Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 22 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    It's more of a burst pinata than a story, a wild, kinetic jumble of images, ideas and flying-candy-bar product placement that would offend if it weren't so forthright. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Fast-paced, imaginative and often cute, Shorts is slight but enjoyable family fare. show more

  • 63
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    Like "Jumanji," Shorts runs out of momentum before it's half over. That leaves it treading slapstick and killing time until its strained and preposterous big finish. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Provides just enough smart, silly fun for families desperately seeking an easy (and air-conditioned) escape from hazy August humidity. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Adult actors pretty much let the youngsters upstage them. The two leads, Bennett and Vanier, do a nice job holding the center of gravity while the film goes nuts around them. Best of all, Shorts is short, finishing before you can truly get tired of all those wishes gone wrong. show more

  • 60
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    A preachy parable of suburban discontent, Shorts probably has enough kid-oriented slapstick to please the under-12 set. But it's not likely to rival writer-director Robert Rodriguez's "Spy Kids" series in long-term appeal. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Fast and funny, and grown-ups will not suffer sitting through it. show more

  • 75
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Rodriguez, is a hack in the best sense of the term, often serving as producer, director, writer, shooter and composer – all of which come into play for Shorts . show more

  • 63
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    A satisfying dose of wild imagination and unbridled silliness. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Be warned, though: This is the multiplex equivalent of ADD. show more

  • May 07, 2010 Chrisnaz1969
    Report This User

    it is asome !

  • September 19, 2009 Hiphopgaljuju
    Report This User

    Omg what a terrible movie i would rather see 5 hour boring silent movie 20x100000000000000000000000.terrible never see it.... like seroiusly if u go c this movie u will regret it forevr!!!! They are the worst actors in the history of horrible actorrs!!! no joke!!!

  • September 09, 2009 Rafael Singer
    Report This User

    shorts was so funny because warner bros pictures media rights capital imagenation abu dhabi and troublemaker studios should amke a sequel called "Shorts 2: Comeback Of The Wishing Rock:

  • September 04, 2009 SOLARLIVIN
    Report This User

    They called this movie Shorts because it is sooo SHORT, the plot only begins to interest you when its over. I could hear kids around us saying, is it over, was that it. Too hard for little kids to follow. Go if it is cheap but save your real bugdet for something better, maybe G Force.

  • August 24, 2009 bee879
    Report This User

    went to the drive in to see the movie it was a waste of our time. Someone directed that movie badly. Dont waste your movie at least it was only 3.50 at the drive in.grandkids could not wait to see the next movie aliens in the attic that was far better that shorts

  • August 23, 2009 luvmovies552
    Report This User

    Horrible movie. I wish I would have read these reviews before I threw $50 bucks down the toliet (which is how I felt after this flick). I really could say it was almost the worst movie I have every seen. Certainly the worst family movie. Not even worth a star.

  • August 23, 2009 Winter Family
    Report This User

    Why is this movie given a 4 star user rating?

  • August 22, 2009 jffrywad
    Report This User

    terrible... with kids i see alot of "kids" movies and I generally like them. This was so bad even my 3 year old wanted to go home. The 7 year old liked it but even she didnt talk about it too much after. The format and the way it was edited made it very hard to watch. Skip it till it comes out on DVD in like a week.

  • August 22, 2009 aewrealtor
    Report This User

    I took my four grandchildren yesterday ... what a waste of money ... the only one that even REMOTELY enjoyed it was the 7 year old (other ages 9,10 and 12) ... and she only gave it a "3". The others' votes were in the "minus" category ...

  • August 21, 2009 WhitePearl925464
    Report This User

    IT WAS A HORRIBLE MOVIE RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING!WAY TOO SLOW MOVING UNTIL ALMOST MIDWAY THRU. THE CASTING WAS AWFUL WITH THE EXCEPTION OF WILLIAM H. MACY AND JAMES SPADER. THE GIRL BULLY, PLAYED BY JOLIE VANIER,SHOULD HAVE BEEN A MISCARRIAGE. THE CHARACTER AND THE ATTITUDE STUNK.SO DID MOST OF THE PLOT AND ACTING. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE CRITICS GAVE IT THREE STARS.I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!

similar movies

  • Bedtime Stories (2008)

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

  • Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004)

  • Enchanted (2007)

  • Aliens in the Attic (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X