen as I was in the audience. show more

  • 67
    Entertainment Weekly

    Pit a reptile the size of a school bus against an American TV-news crew in war-scarred Burundi, and you get "Hotel Rwanaconda," a horror movie interested in cheesy scares and drawing attention to the plight of poor Africans. (So no, Primeval is not the '"serial killer'" film promised by the ads.) show more

  • 50
    Dennis Harvey Variety

    It's not exactly good, but it's not bad, and far from boring. show more

  • 40
    Los Angeles Times

    Strangely self-serious, and without covering the prerequisites of top-shelf nastiness that contemporary horror requires, this giant crocodile movie turns out to be neither fish nor fowl. show more

  • 40
    A.O. Scott The New York Times

    The screenplay, by John Brancato and Michael Ferris, tosses out a few chewy bits of B-movie wit, most of them supplied by Mr. Jones, who expresses the ambivalence of an African-American visiting the motherland through a series of bitter jokes. show more

  • 30
    L.A. Weekly

    With a little camp, this could have been fun --see "Lake Placid" or "Anaconda." show more

  • May 22, 2008 jrhe2lings
    Report This User

    i go there once a week. the food is great and people there very nice and friendly. they have the best dumpling in the world. if you don't think so , then you gotta try it.

  • May 22, 2008 brigalnac
    Report This User

    I was so glad it only lasted an hour and a half! It was horrible!

  • May 22, 2008 nybaseball22
    Report This User

    The people of our society need to be careful about believing what we hear from television. The biggest problem with this movie is that America was so gullible as to believe that such a serial killer exists. Think about it for a couple of minutes. How come we have all heard of "Jack the Ripper" who claimed less than 20 victims, but not of this "Gustavus", claiming more than 300? Think a little bit harder. Yes, the trailer to this movie is misleading, but they never outright said that it was a human killer, only explained it in such a way that we might come to that understanding. This movie's "Twist" if you might call it that, was probably the worst since M. Night Shyamalan's- The Village, but any means of a large income for writers, directors, actors, etc. will always be taken in Hollywood. Always be suspicious. Think about all the swamp and water scenes of this movie from the preview. The goal of many infamous writers and producers is just to make money, taking any chance they are offered. They want quick revenue wheter or not America is satisfied and by harshly misleading citizens, their ticket revenues skyrocket. Investigate a little bit, you should never expect more from Hollywood.

  • May 22, 2008 antmd2000
    Report This User

    I did not go see this movie in theaters because of all the negative reviews. But when i bought it on DVD and watched it, I had fun watching the movie and it is a movie that would probably be better on the big screen but no matter what it is still a good watch. There is just enough blood to keep you hooked and there are a lot of creepy scenes and jumpy ones too. Go out and buy or rent Primeval. You will have a good time.

  • May 22, 2008 ominousbrad
    Report This User

    The only ads I've seen for this movie allude to a serial killer in a remote part of Africa. At no time is there any mention of a GIANT KILLER CROCODILE!!! If I wanted to see that, I would've rented "Lake Placid", "Alligator", or some other horribly acted, horribly written, and horribly directed horror flick about a frickin reptile!In fact, the only good thing about this movie was the occasional comic relief delivered by Orlando Jones, who, despite the movie taking place in Africa, still came off as being the "token black guy."And as if being a cheezy croc. flick wasn't bad enough, they felt the need to associate the reason for the croc.'s existance(its thirst for human blood) with the unspeakable atrocities that occur every day in many of Africa's war-torn nations. Being deceived into watching a bad movie is one thing. But pretending to have a deep underlying message about mass genocide and random senseless slaughter, well, that just makes me sick to my stomach.So please, don't watch this movie. If not for me, then for all the poor suffering people of Africa.

  • May 22, 2008 ambrosealisha
    Report This User

    There were to good things about this movie...1-the girl was hot and 2-the moment it was over.Save your money people.

  • May 22, 2008 ilovfuji
    Report This User

    I went into this theatre with a negative outlook. This is not my kind of movie, but I was very surprised. It was fast paced. It was exciting. Yes, it was predictable, but it was entertaining. That's what I pay for!

  • May 22, 2008 vjc372
    Report This User

    I am writing a letter to the head of Buena Vista Pictures, along with the receipt for my movie tickets for "Primeval," asking for my money back, on the following grounds:1) False advertising. This movie bills itself as a horror movie about "the prolific serial killer of all time." The problem is, THERE IS NO SERIAL KILLER IN THIS MOVIE. THIS MOVIE IS NOT ABOUT A SERIAL KILLER, NOR IS IT A HORROR MOVIE.2) This movie is supposed to make some sort of statement about a civil war that happened in Rwanda. The actual civil war, however, ended in 2005, so WHO CARES? IT'S OVER!!!3) The plot itself makes no logical sense whatsoever.4) The "monster" in this movie is a giant crocodile that comprises all but 4 minutes of the film. This movie is an absolute fraud that shouldn't go unpunished. I urge all of you to save your ticket stubs and mail to the following name and address, demanding your money back for the aforementioned reasons. Dennis RiceSenior Vice PresidentBuena Vista Pictures500 S. Buena Vista St.Burbank, CA 91521-9722 (Map)Phone: 818-560-1000Fax: 818-560-1930

  • May 22, 2008 libra91boy
    Report This User

    The laws against false advertising states that any advertisment that misrepresents the product and "injures" (not in a physical sense, as in a loss of cash) the consumer is illegal. Every advertisment states the the film is about a serial killer, and this is the main attraction of the movie. The definition of a serial killer is a PERSON who kills three or more people in a series of 'incidents' (so yes, ninjaeric1, the definition of serial killer is a human). So this is in fact a case of false advertisment and is illegal. Also, it is exacerbated by the fact that the correct information cannot be found anywhere, not in any ad, not on the movie website, not on any blurb. There was absolutely no way of knowing this wasn't true until they had paid for the product. So, who wants to sue?

  • May 22, 2008 love my muggs
    Report This User

    The serial killer is one who seeks out and murders strangers over a period of time in separate episodes. LIBRA91BOY!!!understand and know shhhh!!!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X