Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 14 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 60
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Shot in actual 3D rather than being the latest example of the horrible post-shooting conversion process, "Afterlife" undeniably looks terrific. show more

  • 35
    Movieline

    Sorry to disappoint the fanboys, but this is the first film in the Resident Evil series in which Milla Jovovich neither begins nor ends the movie stark naked. show more

  • 25
    Boston Globe

    So nonchalant is Resident Evil: Afterlife, the fourth movie in Paul W.S. Anderson's dystopian franchise, that its overarching premise isn't explained. show more

  • 25
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    It's a humorless movie of morphing zombies (they take on beastly attributes), phoned-in performances and trite dialogue. show more

  • 60
    Keith Uhlich Time Out New York

    Anderson makes often-inspiring use of the 3-D effects. show more

  • 40
    Kim Newman Empire

    What fun there is to be had is undermined by drab 3D, hacked-out dialogue and rehashed plots. show more

  • 40
    Boxoffice Magazine

    Jovovich is on cruise control here and she fails to bring any kind of new life to a character that has been very good to her. show more

  • 30
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    It pains me to say it, but Afterlife, the latest installment in this seemingly eternal zombie apocalypse franchise, is considerably more entertaining than George A. Romero's most recent exhumation. show more

  • 25
    Entertainment Weekly

    Afterlife is slow-moving but relentless, and judging from a post-credits teaser that promises yet another sequel, it has an unquenchable appetite for your brain cells. show more

  • 60
    Michael Ordona Los Angeles Times

    If you're interested in this movie, it's because you love either seeing zombies explode (check), the video games (major character included, check) or Jovovich kicking undead butt in every conceivable way (check and mate). show more

  • May 02, 2011 mekmek26
    Report This User

    i did't like it but it waset better then suckerpuch

  • March 23, 2011 Alphaandomegafan
    Report This User

    Well, Personally I enjoy the Resident Evil movies, But the games were much better. I hav,'t seen afterlife yet, but I do happen to own the other three.

  • January 25, 2011 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    They need to stop with the Resident Evil movies. It wasn't horrible ************* just very mediocre.

  • January 04, 2011 tool8035
    Report This User

    If your just an average civilian with no interest in creativeness or talent, this movie would entertain you...But if you have an eye for talent, ingenuity, and overall quality, you will acknowledge how horrible these Resident Evil sequels are. I have yet to experience a film that compares with the remake of Dawn of the Dead.

  • December 28, 2010 Julie
    Report This User

    I wouldn't say this is one of the best Resident Evil movies, but it wasn't horrible. The action was good and it was enjoyable to watch, however, the ending was horrible in my mind. It was meant to be a cliff hanger, but in my mind it was just boring. Also, it might just be me, but I felt that the storyline was rushed, like it could have easily been 2 movies. Otherwise, it was a pretty good movie.

  • November 02, 2010 MackyScooby
    Report This User

    i loved the movie

  • September 29, 2010 XYZ226
    Report This User

    Overall I liked the movie, although it does drag at certain parts. The action sequences are great and the 3D is awesome! The are certain scenes (not just the action ones) that really feel like the video games, but this is where the movie loses focus. The best part of the video game franchisse is the creepy feel throughout each game. The movie doesn't quite capture this creepy feeling very well, only in some scenes. There is more attention to detail with including elements of the games, and some of the action sequences seem like they are taken directly from the games. But the disappointing aspect of the plot is that the movie is more about Alice's revenge on Umbrella than it is about the development of the T-Virus as a bioweapon. In short, if you are a fan of the franchise (either video game or movie) and you enjoy 3D movies, go see it in theaters. If not, wait for it to come out on video.

  • September 19, 2010 BankHeadSweetie1
    Report This User

    I went to go see it and it saw amazing action and the affects incredible I love the movie in 3 D make it more in intents in was worth the money you spend on the 3D movies . I''m think about see it again its exciting movie and everyone should it!

  • September 24, 2010 miltonnazario
    Report This User

    Yes Resident Evil fans you will go see it but this movie is a big let down just like the other sequels the first one was the best. I have written a couple of reviews and they disappear I guess you cant have anything bad to say. Love the actors it just those directors and producers

  • September 15, 2010 taneahmercedes
    Report This User

    havvnt seen it yet

`

similar movies

  • Resident Evil: Retribution (2012)

  • Resident Evil: Extinction (2007)

  • Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004)

  • Resident Evil (2002)

  • 28 Days Later (2002)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X