Skip to main content

reviews

66
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Unlike "Pirates," Stardust is anything but a wretched mess. It's a charming and smartly plotted fantasy. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Stardust lights up the screen with a splendid tale of heroism and romance. show more

  • 70
    Wall Street Journal

    Immensely winning and visually arresting adaptation of Gaiman's 1998 fantasy. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Brings too much of EVERYTHING to the table: It's the cinema equivalent of a long, winding, run-on sentence. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    While it won't rival the Harry Potter movies as a cultural milestone, the luminous, irresistible Stardust is no less industrious at scavenging myths and legends and making something altogether new from the familiar pickings. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Diverting and pleasurable to watch, Stardust, a tongue-in-cheek sword-and-sorcerers romp bolstered by a top-flight cast, is most adroit when it plays the fantasy straight rather than sending up the genre. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Perhaps the most surprising thing about Stardust is that its most winning element is neither its delightful story nor its special effects but its sly sense of humor. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    There's less whimsy to be found here than in "The Princess Bride," but the film is likely to appeal to the same group of older children and adults that appreciated Rob Reiner's classic. show more

  • 75
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    Stardust is an eye-poppingly elaborate fantasy that's shot through with action-movie adrenaline and attitude. show more

  • 75
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    For audiences tired of summer sequels that grind through the familiar motions, Stardust provides a dizzying antidote. show more

  • February 01, 2012 chrismweitz
    Report This User

    great movie and inspired how the way who will be the king and brothers died. Is Awesome ******* could be longer at the end.

  • October 10, 2009 deadmilkman34
    Report This User

    completely awful. Neil Gaimans book redone for 5 year olds. The plot is completely butchered and given to you in a way that makes after school specials seem more creative. Read his book, watch this movie only if you can borrow it from a friend.

  • May 22, 2008 Tracy
    Report This User

    I originally saw this film based on some good reviews.Though the first half hour was "very british"and slow moving I stuck it out and I am very glad I did. It was a mix of fantasy and The Princess Bride with a lot of good special effects. I could not help but be charmed by this film.

  • May 22, 2008 iluvcats26
    Report This User

    to sprinkle about. A great adventure with a loving heart. What fun. The ghosts riding in the carriage were wonderful, too bad the father was not there, the zombie scene priceless.Iluvcats

  • May 22, 2008 jkscholey
    Report This User

    good awesome movie

  • May 22, 2008 mmdaoudi
    Report This User

    The best film I have never seen

  • May 22, 2008 whoppernc
    Report This User

    I saw all the typical summer blockbusters and Stardust, though not nearly as hyped, is the best by far.

  • May 22, 2008 kanczes
    Report This User

    I loved this film! It was a funny, light-hearted, well-paced, romantic and, most importantly, well-told story. DeNiro made me laugh a lot. And I loved the use of magic; it was inventive and fun, unlike the magic in Harry Potter film this summer.I left the theatre feeling as if I went to another world, and I enjoyed the experience. Go see it!

  • May 22, 2008 gsafi12387
    Report This User

    I could not get the family interested in going to this movie so I did something I have not done in 20 years...I went alone and it was wonderful..no one to worry about not liking it...bought popcorn and had a wonderful, magical and enjoyment filled 2 hours...who missed out on this one was the family! Such an up to date and yet still, age-old fairy tale movie..if you can not get anyone interested in going, do yourself a favor, leave them behind and go enjoy yourself! You will not be sorry!

  • May 22, 2008 jpiona
    Report This User

    If you give it a chance to get started you will more than likely like this movie. A lot of humor in this one, along with a nice story and good acting. Robert Dinero shows once again that he is one of the best actors of our time, he has such a great range and shows it in this movie. If it is hot where you live like it is where I live, you will like it because the location looks and is so cold it will almost make you cold, or it could be that the A/C was turned down to about 40 degrees. A nice little feel good movie, but like I said, give it a chance to get started.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X