Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 30 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Looks fantastic, but the film suffers from the TV-to-feature transition. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Don't expect the seventh Star Wars film here. Star Wars: The Clone Wars is more like a long Saturday morning cartoon. show more

  • 30
    Wall Street Journal

    Clone Wars will appeal only to the most tolerant, galactically minded children and their parents. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The best that can be said about the movie is that it's harmless and mostly charmless. The Clone Wars is to Star Wars what karaoke is to pop music. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The latest indignity. show more

  • 50
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    The largely uninspired Clone Wars feels landlocked. In the absence of any extensive innovation, the video game-ready results play more like a feature-length promo for the imminent TV series of the same name than a stand-alone event. show more

  • 50
    New York Post

    Lucas' films are like Cher's face. No matter how many times you rework the same material, it's never going to be new and fresh again. And so it is with his latest, Star Wars: The Clone Wars. show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Essentially an extended trailer for the 2008 Cartoon Network animated series. show more

  • 50
    Boston Globe

    Once again, even reasonably committed fans will need a scorecard to keep track of who's fighting whom. What's the real target audience - i.e. kids - supposed to make of it all? show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The Clone Wars is the last nail in a coffin that has been propped up ever since George Lucas sold his creative soul in the quest for a few more pieces of gold. show more

  • March 18, 2012 Dry Master
    Report This User

    Honestly, the Clone Wars is one of the worst Star Wars movies. The main reason is the animation and charactor development which ruins the Star Wars Style. Most people, including me hope Lucas would make some live action Star Wars and create something that you don\'t have to think so much about it when you could 99 plus 1% know you like it. (my opinion)

  • March 03, 2009 ryanwking
    Report This User

    I love the path of the Jedi.Capton Rex rocks!!!!!! I can't beleve the first secon is almost over! I want to see the last two shows right now!! I want to see the next secon right now!! I love Anakon and Asoka!!!

  • December 02, 2008 Xsec713X
    Report This User

    This movie will always be behind the 8-ball. It's inevitable that it won't live up to the standards set forth in the last 3 Star Wars films produced, as it's an animated feature. I speculate if this movie had come out between episode 2 and 3, it might have been received better, but at this point everyone who's not a complete Star Wars geek is probably saying, "Oh George Lucas, you just had to milk the Star Wars franchise for one more", and to a certain degree I would say the same. This movie should have been aired on Cartoon Network from the get-go. It's not bad, but it's not Theater worthy. The only reason this OK slice of Jedi history was put into theaters was because of Mr. Lucas' greed. First you sell the tickets, then the DVD, and then the toys. And then you produce the tie-in tv series, sell that on DVD, and then make some toys off the show. In short... I liked this movie, but I hate George Lucas.

  • October 09, 2008 Joe006
    Report This User

    Yes it must see., I like it very much ., I did not know that it would tie in with the tv series on toon network. It was cool too see on the BIG SCREEN.

  • September 09, 2008 Xenigma123
    Report This User

    This movie was great, but I think the series is going to be way better.

  • September 08, 2008 Mmdwl5
    Report This User

    Very entertaining for the whole family. Great Light Saber fights. It is Star Wars.

  • August 30, 2008 blacklightningvg
    Report This User

    Star Wars: The Clone Wars. This movie was amazing! I don't care what other people say. This movie is directed to a wide range of people and especially the children. It had a lot of humor in it, and if you look at the graphics in this movie, it's very well created. The plot is very strong, not a lot of holes were in this plot. An it shows a great deal about Anakin along with his way towards the Dark side of the force and the struggle with the Republic. An has a moral in this movie as well.You cant try to compare this movie with the trilogy because this movie is a hidden film between the time of the Clone Wars, filling in the missing gaps. and if you read about the Clone Wars this movie was very well written, created & directed, and the actors who played some of the characters in this movie are not the same ones who were in the recent 3 movies released. But for a movie for kids, and filling in the missing pieces, and showing this amazing action even through animation, this movie is really worth the grammy along with your movie admissions. you wont regret seeing this movie unless your a person who analyzes every single thing, trying to wish and hope that it would be 200% accurate to your imagination. sorry but movies wont be like that unless YOUR the director. Everyone see's things differently, but you need to be open minded.overall, this movie is worth seeing over and over, you will love it, your kids will love it, and if your a hardcore Star Wars fan like myself you will see that Lucas did an amazing job and are enthusiastic about his next up coming ideas. so families, get together and go see this. An for the kids, here is some hope for you if you like star wars; George Lucas is making the Star Wars Series on Cartoon Network again, but this time better :) so come join the Jedi Council and help us fight to restore order :)

  • August 29, 2008 Yoda1296
    Report This User

    it was way good i want to see what happens to anakins padawan

  • August 28, 2008 Mazhar Brooklyn
    Report This User

    " Out of This World ", " Blockbuster ", " Superb ". I just can't wait for the sequal.

  • August 27, 2008 TanTbone
    Report This User

    very good movie i kinda want to see what happens to anakins padawan

`

similar movies

  • Titan A.E. (2000)

  • The Last Airbender (2010)

  • The Last Starfighter (1984)

  • The Iron Giant (1999)

  • Treasure Planet (2002)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X