Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 12 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 33 )
  • 38
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Fans of J-horror (for Japan, where the genre was born; its conventions have since spread to South Korea and Thailand) will find Shutter familiar; others may just doze. show more

  • 40
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Genuine scares are few and far between, and the climactic explanation for the ghost's appearances comes as something less than a revelation. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Surprisingly effective supernatural tale in which there's more to fear from the living than the dead. show more

  • 63
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Shutter has the look and feel of a proper J-horror film. Tokyo is seen as a series of gloomy gun metal skies. And the acting is more subdued than in Hollywood horror movies. show more

  • 50
    Boston Globe

    If Shutter is any indication, the reputation of professional photographers is still on the wane. Not only are photographs creepy, the film suggests, but so are photographers. show more

  • 25
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Asian horror remakes are typically not screened for critics, and Shutter is no exception. The studios know what they have: watered-down, lifeless shells of motion pictures devoid of characters, drama, or anything remotely resembling horror. show more

  • 20
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    The very Thai-specific charms that made the original Shutter such an unforeseen, unpredictable delight when I first saw it – and when I screened it again, last night – are almost entirely absent here, eclipsed by the annoying blonde highlights of Taylor, ex-Transformer babe and forever, as the Thai say, farang. show more

  • 42
    Entertainment Weekly

    Seems like a technological regression. show more

  • 40
    The New York Times

    The director, Masayuki Ochiai, conjures textbook J-horror miasma: clammy clinical interiors; overcast skies; diffuse cityscapes. He also gives Alfred Hitchcock a nod, with a sequence nakedly stolen from “Psycho,” and draws unease from Jane’s disorientation in a foreign city. Tokyo, in fact, may be the movie’s most fascinating player. show more

  • 40
    Dennis Harvey Variety

    A blandly cast and crafted remake of the same-titled 2004 Thai pic that itself emulated J-horror norms, which seemed a lot fresher back then. show more

  • July 26, 2009 Rean Rossier
    Report This User

    Kinda simuler to the Grudge but still a great movie it was acually kinda different compared to The Grudge this movie took place in a place where I want to go which is Tokyo!!!!! anyways this movie was really cool & the horror was ecellent GREAT HORROR MOVIE!

  • August 29, 2008 Jumbo Mug
    Report This User

    i was so mad at how terrible this hunk of shit was that i asked for my money back. they told me to please leave. i took a piss on the carpet and got arrested.

  • August 17, 2008 NclMch9
    Report This User

    american remakes just don't compare to the original asian movies. this is nothing like the movie from thailand. the thai version was really scary and the story makes sense. it was perfect the way it was but this one really sucks. just because the asian version became a hit doesn't mean the american version will be great too. for anyone planning to rent or buy this movie, just get the original shutter movie from thailand and watch it with english subtitles.this remake is a real waste of time and money.

  • July 22, 2008 omiskiny1
    Report This User

    could be one of the worst movies of all time ..definately top 10 .. my question is how do these movies get funding? i would rather watch a tree grow!

  • June 06, 2008 Jazyelizondo
    Report This User

    yea this movie wasnt that bad it was kool only one part of the movie made me jump but it was still a good movie

  • May 22, 2008 f1596278p
    Report This User

    This movie had Clips from the ring in it, its like they tried to slip them in there like no one would notice. The scary parts werent even scary. They would just flash over to something and play a loud sound. Dont waste your money on this film. If you have epilepsy DO NOT atch this film, for like a minute the whole screen flashs a really bright white light which i thought was toatally un-needed in the film. I almost walked out of the theater this film was so low budget and horrible.

  • May 22, 2008 taylorjacques
    Report This User

    Ok this movie wasnt anything like I expected! It wasnt even scary. I went with my 2 guy friend and my best friend and it wasnt scary, but only 2 things mad me jump but thats all! I did expect a little more but it wasnt a bad movie. I just would tell anyone to see it or buy it.

  • May 22, 2008 darksculptor
    Report This User

    The original Thai horror flick of the same title is EXCELLENT. It is MUCH more intense, creative, and creepy!! If you are reading this, rent THAT. If you don’t like foreign films because you have to read, disregard this review as you are not worthy of consuming great Art anyway. Like all the Hollywood ripoffs of J-horror flicks and the recent "the Eye" (Chinese original is EXCELLENT) this remake totally misses the point and replaces perfect mood with pretty actors.American Horror has very little to offer nowadays except on the Indie film front ("Feast" and "Slither" ROCK!). Get curious about Asian Horror, there's a reason is. If you can't read that fast, go read some more books. Great Art rewards those who are intelligent, that's why this lame remake was made for us illiterate Americans.

  • May 22, 2008 amoonlight91
    Report This User

    Lot's of people are saying that Shutter is a bad movie, when really it's not so bad. When I first saw it I thought it was pretty stupid but I just thought that cuz the trailers were SO misleading!! The trailers I saw for Shutter are totally different from what really happens in the movie. Anyway, the plot is really good and it's easy to follow. I've never seen the original version, but this one is pretty good. It's not really a horror movie though. More of a thriller cuz it didn't even make me scared and I hardly ever watch scary movies. But yeah anyway, it had a good plot and I think the actors were really good and did a good job portraying their characters too. So if you really want to see Shutter, go and see it!

  • May 22, 2008 timburton123
    Report This User

    This was a really good movie!lots of twists and turns! i loved it a lotmuch better than the grudge

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X