Skip to main content

reviews

66
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 45 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Played as a child by Abigail Chu and as an adult by Delphine Chanéac, Dren morphs into a special-effects miracle, sexy and scary in equal doses. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    For all its surface seriousness, Splice is a regulation monster movie. So however somber it gets, it's never truly thought-provoking, and however outrageous it gets, it's still always 20 minutes behind the audience. It's just too dumb to be serious and too slow to be entertaining. Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2010/06/03/MVKJ1DOO26.DTL#ixzz0pqYvhKuF show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's good to see Polley back on screen, after her successful turn behind the camera directing 2006's "Away From Her." She brings a measure of intelligence to the one-dimensional role. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The film takes itself frivolously when that's appropriate--some of it is charmingly silly--and seriously when, as is often the case, all sorts of good surprises are unleashed. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Unsettling, intelligent, and way-out-there. show more

  • NA
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Splice is an unholy mess because it fuses together the worst parts of every bad medical-monster thriller, and then boldly cranks up the ridiculous. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Writer/director Vincenzo Natali takes his tale in some truly icky directions, not quite making it into Cronenbergland but going far enough to elicit solid 'ewww' laughs from the crowd. show more

  • 85
    Jeannette Catsoulis NPR

    The film's greatest accomplishment is its ability to change tone at least three times without losing the audience. show more

  • 85
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Heady, creaturely, and looking for trouble, Splice is also a sovereign creation: Conceived and midwived by Vincenzo Natali (Cube), it suggests the pure-bred Canadian love child of James Cameron and Margaret Atwood (I see David Cronenberg presiding over the baptism). show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Disappointing then, that the movie introduces such an extraordinary living being and focuses mostly on those around her. All the same, it’s well done, and intriguing. show more

  • October 24, 2010 ele me nt ma101
    Report This User

    the movie had good ideas but it was executed ineffectively. characters are casted erroneously

  • October 11, 2010 sunshine49
    Report This User

    i only wanted to see adrien brody, other than that it was gross, and scary

  • September 05, 2010 Heidi
    Report This User

    Horrible! I can't believe it is one of the best movies of the year, according to AOL. It was silly, stupid, and boring! It was also gross at times. The characters made infuriatingly bad decisions. It looked like a VERY low-budget "scary" (which is wasn't) movie.

  • August 31, 2010 courtney
    Report This User

    movie was nothing like it was suppose to be not scary at all kinnda twisted just boring and dumb dont waste your time or money!

  • August 23, 2010 WilliamSicklick
    Report This User

    LAME MOVIE SPLICE IS NOT GOOD AT ALL THE DAM TRAILERS AND CLIPS AND NOT FOR KIDS AND IT IS 1O4 MIN RATE IT 1 LAME FOR ME AND IT BORING LAME LAME LAME LAME LAME LAME LAM E

  • July 03, 2010 bernie
    Report This User

    ENTERTAINING AT BEST

  • June 27, 2010 seana7777
    Report This User

    This movie was great! If your a religious fanatic, then you might walk out like a few other couples did. But if you like interesting, smart, controversial stories with great effects and arent too squeemish, then you'll dig ******* a movie, people, not real life. Push the "I believe" button and enjoy the ride. Definately will have you talking about it the rest of the night.

  • June 20, 2010 caebdreamin
    Report This User

    Cut me a break; its Sci-Fi, not an art film. It was better than Species and of course, they have set it up for a sequel. That being said, its was pretty predictable and if you go to a lot of Sci-Fi/Horror Flicks; it was entertaining enough.

  • June 20, 2010 Frankiep111
    Report This User

    This movie was one of the worst I have ever seen. Disturbing, disgusting, and pointless are 3 words that come to mind. I give it no stars.

  • June 18, 2010 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    SPLICE HAD GREAT POTENTIAL esp. with the special effects, and the story-line was holding us. Then in the last half-hour it went from 4-3 stars because of the script. The script got dowright ridiculous and silly--a man has sex with a lab rat. Now that's juvenile. We were hoping to get passed it and go on then a woman has sex with a lab rat. Yeh. That's how it felt to us in the movie theater. Our story was all messed up then. It soured the exxperience and then they created a really bizarre ending. We left disgusted. and insulted.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X