Skip to main content

reviews

50
Based on 20 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 47 )
  • 50
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    A sequel arrives for Valentine's Day with the unwieldy title Step Up 2 the Streets. If it performs as well, watch for "Step Up 3: the Sprained Ankle." show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Step Up 2 is one long, clichéd exercise in predictability with a couple of vibrant dance sequences and some unintentionally hilarious bad acting. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Unabashedly earnest, completely predictable and packed with enough high-voltage dance scenes to make any audience applaud. show more

  • 70
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    The wall-to-wall soundtrack naturally features plenty of today's leading hip-hop and R&B artists, including Flo Rida, T-Pain, Missy Elliott and Trey Songz. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Human-spirit cliches and all, the movie accomplishes job one: It moves. It also has a choice soundtrack, spiced by the likes of Missy Elliott’s “Shake Your Pom Pom” and Digital Underground’s immortal “Humpty Dance.” show more

  • 63
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    So when it comes to rawness, realness or any other signifier of urban authenticity, Step Up 2 The Streets doesn't measure up, especially when compared with a grittier dance flick still in theatres, the Toronto-made "How She Move." show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The stepping is terrific and the climactic sequence, a knowing nod to the infamous Bollywood "wet sari" number, is a knock out. But the united colors of we-can-overcome cuties, predictable class conflicts and sanitized keeping-it-real bluster bring the story's intensely formulaic nature into the. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The current, much better Canadian movie "How She Move" has a more realistic grip on the racial politics of hip-hop-dance. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Much of the average viewer's time in the theater will be spent waiting somewhat impatiently for the high-energy climax. Catnaps are an advisable way to survive some of the slow spots. show more

  • 38
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    The reason for all this dull-to-offensive story stuff is, of course, the dancing, which has its moments but overall seems so calculated to impress that it loses all other reason for being. show more

  • January 06, 2012 nz00000000109834
    Report This User

    ;lj poajg[ jdsrgb'fdndjfdk;hsdfg

  • October 15, 2011 shawftlauderdale
    Report This User

    AAAAMMMMMAAAZZZIIINNNGGG MMMMOOOOVVVVIIIIWWWW MMMMUUUUSSSSTTT WWWWAAAAATTTTCCCCHHH IIIIT

  • March 17, 2009 GrammasLizard
    Report This User

    i love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love this movie

  • August 18, 2008 BlondieFourEvr
    Report This User

    I think this movie was amazing! The acting, dancing, and music! The dancing was just so good. I watched the movie the first day it came out and rented the movie the first day also. I watch it all the time, ha i just watched it last night. But anyway, the movie was amazing. The music was terrffic! Seriously, i love all the songs! But dont get me wrong i love the first step up too:):):):)! I love all dancing movies. But i think step up 2's dancing was the best! Andie did amazing, and so did Rob Hoffman!

  • August 18, 2008 kandie50210
    Report This User

    i luv luv luv this movie so much itz betta than part 1 and comparing 2 cuz i dance hip hop myself.Andie or Adie (i dont remember which one) but she can dance.i lyked ha ending when they danced in tha rain that was hot.i hope that i can be in tha 3rd movie.

  • August 12, 2008 soccerply417
    Report This User

    1st one was better, thise one was bad,, the only good part was the music!!!

  • July 20, 2008 darksoulsupastar
    Report This User

    I love the dancing and I love the music, but I have to say, other than that, this movie has nothing going for it. It has a ridiculously stupid storyline; same old sad song as always. Poor girl, broken family, dead mother, bla bla bla. The acting wasn't horrible, but I swear if I heard "the streets" one more time I was going to shoot myself. I get it, ok? I know she's some girl dancing in the oh so rough "streets", but man, do they have to keep saying "the streets" a million times throughout the movie?! I get it!!!!!!

  • July 20, 2008 BabyUsulK
    Report This User

    I loved Step Up but Step Up 2 is so much better. I was never bored during a single minute of this movie. The dancing and acting was amazing. Love the actors. Great Story. Can't wait to see Step Up 3D.

  • May 22, 2008 Betseyoes
    Report This User

    Cute story, loved the scenery (since I'm a Baltimoran), and the dancing was awesome!!! Nice to see some new faces. Boy, can those kids move!!! Very entertaining with spectacular dancing!

  • May 22, 2008 jdlewis60
    Report This User

    Worth the money. It's not a "wait in line movie", but compared with all of the turkey's being made lately, this one is good.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X