Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The movie gets bogged down in the formula conventions of romantic comedy, and in the process, it loses all honesty. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though it features witty dialogue and good performances, the plot contrivances keep it from being an altogether winning enterprise. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A good deal of the freshness comes from a grand, clownish slob played by Thomas Haden Church -- he's actually the smartest person of the piece -- while Dennis Quaid occupies the center with a mastery that's all the more notable for its humanity. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    In what world does Smart People exist? Clearly not the real one, though this dramedy wants to think it's filled with ironic insights about love and family. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Poirier is a master at dialogue. His script crackles with sharp lines and he gives all his scenes a splendid comic undertow. show more

  • 88
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    A sharp, superbly acted character-driven comedic drama. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Page and Church work so brilliantly together as a comic team that it's worth enduring the leads' utter lack of chemistry together - not to mention the fact they're both wildly miscast. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The main problem with Smart People is that it never breaks new ground. This is territory we have seen tilled to better effect by more perceptive motion pictures. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Church is most at home in his character’s skin; aside from the game but strident Quaid, all the leading players are ideally cast. It’s the script that isn’t ideally cast. show more

  • 50
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Smart People tastes as fake as a Wal-Mart corn dog. Besides, it doesn't even know the work is Faerie Queen, not ''Fairie.'' Somewhere, Edmund Spenser is turning in his grave. You don't even have to be smart to know that. show more

  • April 18, 2010 Pinkpuppy95
    Report This User

    "smart people" is a movie for smart poeple. most of the humor alot of stupid people wouldnt get at all. I did find the movie somewhat enjoyable, but it was just too slow at some parts. the acting was good and ot was definately a "quirky" type movie, but i have seen indie movies like this that were, in my opnion, much better. This movie is ok for kids 14+ the f-word is used several times and there is an impied sex scene as well as brief nudity. it is implied that the teenage girl, played by ellen page, smokes pot and her uncle smokes pot as well. she also drinks and becomes very drunk. overall rating 6.5/10

  • September 06, 2008 asdgh ssaamm
    Report This User

    This movie was so horrible. Dennis Quaid is so monotone it made me want to cut out my uterus. Don't watch it.

  • May 22, 2008 bob
    Report This User

    This Movie reminds us all that our lives aren't the only screwed lives around--its the norm rather than the exception---great acting in this slow moving drama typical of life itself-----truly enjoyed it

  • May 22, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    Smart People has the feel of an indie film. Its opening scenes focus on Lawrence Wetherhold (Dennis Quaid), an English professor at Carnegie Mellon University, who is as absent minded in day-to-day affairs as he brilliant in his field. Read my full review atjohnhuntspace.com/smartpeople.html

  • May 22, 2008 jojackie3
    Report This User

    This was not as good as most indie movies and not as bad as most mainstream movies. The sad depressing tone throughout was a little annoying....I mean, come on, even generally sad people crack a smile once in a while.....at least I think they do. I'm generally happy so I guess I can't speak for the generally sad. The dialogue was good, and I loved Thomas Hayden Church the best-he was the one semi-bright glimmer in an otherwise depressing film. I found Dennis Quaid's purposely protruding belly and Sarah Jessica Parker's awful hair distracting. It's weird, I enjoyed the film for what it was, though don't go in thinking it's a comedy...it's a slow semi-sad drama with some funny lines. Well acted by all.

  • May 22, 2008 woussko
    Report This User

    I really think that the correct name should have been STUPID PEOPLE as that's how they all behaved. It did keep my attention and it sure is something different from the mainstream movies. I will say that this is sure not for children. Would I recommend it? No, unless you just got to see something and are sick of the usual trash. Then it might be worth it. I'll give it 2 out of 4 stars as there was an effort to try something different.

  • May 22, 2008 Alexander Savoy
    Report This User

    for all the people who are only for action/horror/and sex-comedy movies, then this isnt for you. its for people who enjoy a realistic movie. I wouldnt call this a romantic comedy though, not in MY veiw and its not a chick flick because i thought it was really good. but sadly i had to leave because my ride was early. so......anyways i thought it was really good. Ellen Page was Awsome as usual!

  • May 22, 2008 HELLO SAM/CAROL
    Report This User

    THIS FILM IS NOT FOR ACTION FILM FANS...IT'S FOR PEOPLE WITH AN INTELLECTUAL BENT AND VOCABULARY. THE SCRIPT IS WELL DONE. THE CHARACTERS WELL FORMED AND VERY WELL ACTED. BY THE TIME IT WAS OVER I BREATHED..."WELL DONE!!!"

  • May 22, 2008 Janken4
    Report This User

    I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Most R-rated movies are so full of profanity (and most PG-13s too) but aside from hearing the F-bomb a few times, it was pretty decent. I loved each of the characters in this movie. I didn't think that it was boring at all. In fact, everybody laughed out loud several times. The story was very simple, like most indie films are, but it was also very compelling. I enjoyed every minute of it. If you see it, make sure that you stay through the beginning of the credits because it shows how the story ends.

  • May 22, 2008 sfnewman1
    Report This User

    This movie is just bad. Good cast, meaningless movie. The characters lacked sincerity and were just sad. I saw people leaving the theater but I stayed hoping it would get better. It never did. Don't waste your time.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X