Skip to main content

reviews

67
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    As in "Lost in Translation," Coppola keeps an eye out for the broken places. That's when Somewhere is really something. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Whatever the intention, Somewhere, in its odd, detached way, is compelling viewing. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Some could find the story verging on self-indulgence, and indeed there are patches that teeter perilously close. But we care about the two main characters, and we root for them to reconnect as father and daughter. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    It's easy to speculate that the loving Cleo and the frequently absent Johnny are stand-ins for Ms. Coppola and her own famous father, but Somewhere needn't be seen as a film à clef. The movie stands on its own terms as a slow-burning drama of life in a Hollywood purgatory where you can not only check out but leave. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Ultimately, Somewhere may be too static, too minimalist a tale. But there's grace here. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Dorff and Fanning are perfect in their roles, and Coppola captures the draining narcissism of celebrity culture with the understanding of someone who"s witnessed it all her life. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    After her foray into historical costumers with "Marie Antoinette," Sofia Coppola makes a happy return to "Lost in Translation" territory in the cutback charmer Somewhere, which illuminates the emptiness of a movie star's life in Los Angeles through close observation and gentle irony. show more

  • 79
    Ella Taylor NPR

    By the end of Somewhere, all I could summon up was a fervent wish-you-well - not for him, but for his beguiling elf of a child. show more

  • 100
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Coppola is a filmmaker who fills up a big canvas with small moments: That's the opposite of working in miniature, even though she's attuned to the tiniest details. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Coppola is a fascinating director. She sees, and we see exactly what she sees. There is little attempt here to observe a plot. All the attention is on the handful of characters, on Johnny. show more

  • January 30, 2012 Judi and Warner
    Report This User

    sofia is a genius.the characters in her movie Lost and Somewhere remind me of the classic La Dolce Vita.Anybody who is not impressed, the way I am, has a lot to learn . Werner

  • September 06, 2011 Carole
    Report This User

    Worse movie Ive ever seen

  • June 20, 2011 fairymrs
    Report This User

    I found this movie going no where and frustrating. Maybe that\'s how it\'s supposed to be and how Johnny felt.

  • June 03, 2011 eprmhs
    Report This User

    DUMB and BORING

  • May 04, 2011 nk00000000090313
    Report This User

    Whoever could manage to get past ten minutes of this film, should be paid directly by Sophia Copolla herself. What a piece of trash, boring as hell, crap extras or cameos, who cares. Ridiculous to see someone that is birthed into Hollywood be able to throw money at such a piece of dog turd movie, and get it released theatrically plus globally. Wow, whoever rated this film more than one star and boosted the viewer rating to 94%, should be beaten in the face with an original Van Gogh. Don\'t waste your time, you may pick up slitting your wrists.

  • April 22, 2011 tsdy
    Report This User

    awesome movie

  • February 14, 2011 discreet286
    Report This User

    IF she had a different last name......if that name didn't bring with it lots of money, family money and wannabe money....if somebody in the business had read the "script"....in quotes because of the paucity of dialogue.....if all these "ifs" had been true, this film NEVER would have been made. This film makes watching wood being made look interesting. It would be time better-spent if you just opened the trunk of your car and watched your spare tire for 97 minutes. To say it was boring and meaningless insults those two words. But the worst part is the raving emanating from otherwise respected critics, all of whom must be salivating, just waiting to be invited to her family winery, or yacht, or free airplane ride to somewhere, in return for the "nice words". This is a nothing flim with noting actors including whazzername's teenage kid in a film tht beings nowhere and takes you right back there after an hour and a half of expensive popcorn and bottled water. The next time you are tempted to see a film made by the offspring of a famous director, go home and rent "Man of Aran" ...or even "Clueless" and you will have a better time.

  • February 07, 2011 MIKES MUTT
    Report This User

    Even though this movie only clocks in at 97 minutes, there could easily have been another 10-15 minutes edited from this movie. A couple of scenes were totally pointless. I'm guessing that Miss Coppolla lets the rest of us know that living the Hollywood life is very unfulfilling

  • January 29, 2011 Girlfriend!
    Report This User

    Terribly boring... I used to live in Hollywood... I saw this movie in Europe over the holidays... I thought, "I hope people don't think we Americans (in Hollywood) think our lives are so interesting that we can bore them to death and expect them to think it's interesting." You will not miss anything if you skip this!

  • January 18, 2011 S1earcher
    Report This User

    awful,,, self indulgent,, slow,, rather watch someone paint a rooom,, or go to dentist,,,

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X