Skip to main content

reviews

49
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 32 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    "Paranormal Activity" has been here before, of course, but Silent House springs tangy new tricks, and Olsen is a primo scream queen. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Silent House feels relentless, suffocatingly tense and almost unbearable. And that's a very good thing. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The tricky camera moves that fill up Silent House make for one-half of a nerveracking horror film – before the movie's obviousness just gets on your nerves. show more

  • 30
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    A creaky haunted house that, once the big twist is revealed, makes very little sense at all. show more

  • 55
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    This is good-for-you, arthouse-style horror. Which doesn't mean it's necessarily any good. show more

  • 85
    NPR

    Silent House is smart about its scares as well as its delivery method. show more

  • 63
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    It will make you jump, to be sure, and your heart to beat a little bit faster. But what's truly scariest about it takes place not in the body, but in the mind. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The bad news is that Silent House is 88 minutes long, and the final half hour represents a descent into an anticlimax that ends with a scene as dumb as it is disappointing. show more

  • 63
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Silent House is a bundle of horror-flick tropes yoked together like a package deal. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    My attention was held for the first act or so. Then any attempt at realism was abandoned, and it became clear that the house, and the movie containing it, were devices to manufacture methodical thrills. The explanation, if that's what it was, seemed contrived and unconvincing. show more

  • September 06, 2012 dm00000000092100
    Report This User

    Absolutely the most wasted 86 minutes of my life... This movie was Horrible!!! Absolutely ridiculous.

  • August 07, 2012 ba00000000073123
    Report This User

    Movie looks great.... horrifying and more, definately a must see.

  • July 29, 2012 ttrubby
    Report This User

    OMG!!! Were the writers drinking when they wrote this. All I can say is that this movie was awful. Go get your gums scraped, your\'ll have a better time....

  • July 23, 2012 sg00000000127790
    Report This User

    Silent House is an American remake of a spanish film released in 2011. If you\'re looking to watch something that will give you chills but is not filled with gore, then this might be a good option. It\'s a revenge thriller, that unravels at a moderate pace, so you will have to endure quite a bit of silence. The acting is actually quite good; at least there is one Olsen sister with promise. It does have a rather unexpected and distressing ending so themes of this film will be unsetting for most.

  • March 24, 2012 Anestis&Melanie
    Report This User

    I decided on our date night to go see Silent House. I saw the advertisement and it looked like it would be good. The first 15 to 20 minutes was boring. Later when things started to happen because of the camera angle you could not see exactly what she was scared of at first. Later when it became clear she spent a lot of time hiding, sniveling and keeping her eyes closed at the same time. Now, she is about 22, she is not a baby. I was 22, and I can tell you I would have had my eyes and ears open to see what it was I was up against. There were times I just want to slap her for being so pitiful. The movie ended abruptly. I was thinking, that is it? I heard someone say, that was shi##y. They were right. As far as I am concerned I wasted 88 minutes of my movie-watching time I will never ever get back. I do not recommend this movie. I do not recommend paying for this movie. Even when you can get it for free, do not set up your entire evening to watch this movie. Watch it while you are doing a household chore or something that does not require you to put your full attention on the movie, I promise you won\'t miss much and this way you won\'t feel robbed of your time. Silent House is no Silent Hill.

  • March 19, 2012 mbrandimarte23
    Report This User

    Silent house should have stayed SILENT AND NEVER CAME TO THEATERS!!!! this move was crap!! if i could chose zero stars i would!

  • March 18, 2012 Chad
    Report This User

    It was ok in the begining, but confusing in the end. Just a renter, if anything...

  • March 16, 2012 MigraineManDi
    Report This User

    no. just no.

  • March 16, 2012 ts00000000106524
    Report This User

    I am not a picky person but this was not a good movie. It was disappointing. As stated,it was not a good ending.

  • March 16, 2012 gl00000000117287
    Report This User

    The movie !@#$!#$ ass !!!! Someone paid top dollar to have this movie make the box office. All you hear is the sound of a dog (ugly girl) heavily breathing throughout the entire movie. Totally not worth it. Wait to it hits redbox..maybe worth a dollar if that!!!!! ***** ending too. And the person filming was a total perv only focused on her lil boobs!!! Stupid $!@#!$ movie!!!!

`

similar movies

  • The House of the Devil (2009)

  • The Strangers (2008)

  • We Are What We Are (2013)

  • The Cabin in the Woods (2011)

  • Stoker (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X