Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 125 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Snow White and the Huntsman is definitely a missed opportunity. Sanders was on to something in taking the Snow White tale to its most menacing extreme. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Suffers from a problem in its rhythm. It's not that its pace is too slow, but that it's too regular, and this lack of syncopation makes it feel slow. show more

  • 63
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    One of those movies that makes for a fantastic trailer. Much beyond that can feel like repeat viewing. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    An evil spell nearly does Snow White in, but it's lifted in the nick of time. The strangest spell afflicts Kristen Stewart; she can't seem to imbue Snow White with anything more than a semblance of feeling. That spell never lifts, but it doesn't make much difference in the end because the forces of good manage to work around it. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A surprisingly fine, fantastic movie it is. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    It's Theron who owns this film, imbuing her deliciously depraved Queen with furious pain and deep-seated fear. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    A bold rethinking of a familiar old story and striking design elements are undercut by a draggy midsection and undeveloped characters in Snow White and the Huntsman. show more

  • 45
    NPR

    What dooms Snow White and the Huntsman is ultimately not how over the top it is, but how dull it is. show more

  • 60
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Why can't heroines just be heroines anymore, instead of micromanaged personalities who may as well have the words "Role Model" tattooed across their foreheads? show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Snow White and the Huntsman reinvents the legendary story in a film of astonishing beauty and imagination. show more

  • November 08, 2012 Justin
    Report This User

    Kristen Stwearts horrid acting ruined what could have been a half-way decent movie.

  • October 21, 2012 liberanos5
    Report This User

    Predictable? It\'s the storuy of snow white. Wicked queen, poison apple, spell reversed by a kiss, 7 dwarves??? Did you just fall out of the sky!!!

  • October 03, 2012 ah00000000130343
    Report This User

    Dead boring. The plot was predictable, which would be OK if the story had been interesting. I think the Twilight chick was picked in hopes that she would attract that audience. The Twilight audience is probably the group giving this load of rubbish 4 and 5 stars. She is a mediocre actress at best and unappealing to look at. With the exception of her white skin, which fit with the story line, she certainly cannot claim to be the fairest. Much like another unappealing actress, Reese Witherspoon, both have peculiar noses and mouths and that pasty white skin. Somehow Hollywood has jumped on the Twilight chick’s band wagon and I think we can expect to see many more mediocre moves with her as the main character. Maybe Hollywood can make an equally stupid movie, Legally Brunette, the Twilight chick would play the lead role of a ditsy brunette who leads the audience on some silly antics and then proves she is not that stupid after all

  • September 26, 2012 mccat852
    Report This User

    The metaphors are great. I love all the characters, and the dark forrest was also great. Lovely rendition of tale told many different ways. However, for those who happen to have narcissistic mother or know narcissistic people, you can really relate to this story in many ways. In todays narcissistic culture the wicked queen is really a metaphor for all of those people. The spectrum of narcissism can vary but the results are the same: darkness, destruction, evil, hatret, separation, and above all death. The goodness of Snow White was shown in various ways, but difficult to see all the same. ILike real life the victims of these narcissistic vampires are difficult to see because many of them are destroyed by the evil of narcississm. However the prayer she says in the beginning tells it all. Her goodness was protected and strengthened by the power of God. Through that power she was able to survive and thrive at the end of the movie. In our dark world we can shine light also if we are able to overcome the evil selfishness that lies at the core of narcissism.

  • September 24, 2012 val
    Report This User

    Very dark, well worth watching. However, they missed the mark with Kristen Stweart as Snow White. Her actting was ok but she is not the Fairest in the Land and Ms Theron shined brighter then Kristen even in death. Cate Blancett, Emma Watcon, Christina Ricci, Liy Tyler all would have been much much prettier then Kristen Stewart. Even made up as the Queen she wasn\'t very pretty and during the fight seens I thought to myself she could have been the Huntsman.

  • September 23, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Pleasantly surprised. Where most movies of this ilk tend to go over the top, this movie stopped just short. Well done!

  • September 20, 2012 ao00000000129810
    Report This User

    Although I enjoyed the great computer graphics and most of the cast, I was quite disappointed with Kristen Stewart\'s performance. She was not at all believable as Snow White rallying any troops. She was very uninspiring and she came across as someone who is was very uncomfortable in front of a crowd and trying hard to sound convincing. It could have been a great movie, but I agree with cassandraday - Hollywood missed the mark on this one.

  • September 16, 2012 ih00000000129909
    Report This User

    What a great variation of the traditional Snow White tale filled with magic and fantasy. Kristen Stewart finally left the shadow of her twilight days. This is a **********!

  • July 20, 2012 foxbdjjjj1
    Report This User

    It was OK, not what I expected. A little too sweet. I think the oringal was even better than this movie.

  • July 20, 2012 cassandraday
    Report This User

    Not bad, but the potential was there to make a really great movie - - - Hollywood just seems to miss the mark so often.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X