Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 73 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    There is one high note. You can approach Speed Racer as the trippiest stonerfest since Stanley Kubrick took his space odyssey. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    If this action extravaganza represents the future of movies, it's going to be a sad, dead and awful future. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Yes, it's a candy-colored Day-Glo world, but there's a liveliness missing from this lead-footed Speed Racer. show more

  • NA
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This toxic admixture of computer-generated frenzy and live-action torpor succeeds in being, almost simultaneously, genuinely painful -- the esthetic equivalent of needles in eyeballs -- and weirdly benumbing, like eye candy laced with lidocaine. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Speed Racer offers a crazy, turbo-charged mix of cartoon kitsch, gamer action, and a wild new way to think of - and look at - movies. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The cast is generally game for playing cardboard cutouts, with Goodman having the most fun. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Unlike a Pixar cartoon that embraces as wide an audience as possible, Speed Racer proudly denies entry into its ultra-bright world to all but gamers, fanboys and anime enthusiasts. Story and character are tossed aside to focus obsessively on PG-rated action and milk-guzzling heroes. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    At its best, it's buoyant pop entertainment focused on three things: speed, racing and retina-splitting oceans of digitally captured color. show more

  • 75
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    This is not a film occurring in an alternate or imaginary reality; rather, it is a film of NO reality, that is, a picture that changes the rules of its universe strictly according to its creators' whims. show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    It's hard to say whether the Wachowski brothers' live action take on the Japanese Speed Racer cartoons is more irritating because it looks like a Hot Wheels video game or because the brothers seem to think that there's a powerful family drama humming away beneath the flashing lights and spinning wheels. show more

  • August 30, 2012 magiread
    Report This User

    Long and boring! Terrible acting, plot and dialouge! I regret watching this movie! I can't believe talented actors like Emile Hirsch, John Goodman and Susan Sarandon would team up to make this garbage!

  • December 13, 2009 CreateDino
    Report This User

    yeah I enjoyed it, I don't know what everyone's cry out is about, maybe i'd be angrier if I had seen what this was based off?

  • July 20, 2008 nouc007
    Report This User

    Best movie of the beginning of Summer. Great way to kick off the summer movie season. Exciting, Visually Spectacular, Fun, Feel-goodness, and inspiring. FANTASTIC Flick!

  • June 07, 2008 COOL DUDE 520
    Report This User

    worst movie ever

  • June 07, 2008 Racer Wall e
    Report This User

    best movie i have ever seen

  • June 05, 2008 SiiCko0oStAtUs
    Report This User

    i loved the movie!

  • June 02, 2008 jffrcunn
    Report This User

    I took our 10.9 year old Granddaughter to this cool flick and we both enjoyed it. She learned a good movie lesson on "good and evil". We love the cars. The racing scenes are so intense they can be hard to follow. I agree that the adult language was not necessary. Considering the plot the violence was inevitable, almost leaning towards a PG-13 rating. Good performances, overall including Chim Chim. The principal female characters are HOT! It will be in our library. I smell a sequel.....

  • June 02, 2008 Go Cardinals!!!
    Report This User

    Being a PG film and not a PG-13 film I thought it'd be ok to take my brothers kids to see it. They are 12 and 9 years old. In the movie they say the S word 4 times, the A word 9 times, one kid flips off an adult (essentially the F Word), they say a few others like God **** and they bleep out one time when he say's F out loud, but you can read his mouth.I can not believe this film got a PG rating....I left mad. I would not have exposed them to this kind of language...I'm no religious freak, but that much cuss words for a film that is rated for kids under 12 is not right. This should be a pg-13 film.

  • June 02, 2008 syriansluga03
    Report This User

    First of all, I have not been surprised in a POSITIVE manner by a movie to this extent since the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and before that I can't even remember the last time. It was SO TRUE to the cartoon I felt like crying SEVERAL times in the movie remembering my childhood. Saw it at the IMAX in Los Angeles...and let me say this...I almost couldn't even HANDLE IT it was so incredible. I have noticed a trend, the old boring lame critics, and the perpetually incorrect Rotten Tomatoes.com all rated this movie poorly, yet I have not found a single person that I know who did not at the LEAST like the movie, and most loved. Classic example of a wildly over-achieving film and cast. It had everything, love, family, courage, strength, perseverance, and a PERFECT amount of comic relief from Chim Chim and the younger brother. When Chim Chim pulls out the wrench and smacks the guy accross the face, I was literally ROLLING on the floor with two of my friends, after I got over the initial shock at such an ingenious sequence...not since the ORIGINAL Pink Panthers have I seen better and funnier fight scenes. I encourage ALL to see this

  • June 02, 2008 casandradawe
    Report This User

    A great film for the family with older kids, 11up, loaded with winks and nods to the fans of the classic TV cartoon. Hearing the jump sound fx made me feel as if I was a little girl again. Special effects were spectacular and I laughed again and again at the campy moments throughout yet it didn't cross into being a parody. However, it was way too long. The beginning was poor, it lost its way at times and after a while you just didn't care what happened with the villains. But - I still found it rather entertaining ... for me, a low B

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X