Skip to main content

reviews

73
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 90
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Maguire and Dunst keep Spider-Man on a high with their sweet-sexy yearning, spinning a web of dazzle and delicacy that might just restore the good name of movie escapism. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The superhero part of the movie will leave audiences with a flat feeling, thanks to computery-looking special effects and a sagging story line. show more

  • 88
    Mike Clark USA Today

    This is a rare twisted crowd-pleaser for longtime fans as well as novices -- or for those that don't know an arachnid from an insect. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Every action adventure needs a memorable villain, but no movie needs the strident intensity of Mr. Dafoe, who either has no interest in, or no grasp of, the sort of charmingly malign wit that Gene Hackman brought to "Superman," or Jack Nicholson to "Batman." show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's got one of the best kisses in movie history: Spidey, hanging upside down, delivers an open-mouth smooch to Mary Jane, a lip-lock for the ages. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Spider-Man is an almost-perfect extension of the experience of reading comic-book adventures. show more

  • 75
    Mark Caro Chicago Tribune

    The Spider-Man saga is a classic for a reason, and the filmmakers don't squander the material's strengths. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    What distinguishes Spider-Man from most other comic book movies is that the film is at its most engaging when its hero is out of costume. show more

  • 75
    Jonathan Foreman New York Post

    Surprisingly charming and even witty match for the best of Hollywood's comic-book adaptations. show more

  • 75
    Boston Globe

    Raimi crafted a complicated hero who is a welcome relief from the usual two-dimensional offerings. That said, we could use some moxie in the sequel. show more

  • June 14, 2012 Dry Master
    Report This User

    Wonderfully crafted for a live-action film of spider-man! Sam Raimi has gave something that we would want to come back! Brilliant acting and perfect story. I sure hope someday they re-release this film in 3-D!

  • August 11, 2011 movieman928
    Report This User

    Pretty good suer hero movie! Its not cheasy!!! Well for a super hero movie...

  • December 29, 2010 Weston
    Report This User

    Amazing Movie!!!!

  • December 29, 2010 kairp1
    Report This User

    Fantastic!!!! The effects in this movie are so great. Scott Stokdyk is the best in the buisness!!!!!!!!!!!!! DEefinitely a see it.

  • July 31, 2010 hrodi007
    Report This User

    Spider-man is my most favorite superhero. The movie was great. The movie was my very first PG-13 movie.

  • September 28, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    I like it and still like it is not a awesome movie. But it was a good one. The actor who stole the show was Defo as the Green Goblin. He know what the character was and he played him the same way the character feels. I give it 4 out of 5.

  • August 08, 2008 Proud2Bsuper
    Report This User

    "Spiderman! Spiderman! Friendly neigborhood Spiderman!" I read his comics, played his video game, collects his merchandise, action figs, and saw rest of these movies (II and III). Spider-man's one of my list of favorite supers. It's a well-done comic book adaption movie. He shoot webs, crawls on walls, beat the crud out of the bad guys, and saves lives! I love that movie especially Tobey Maguire. With great power comes great responsibility.

  • July 20, 2008 hectorferjr2
    Report This User

    You May Find This Hard To Believe In My Review Of Spider-Man But I was 7 Years Old When My Mom and I Frist Bought Spider-Man On VHS and On DVD At Wal-Mart When I came To Live Here In Brockton MA. With My Mom and My StepDad. Spider-Man Was My Frist PG-13 Movie. Spider-Man was The Frist Movie My Mom and I Saw With Tobey Maguire and Willem Dafoe and Kirsten Dunst and James Franco and Cliff Robertson and Rosemary Harris and The Rest Of The Geuius cast and The Frist Movie We Saw That Was Directed By Sam Raimi. Before My Mom and I watched Spider-Man We Both Had No Idea What To Expect Was Spider-Man Going To Be A Good Movie Or A Bad Movie Or A Scary Movie. So My Mom and I Went Home and Got and Popped Some Popcorn and Got Our Two Drinks Of Coca-Cola and Put The VHS Into The VHS Player and Sat Down On Our Couch and We Watched Spider-Man and as It Turns Out Spider-Man Was A Good Movie and My Mom and I Both Really Liked Spider-Man. What We Liked About Spider-Man Is That He Is A Humanstic SuperHero and The Acting and The Action Scenes and The Special Effects Are 100% Geuius and Impressvive and Realalistic and We Liked The Message In Spider-Man Which Is "That As We Get Older We Have To Acpect Reponsilbillty For Our Actions and That Means "With Great Power Comes Great Reponsibility" What A Geuius Message. EveryThing In Spider-Man Is 100% Geuius. Some Of My Friends Who Also Really Liked Spider-Man like I Did Tell Me That They Were Younger than Me When They Frist Watched Spider-Man. Spider-Man Is A 100% Geuius Movie I Think That Spider-Man Is An A+ Oscar-Worthy 10 Stars Excellent Blockbuster SuperHero Movie and I Give Spider-Man Two Thumbs Up and The Score Of 91 Out Of 100 and I Hope You Enjoy Spider-Man So Enjoy The Movie Enjoy Spider-Man.

  • July 05, 2008 cubbyduke
    Report This User

    This was good. Not great, just good. I am not a fan of spiderman. I am more of a fan of Batman. But this movie was still good.

  • June 15, 2008 grease da word
    Report This User

    This is 1 of the most action packed Awesome movies! Spidey's my favorite Superhero!

similar movies

  • Spider-Man 2 (2004)

  • Iron Man (2008)

  • Spider-Man 3 (2007)

  • Batman Begins (2005)

  • Superman: The Movie (1978)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X