Skip to main content

reviews

46
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 153 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    You leave Red Tails thinking of what might have been instead of what is – a missed opportunity. show more

  • 25
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    What's missing is any hint of realism. There's no grit to it anywhere. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    David Oyelowo stands out as the daredevil Joe "Lightning" Little, the unit's best flier. With his bravery and bravado, he's the film's most complex character. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    One could argue that the target audience - black teenagers, Mr. Lucas has said - might be most receptive to a film that conveys history through contemporary entertainment. But this isn't contemporary entertainment, it's antiquated kitsch reprocessed by the producer's nostalgia for the movies of his boyhood. The story has been stripped of historical context - don't black teenagers and everyone else deserve hard facts? - and internal logic. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    There isn't a real, flesh-and-blood figure in the bunch. Everything about Red Tails - the breaking down of racial barriers, the military achievements, the courage and sacrifice - is diminished in the process. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    George Lucas produced this candy-coated, fictionalized drama, and while its cast is first-rate and its flying sequences sharp, the movie is as glazed and wide-eyed as a 70-year-old comic book. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Every character here is so squeaky-clean, and the prejudice as depicted is so toothless and easily overcome, that the film feels like a gingerly fantasy version of what, in real life, was an exceptional example of resilient trail-blazing. show more

  • 60
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    In the end Red Tails is mostly about the coolness of flying. Its heart is in the clouds, instead of with the men at the controls. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    A well-acted, well-directed (by TV veteran Anthony Hemingway) popcorn movie with great aerial battles and solid dramatic scenes that hold your attention for two good hours. show more

  • 75
    Kevin C. Johnson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Overreaching fits of melodrama, occasionally stilted dialogue, and performances by Gooding Jr. and Howard that are mostly a series of serious faces can't keep the shiny Red Tails from taking flight. show more

  • May 30, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Patronizing. Since the writing was so bad I can\'t comment on the acting other than to say Sir Lawerence Olivier couldn\'t have convincingly delivered those lines.

  • May 29, 2012 socalgal920
    Report This User

    Well done will watch more then once

  • April 03, 2012 purpleshorts
    Report This User

    best movie ever

  • March 01, 2012 caburrell
    Report This User

    I have seen the movie three times. Each time I see things I missed before, I think it is a good movie and I have suggested it to several firiends.

  • February 27, 2012 redouard7
    Report This User

    The movie was an accurate portrayal of an often talked about period of American history history, in which African Americans served proudly despite hatred in one of the world wars & got a chance to eliminate the free world\'s enemy the Nazi./Faschism.

  • February 24, 2012 plband4
    Report This User

    I thought RED TAILS was a great movie. I also think it was very close to the storys I was told. I give this Movie 5 Stars. Thank you for sharing this wonderful story.

  • February 18, 2012 rsb418
    Report This User

    Save your money and rent \"Tuskeegee Airmen\". It was a better, fuller storyline with sensible dialogue. The photography here is better, ********* the big screen not TV.

  • February 16, 2012 harperinvest
    Report This User

    If this movie had a screenplay and maybe Denzil Washington as one of the lead actors it might have a chance of another star from me. I didn\'t believe the characters and doubt that a group of blacks ever spoke those lines in 1944 or 2012. Cuba Gooding Jr. proved again that his Oscar was not deserved as he has done nothing since he yelled show me the money several years back. He certainly didn\'t show me the talent as he chewed on a pipe in this movie. I loved the fighter scenes, and it was the real reason I went to see the movie. The German pilot that would say \"show no mercy\" made the poorly written lines for the black actors seem like real dialogue. This movie had the posibility of being great since we can now make the bombers and P51\'s look so real and the dog fighting so exciting. After all the years that George Lucas held on to this film it appears there was time to put together a team of writers who might have hung out with some of the old African American pilots and learned how they talked and acted. It just seemed to me that a herd of white writers holed up in Burbank studio and made up the story line. Big opportunity lost here.

  • February 12, 2012 Attorney Mahmoud
    Report This User

    The movie was action packed from the very beginning, but since I had read a great deal about the Tuskegee Airmen before the movie I was ahead of many (including a couple of my non-African American clients) who knew nothing about it. The story was compelling and the poignant issues of racial discrimination that the men had to suffer through and still fight for the country that would not fight for them, opened the eyes of my clients and many others who understood the horror of these men having to fight for freedom overseas while they did not have it at home. The action sequences were fantastic and the way the story was told it made the viewer want to know more details about these men, where they came from, the schools from which they graduated and what loved ones they left behind to fight for America the racist (not the beautiful). This film shows that America was forced to live up to the flowery words of the declaration of independence. Racists would not have allowed it. The film shows that the African American men in this movie were the ones of started the modern day civil rights struggle of the 50, 60s and 70s. The racists will trash the movie because they realize that movies like this expose them thoroughly and there is no place to hide. There is only the concentrated attempt to keep the story from being told. This movie shows in a glorious, unselfish and courageous way, for the first time, that the real heroes of WWII were the black men who were fighting for a country that still treated them as second class citizens.

  • February 12, 2012 nm00000000111997
    Report This User

    This is now on my list of the top 20 WORST movies I\'ve ever been tortured with in my life, possibly even the top 10. Holy crap, what a mess!!!! The script was cut up into a hundred schizophrenic pieces, the characters weren\'t even in the fetal stages of development into real human beings--not even Cuba Gooding Jr. or Terence Howard could pull their characters out of the fiery deaths of a just a really, really bad movie. OMG. I want to hit someone I\'m so irritated. If you want to see a movie that actually does a little bit of justice to what the men of the Tuskegee Air Group went through during WWII, rent The Tuskegee Airmen. Don\'t even waste your time on this crap.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X