Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Sometimes a shamelessly stoopid, proudly profane R-rated comedy is all you want out of life. Role Models more than fills the bill. It's killer funny. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    A funny and twisted movie from beginning to end, closing with an emotional payoff. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Misfits and misanthropes are the heroes of Role Models, a surprisingly clever comedy. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Furiously raunchy, occasionally bright and eventually benumbing comedy. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's pretty formulaic stuff, and earns its R rating with profanity and unapologetically gratuitous female nudity, but somehow has a winning knuckleheaded charm. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Where on the evolutionary scale of wacky-dudes-learn-to-grow-up movies does Role Models fall? Certainly less evolved than "Meatballs," but head and hairy knuckles above "Daddy Day Care" or "The Benchwarmers." show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Rudd and Scott hail from different universes of movie comedy, but manage together here just fine, particularly since each takes a different path. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The kind of comedy where funny people say funny things in funny situations, not the kind of comedy that whacks you with manic shocks to force an audible Pavlovian response. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The casting is the key to the success of this absolutely hilarious crowd-pleaser. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Role Models isn't a classic like "Superbad" or as hilarious as this summer's "Step Brothers," but it's excellent fun for males in the mental age bracket of 14 to 22, which is most males. show more

  • September 15, 2009 Brendude13
    Report This User

    this movie was pretty hilarious and very foul mouthed and vulgar. be cautious when going to see it.

  • April 13, 2009 Onenba55
    Report This User

    THIS WAS A funny MOvie BUT WEry inAPORPreIT

  • April 08, 2009 cmacc311
    Report This User

    I wanted to Like this movie because I am a fan of Paul Rudd and Sean William Scott, but this movie sucked bad.... I didnt laugh not once, the little black kids acting was so bad... and "Mclovin" was horrible in it and they spent way to much time in his world of mid-evil times...... lame, cheesey and trying way too hard to be offensive with the shock value but falling way flat.......2 thumbs down and the middle finger.

  • March 19, 2009 TMVance128
    Report This User

    I am so glad I waited for this to come out on video to rent instead of paying to see it in a theatre! Its so BAD! I don't care how much money they paid that little boy to do all the foul mouthed talking that he had to say in this role it was offensive!! That should not have been allowed form that kids parents for whatever money they got.. It was just awful! I fianlly ejected the movie could not stand to hear any more bad language or the sexual innuendos thay had that child do on this movie. For those that thought it was funny your sick!

  • March 13, 2009 Anjrea
    Report This User

    david wain rules!!!

  • January 04, 2009 jesus on crackk
    Report This User

    this movie was great..i couldnt stop laughing thrughout most of it. As for the language and what not, who cares? So someone says a few f-bombs..look at our society today and tell me thats not worse then hearing a kid say f you..but anyways this is a great movie..would recomend anyone to see it..its worth the money

  • January 03, 2009 JenniferL212121
    Report This User

    A few parts were funny but the whole movie was kind of "unrealistic". How many kids do you know that talk like this kid and how many adults would let him get away with the crap he got away with?? None that I know! The language and humor was vulgar. By the end, I was pretty sick of hearing curse words every 3 seconds.

  • January 02, 2009 memrx99
    Report This User

    favorite movie!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • December 29, 2008 PurpleMovies27
    Report This User

    haha, what a hilarious movie. Almost the whole movie I was just cracking up and I really enjoyed this one for sure! I give four stars because of all the comedy and a really great put together movie!

  • December 28, 2008 CrossFireLdGuitr
    Report This User

    Amazingly funny, i thought it was going to be a stupid funny, like dude where's my car, but it was very hallarious. worth the money.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X