Skip to main content

reviews

48
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Most teen flicks just fake being fueled by anarchy. But the gut-bustingly funny Project X is the real deal. It's raunchy, reckless and ready to party. What's not to like? show more

  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    With most movies, the question for viewers is: Who should see it? With Project X, the most pressing issue is: Who shouldn't see it? show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A movie about a teen party gone horribly wrong, would be every parent's worst nightmare if it weren't so inane. show more

  • 20
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though the central blowout is as epic as advertised, so is the movie's self-congratulatory obnoxiousness. show more

  • 30
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Despite a couple of unconvincingly upbeat tacked-on moments at the end, Project X basically reads as nihilistic, as not believing in or standing for anything. Not even fun. show more

  • 20
    NPR

    Project X strives to appall, and it would be similarly self-deluded to pretend this jumble of ecstasy and crotch shots is anything other than repulsive. show more

  • 30
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    A party disaster movie targeted at kids who find the "Hangover" franchise too sophisticated. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Project X is an astounding, superlative movie about adolescence - a brutal, unapologetic comedy about the fantasy every high school kid carries around in his head about being popular and cool and beloved. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Project X's first-person verisimilitude is the movie's primary strength and most damning weakness. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The party itself is something to see. A Pasadena blowout turns into a horny, druggy, apocalyptic scene culminating in riot police, news choppers, and a gentleman with a flamethrower. show more

  • July 25, 2012 dawkins3620
    Report This User

    Brilliant!

  • June 26, 2012 ko00000000099103
    Report This User

    LMAO THIS MOVIE IS OFF THE CHAINZ

  • June 24, 2012 ko00000000124709
    Report This User

    I actually liked the movie.. You know what the movies about before you watch it, and Project X gives you just that to the tenth degree. It had a light plot, and camera work was done by one of the party attendants, but I liked that because it made you feel like you were a part of the party; it didn\'t make you think about what the director was putting in front of you or sway your opinions of certain characters. You get what you came to see, and they did a good job executing it without taking away from it with a deep story line or smaller elements. **** was cray, and that\'s what I paid to see.

  • March 24, 2012 Themoviemafia
    Report This User

    Wowww.. What am excellent movie. Awesome. This movie rocks.. Went I finished watching it, I really felt like parting like a rock star.

  • March 15, 2012 phpoling
    Report This User

    I really enjoyed the movie and they really should add the warning of do not do this at their homes since there are already too many copycats Project X partiies showing up all over America.

  • March 14, 2012 xz00000000098367
    Report This User

    Don\'t waste your time or money. That is 90 minutes of my life I will never get back - Feh! If I could give this ridiculous movie negative stars I would. What makes the studios think that putting this kind of crap on screen makes us a civilized society?

  • March 11, 2012 msestherd
    Report This User

    I don\'t usually leave reviews for movies I haven\'t seen but I got ahold of the spoiler and all I can say is that on a base level this movie\'s a piece of garbage. Take away the \"comedy\" and all the plot has left is a list of how to debase every moral standard imaginable. Parents beware.

  • March 09, 2012 Veronica
    Report This User

    Wasn\'t as good as i expected it to be.

  • March 05, 2012 suckaa4loveee
    Report This User

    best movie ever

  • March 04, 2012 kylebxx
    Report This User

    I\'m usually not a huge fan of party movies, but Project X was a huge surprise for me. Project X had it all. Comedy that kept me laughing through the whole movie, Suspense that kept me guessing what could be crazier than what i just saw, and of course it was topped by something even crazier. If you\'re looking for a crazy ass, epic movie, Project X is it.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X