Skip to main content

reviews

30
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Assuming you can appreciate the high level of gore and assorted sadistic weirdness, the action is satisfying. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The dialogue is beyond clichéd, and performances feel cobbled together from other movies. show more

  • 38
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    The acting is better than the script deserves and Lexi Alexander's cut-to-the-hearse direction lends the film considerable kick. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    No worse than the second. Still, it pales in comparison to the first, which starred Dolph Lundgren. And that, right there, should tell you everything you need to know. show more

  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    So unrelentingly violent that all but teen boys might as well stay home. show more

  • 75
    TV Guide

    Rarely have moviegoers seen such a two-fisted wrecking ball of vengeance such as the one realized here by Ray Stevenson. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It looks great, it hurtles through its paces and is well-acted. The soundtrack is like elevator music if the elevator were in a death plunge. The special effects are state of the art. Its only flaw is that it's disgusting. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The film works a bit better than the 2004 "Punisher" installment, the one starring surly, dislikable Thomas Jane as Frank Castle. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    This is essentially a Steven Seagal movie without the Ponytailed One, and may appeal to those who enjoyed Seagal's rather bland, cookie-cutter action films. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    If most December movie releases are epic-length and Oscar-ambitious, then Punisher: War Zone has to be considered Hobbesian counterprogramming: It's nasty, brutish, and short. show more

  • March 21, 2009 robbie61987
    Report This User

    This movie was crap. It was badly directed and acted. No wonder it lasted barely a week at theaters, Lionsgate is a joke, Lexi Alexander is a joke.

  • December 20, 2008 vncmorales
    Report This User

    This movie rocked. This is how the first Punisher should've been. It just sucks they decided to release it so close to Christmas. Another blow to the box office take for the Punisher was the bad taste everyone had for the first Punisher movie. People assumed this was going to be like the first one (their loss). Thanks for the great fun Lexi.

  • December 15, 2008 rickat1964
    Report This User

    This Punisher movie was a hell of alot better than that Thomas Jane piece of crap! Ray Stevenson has the Punisher nailed to a tee! The action, the characters and the story were all vastly superior to the other punisher movie! It was almost exactly like the Punisher Max graghic novels! Kudos!!

  • December 14, 2008 Beau Dawkins
    Report This User

    worst punisher movie of the 3 made. now i see why tom jane didnt want to do it. punisher is my favorite comic of all time and they managed to completle screw up this movie. they started with the title. war zone is a vietnam version of punisher takes place in the jungle. secondly the movie just sucked. lots of action but they managed to mess up the action. the one with tom jane was the best of the three and the original with dolph lundren or how ever you spell t was a distant second. the director, writer and producer all need to be shot for this piece of crap they made. i cant even rate this movie with a star. i give it 5 dog turds

  • December 14, 2008 cowboy021888
    Report This User

    The movie was exactly what the punisher should be, dark, and violent. The movie was great. I was worried that there wouldn't be much of a plot but there actually was. The action was amazing fist through face and mid air grenade launcher shot wow. Great movie it did marvel comics proud.

  • December 07, 2008 MistieCook
    Report This User

    I was reluctant to go see this move but my partner wanted to see. My instincts were right! Not a very good movie and not a very bad movie either. The plot was nonexistent so you like movies with plots this isn't the one for you. On the otherhand if you love pure violence on top of violence then this is your movie. My goodness I'm a movie fanatic and like all types but this is the most violent movie I have ever seen in ages. Can't event think of one that comes close to be this violent. Just killing for no reason. Unncessary killing by a self-made vigilante. Not a kid movie at all and almost to much for the average adult.

  • December 07, 2008 DET DICK TRACY
    Report This User

    COOL MOVIE WHO NEEDS MUCH OF A PLOT, THE PUNISHER IS ALL ABOUT ACTION ,GORE AND A HIGH BODY COUNT. tHE 2004 VERSION OF THE PUNISHER WAS OK BUT THE (PRETTY BOY) WATERED DOWN THOMAS JANE VERSION WAS NOT AS ENTERTAINING AS THE NEW WAR ZONE MOVIE..THIS IS A MANS MAN MOVIE....IF YOU DONT LIKE IT GO TO BLOCKBUSTERS AND RENT BAMBI....LIKE MOST FLICKS IF THE CRITICS HATE IT I USUALLY LIKE IT ....THE PUNISHER WARZONE ROCKS!!!!!

  • December 06, 2008 Bruceleroyy7
    Report This User

    they should change the movie from the punisher to the punishmet because i would have had my *** wooped by parents then watchin this horrible movie again.

  • December 06, 2008 Mudokin13
    Report This User

    This movie was exactly like the comic books, and how the punisher should be viewed via film. Sure a lot of the acting was over the top with the thickest New York accents you'll ever hear. But Ray Stevenson is the PERFECT punisher, and i say that without hesitation. (although Thomas Jane did a great job for what the movie was going for.) This is just all out action with great special effects and awesome gore effects (*a lot i might add*) If your looking for an awesome action flick, then this is definitely the one. Don't listen to the haters!

  • December 06, 2008 Ralph Garcia
    Report This User

    No wonder Thomas Jane turned this script down. It adds very little depth to the character and the plot and the dialogue was awful. It was like watching a kid playing a video game with the rest of the movie patched through. The computer special effects graphics didn't look real enough. The Jane version of the Punisher would have been smart enough to take out some of the mob with planted Claymore mines and make the odds more realistic in his favor. Missing is the Punisher's stealth ability to break into a place using a crossbow to take out security in order to enter a place the bad guys are in. Instead, it's the unrealistic Punisher easily shooting to pieces the mob(in which they freeze while he moves at supersonic blur on top of a table) and defying gravity(spinning and hanging upside down on a chandelier which would have made any human dizzy) against very dismal odds. Even a video game expert would have been outgunned. In Jane's version of the Punisher you also saw what he went through inside his mind and through his eyes. It's an old Alfred Hitchcock formula that makes us care about the character. Also Jane's facial expressions were very descriptive where Ray Stevenson's lack of emotion was very boring in the manner of Dolf Lundgren and Brian Bosworth. It may have worked for Stallone and Scwarzennegar but at least they had decent dialogues to work with. This movie will probably be a cash cow and make Marvel some money. Skip the DVD as this is a caliber type movie you only want to see once and never again. However I hope they give it another shot in the next movie by bringing back Thomas Jane and director Jonathan Hensleigh. I can't even give this one star. To those of you who've never seen the Punisher, skip this one and rent or buy the 2004 version starring Jane and John Travolta. You'll thank me later. Note how much better the acting is in that one. Jane was critically acclaimed for his great acting in Stephen King's "the Mist" and the Billy Crystal directed baseball movie 61*. In it he played Mickey Mantle to a perfection. Meanwhile, you'll get to see Jane's Punisher type fighting skills in the upcoming Mutant Chronicles movie. Now I have to ask here, "Marvel what were you thinking?"

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X